Bitcoin Forum
May 02, 2024, 04:38:22 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Change the path to the ~/.electrum folder on linux  (Read 128 times)
mol76 (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100
Merit: 12


View Profile
January 07, 2023, 05:27:19 PM
Merited by ABCbits (1)
 #1

Hello everyone!

is there any way to change the path to the ~/.electrum folder on linux?

or move the wallet file out of /.electrum?

my idea is to move datadir to a more hidden location.
1714667902
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714667902

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714667902
Reply with quote  #2

1714667902
Report to moderator
1714667902
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714667902

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714667902
Reply with quote  #2

1714667902
Report to moderator
1714667902
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714667902

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714667902
Reply with quote  #2

1714667902
Report to moderator
The Bitcoin software, network, and concept is called "Bitcoin" with a capitalized "B". Bitcoin currency units are called "bitcoins" with a lowercase "b" -- this is often abbreviated BTC.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
vv181
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1273


View Profile
January 07, 2023, 09:01:16 PM
Merited by dbshck (2), ABCbits (1)
 #2

You can use -D to change the Electrum datadir and -w to use a custom wallet file path.

Code:
-D ELECTRUM_PATH, --dir ELECTRUM_PATH
-w WALLET_PATH, --wallet WALLET_PATH
mol76 (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100
Merit: 12


View Profile
January 08, 2023, 01:47:55 AM
 #3

You can use -D to change the Electrum datadir and -w to use a custom wallet file path.

Code:
-D ELECTRUM_PATH, --dir ELECTRUM_PATH
-w WALLET_PATH, --wallet WALLET_PATH


Thank you for your response! Smiley

to clarify: ELECTRUM_PATH should be something like this: /home/user/.New folder/whatever?
should it be in quotes?

or ELECTRUM_PATH is an environment variable that must be specified inside some configuration file?
Edwardard
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 681



View Profile WWW
January 08, 2023, 02:19:00 AM
Merited by mol76 (1)
 #4

to clarify: ELECTRUM_PATH should be something like this: /home/user/.New folder/whatever?
should it be in quotes?

or ELECTRUM_PATH is an environment variable that must be specified inside some configuration file?
I think first one is correct and you dont need it to be in quotes, try and let us know.

Currently Electrum defaults to: user/home/.electrum/wallets/default_wallet on linux OS
vv181
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1273


View Profile
January 08, 2023, 04:08:14 AM
Merited by ABCbits (1), Edwardard (1)
 #5

to clarify: ELECTRUM_PATH should be something like this: /home/user/.New folder/whatever?
should it be in quotes?
I think first one is correct and you dont need it to be in quotes

Either option is a valid choice. But if you don't use quotes, you need to escape any space within the file path with a backslash.

Code:
"/home/user/.New folder/whatever" 
#or
/home/user/.New\ folder/whatever
mol76 (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100
Merit: 12


View Profile
January 08, 2023, 12:23:23 PM
Last edit: January 08, 2023, 12:39:36 PM by mol76
 #6

Ok, thanks to both of you... I will try it.

Another question: Should I open electrum first and from the menu open some terminal to execute these commands? or do I have to open the regular Linux terminal?

And also do I need to copy the content of /.electrum to the new directory? or is it created automatically?
nc50lc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2408
Merit: 5581


Self-proclaimed Genius


View Profile
January 09, 2023, 05:42:13 AM
Merited by ABCbits (1)
 #7

Another question: Should I open electrum first and from the menu open some terminal to execute these commands? or do I have to open the regular Linux terminal?
Electrum should be opened with those command line options.
In the terminal, open electrum with the "-D ELECTRUM_PATH" global command line option (command depends on how you installed Electrum);
e.g.: $ ./run_electrum -D ELECTRUM_PATH

And also do I need to copy the content of /.electrum to the new directory? or is it created automatically?
A fresh data directory will be created; if you want to keep your old settings and wallet, copy it.

.
.HUGE.
▄██████████▄▄
▄█████████████████▄
▄█████████████████████▄
▄███████████████████████▄
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████▌██▌▐██▐██▐████▄███
████▐██▐████▌██▌██▌██▌██
█████▀███▀███▀▐██▐██▐█████

▀█████████████████████████▀

▀███████████████████████▀

▀█████████████████████▀

▀█████████████████▀

▀██████████▀▀
█▀▀▀▀











█▄▄▄▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
.
CASINSPORTSBOOK
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▀▀▀▀█











▄▄▄▄█
mol76 (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100
Merit: 12


View Profile
January 09, 2023, 01:12:25 PM
 #8

Thank you very much!

I'll try... and I'll comment later...
mol76 (OP)
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100
Merit: 12


View Profile
January 14, 2023, 05:57:24 PM
Merited by Edwardard (1)
 #9

Thank you very much: vv181,  Edwardard and   nc50lc. For your help/advice.

Everything worked perfectly.

Best regards...
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!