Bitcoin Forum
July 25, 2017, 06:54:14 PM *
News: BIP91 seems stable: there's probably only slightly increased risk of confirmations disappearing. You should still prepare for Aug 1.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: still unconfirmed  (Read 2855 times)
dmurph
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
April 05, 2011, 03:33:30 AM
 #1

Hello,

So I created a separate wallet a couple days ago as my "secure" wallet and I sent some small sums of bitcoins to it to test it out (in 2-10 amounts).  In my regular wallet, I see 100 or so confirmations of my sent transactions, but I still have 0 confirmations in my secure wallet.  Is there any reason why I'm not seeing any confirmations?

Thanks,
Daniel
1501008854
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1501008854

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1501008854
Reply with quote  #2

1501008854
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1501008854
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1501008854

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1501008854
Reply with quote  #2

1501008854
Report to moderator
1501008854
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1501008854

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1501008854
Reply with quote  #2

1501008854
Report to moderator
1501008854
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1501008854

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1501008854
Reply with quote  #2

1501008854
Report to moderator
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2730


View Profile
April 05, 2011, 03:50:16 AM
 #2

Does it have all the blocks?

It must be using a different block database, or you must run Bitcoin with -rescan every time you switch wallets.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
dmurph
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
April 05, 2011, 04:52:49 AM
 #3

Yes, it has all the blocks, and I'm switching out wallets.  So running the window gui client like this:

bitcoin.exe -rescan

should work?
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2730


View Profile
April 05, 2011, 04:56:41 AM
 #4

Yes. It might take a while to start when you do that.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
NicholasBell
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile
April 05, 2011, 04:59:04 AM
 #5

Hello,

So I created a separate wallet a couple days ago as my "secure" wallet and I sent some small sums of bitcoins to it to test it out (in 2-10 amounts).  In my regular wallet, I see 100 or so confirmations of my sent transactions, but I still have 0 confirmations in my secure wallet.  Is there any reason why I'm not seeing any confirmations?


I did the exact same thing today and had the same 'problem'. I didn't know about that rescan option, so I don't know if it will work. I just deleted the block data and the client redownloaded it. When you import a wallet and already have blocks, the wallet you imported 'missed' the transactions, so it will not display them. If you redownload the block chain while the imported wallet is loaded, the wallet will see the transactions that belong to it as the client redownloads the blocks that affect this wallet. This had been my observation at least.

Let me know how rescan works if you use it.

Also, try putting the involved addresses into http://blockexplorer.com/. If the transactions show up, they are confirmed (I believe).

Tips for helpful/interesting posts? 1FqDDt4w7NzBMg7qoB3GQjdMaPHn6wGhZB
dmurph
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
April 05, 2011, 06:53:03 AM
 #6

The rescan worked, thanks!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!