Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 02:41:27 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Diamonds 5970 from newegg, many problems (TIM pics)  (Read 6089 times)
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
December 14, 2011, 08:27:10 PM
 #1

Is anyone else having trouble with their Diamond 5970 (from newegg)
Did you have to falsh the bios and replace thermal paste and add pads to VRM to make basic use of them ?

I can't raise voltage using atitweak nor radeonVolt,

On one of them, one of the core can't overclock past ~760mhz on 1.05v

First core get VRM throttled constantly to 550mhz at default voltage / default clock. (with temp at 76c)

How is this acceptable ?

Edit : They also look far from new : http://www.eggxpert.com/forums/ShowThread.aspx?PostID=777284#777284


TIM application ; I have no idea what species could have messed up the TIM this much.

There are holes with no paste on the GPUs with corresponding hole on the heatsink,  This is BAD.

http://imgur.com/a/0THwO#1
BIG:
http://i.imgur.com/HH3z6.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/00sbP.jpg

Note : I have not touched anything, only removed the heatsink. - These card are sold as new.
1480905687
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480905687

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480905687
Reply with quote  #2

1480905687
Report to moderator
1480905687
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480905687

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480905687
Reply with quote  #2

1480905687
Report to moderator
No Gods or Kings. Only Bitcoin
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480905687
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480905687

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480905687
Reply with quote  #2

1480905687
Report to moderator
1480905687
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480905687

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480905687
Reply with quote  #2

1480905687
Report to moderator
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
December 14, 2011, 08:29:53 PM
 #2

Watching, since I have the same card (but haven't been able to set it up yet).

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
December 14, 2011, 09:39:41 PM
 #3

Try AMD GPU Clock tool. Don't know if it works with 5970 but it's worth a try.

btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
December 14, 2011, 09:42:31 PM
 #4

I think cgminer has built-in overclocking functionality as well.

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
December 14, 2011, 09:55:27 PM
 #5

Try AMD GPU Clock tool. Don't know if it works with 5970 but it's worth a try.
I need to overvolt this on Linux.
SlaveInDebt
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 702


Your Minion


View Profile
December 18, 2011, 08:35:34 AM
 #6

Used cards for sure. Have you monitored each vrm temp? I'd wager a vrm isn't working (indicated by lower temp) if you can't get past 1.05v

"A banker is a fellow who lends you his umbrella when the sun is shining, but wants it back the minute it begins to rain." - Mark Twain
ArtForz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
December 18, 2011, 01:51:09 PM
 #7

Yup, sure looks like a used card.
That TIM on the GPUs isn't original; all ref 5970s I pulled the fansink off of had phase-change pads, not goop.
Also, good idea with the dead phase. Check VRM temps under load, if one of the 3 phases is a lot (20C+) cooler than the others you got a dead phase; the card will generally still run but unstable and OC like crap.
If that's not the case... idiot who replaced the GPU TIM didn't replace the thermal pads for the VRMs. Most important ones are the one for the core VRMs. the long one under the fan and the smaller of the strips above the vapor chamber. inductor, ram and pcie bridge pads aren't really that important. Used a bunch of a 1mm sheet of 3M 5591 I had lying around. worked like a charm.
In linux a slightly modified radeonvolt works for reading VRM temps and overvolting 5970s.
As for the holes in the paste... bet the monkey who applied the paste touched the die and didn't degrease it before applying new paste. that generally ends up looking *exactly* like this.

bitcoin: 1Fb77Xq5ePFER8GtKRn2KDbDTVpJKfKmpz
i0coin: jNdvyvd6v6gV3kVJLD7HsB5ZwHyHwAkfdw
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
December 19, 2011, 04:01:36 AM
 #8

I have replaced the TIM on both GPU with MX-2 and added some to the pad I didn't replace.

I replaced only the pads on VRM with some ram pad I scavenged from a broken 4870.

The same GPU #1) that had lower clock is now defective at stock clock, ; the fan ramp up 100% after 2-3 share and a reboot is needed.

It look like the jelly pads from the other card are worst performing than what was already there.

I don't know what VRM is assosiated with what core, but the 3 VDDC in GPU-Z are arround 90c with one GPU(#2) running.
plastic.elastic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
December 19, 2011, 05:06:28 PM
 #9

I have replaced the TIM on both GPU with MX-2 and added some to the pad I didn't replace.

I replaced only the pads on VRM with some ram pad I scavenged from a broken 4870.

The same GPU #1) that had lower clock is now defective at stock clock, ; the fan ramp up 100% after 2-3 share and a reboot is needed.

It look like the jelly pads from the other card are worst performing than what was already there.

I don't know what VRM is assosiated with what core, but the 3 VDDC in GPU-Z are arround 90c with one GPU(#2) running.

Fell so bad for you...

Looking to make some bucks and newegg burned you.

Time to replace the cards

Tips gladly accepted: 1LPaxHPvpzN3FbaGBaZShov3EFafxJDG42
sadpandatech
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
December 19, 2011, 06:16:03 PM
 #10

Aye, that is rough. No reason the VRM should be at 90c with only 1 GPU going. Are all 3 VRM reporting about the same temp?

Have you contacted Newegg? There is 30day replacement there. And should be a warranty with Diamond if you can't accomplish anything with newegg.

If you're not excited by the idea of being an early adopter 'now', then you should come back in three or four years and either tell us "Told you it'd never work!" or join what should, by then, be a much more stable and easier-to-use system. - GA
It is being worked on by smart people. -DamienBlack
plastic.elastic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
December 20, 2011, 06:56:40 AM
 #11

Aye, that is rough. No reason the VRM should be at 90c with only 1 GPU going. Are all 3 VRM reporting about the same temp?

Have you contacted Newegg? There is 30day replacement there. And should be a warranty with Diamond if you can't accomplish anything with newegg.

I would return the damn cards, warranty from Diamond is poop

Tips gladly accepted: 1LPaxHPvpzN3FbaGBaZShov3EFafxJDG42
m3sSh3aD
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


View Profile
December 20, 2011, 10:46:28 AM
 #12

Wow, A company worse than XFX, never thought id see the day Smiley

Feel bad for you mate, Them duel cards are not cheap!
jjshabadoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
December 21, 2011, 11:55:58 PM
 #13

I have a few of these and mostly have found them to be okay so far. You DO need to replace the TIM and pads though. I have been working on this and will post when I find a great recipe. I also would appreciate any advice from people here. I found using 1mm thermal pads from phobya did not work if you use them on all ram, vrm, etc. The heatsink wouldn't make proper contact with the gpu chip. My next try will be 1mm pads on VRM and .5mm on everything else because I was not getting good contact with the GPU chip when I used 1mm pads all around.

For the record, mine looked new for each one I bought and I have 7. I currently have four running at 800/300 24/7 and they have been doing well with the stock heatsink, paste and pads(have not taken them apart yet).

I took apart the other four(1 is amd brand) in hopes of achieving better cooling and higher clocks. I'm shooting for a 24/7 stable 850/300 on air. I'll add that the rigs are in a cold basement that doesn't get above 15c or so even in the summer.

Once I start working on them again I will take some pics and post what I did, maybe we can create a work log thread for these cards.

Also, you better register them with diamond for the 5 year warranty ASAP just in case. Their customer service might suck, but you will get a new card or refund eventually.
plastic.elastic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
December 22, 2011, 03:58:07 PM
 #14

I have a few of these and mostly have found them to be okay so far. You DO need to replace the TIM and pads though. I have been working on this and will post when I find a great recipe. I also would appreciate any advice from people here. I found using 1mm thermal pads from phobya did not work if you use them on all ram, vrm, etc. The heatsink wouldn't make proper contact with the gpu chip. My next try will be 1mm pads on VRM and .5mm on everything else because I was not getting good contact with the GPU chip when I used 1mm pads all around.

For the record, mine looked new for each one I bought and I have 7. I currently have four running at 800/300 24/7 and they have been doing well with the stock heatsink, paste and pads(have not taken them apart yet).

I took apart the other four(1 is amd brand) in hopes of achieving better cooling and higher clocks. I'm shooting for a 24/7 stable 850/300 on air. I'll add that the rigs are in a cold basement that doesn't get above 15c or so even in the summer.

Once I start working on them again I will take some pics and post what I did, maybe we can create a work log thread for these cards.

Also, you better register them with diamond for the 5 year warranty ASAP just in case. Their customer service might suck, but you will get a new card or refund eventually.

How many time do i have to say this, Can you read?

1mm - ram
0.5mm VRM

Tips gladly accepted: 1LPaxHPvpzN3FbaGBaZShov3EFafxJDG42
cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
December 22, 2011, 04:53:28 PM
 #15

How many time do i have to say this, Can you read?

1mm - ram
0.5mm VRM


Read what? Your mind?

I don't see you mentioning this anywhere else in this thread.  Perhaps you've mentioned it several times in other threads, but you shouldn't expect others to read your post history.

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
plastic.elastic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
December 22, 2011, 07:58:27 PM
 #16

How many time do i have to say this, Can you read?

1mm - ram
0.5mm VRM


Read what? Your mind?

I don't see you mentioning this anywhere else in this thread.  Perhaps you've mentioned it several times in other threads, but you shouldn't expect others to read your post history.

I expect anyone competent enough to actually redo their cards to search for the subject they dont know about.

Seriously, when you remove the OEM HSF, dont you see the different pads with different thickness?

Monkeys talk monkeys do

Tips gladly accepted: 1LPaxHPvpzN3FbaGBaZShov3EFafxJDG42
jjshabadoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
December 22, 2011, 08:48:46 PM
 #17

I mixed up ram and VRM in my post. Glad elastic pointed out even if his delivery was impolite. I wouldn't want anyone to mix that up and fry their card.
plastic.elastic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
December 23, 2011, 06:21:33 AM
 #18

I mixed up ram and VRM in my post. Glad elastic pointed out even if his delivery was impolite. I wouldn't want anyone to mix that up and fry their card.

I'm known for being an ass. Nothing personal.

Tips gladly accepted: 1LPaxHPvpzN3FbaGBaZShov3EFafxJDG42
jjshabadoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
December 27, 2011, 06:46:25 PM
 #19

No worries, hell you got me straight with my cards and that's all I care about.

I've redone four of them now with shin-etsu X23-7783D on the GPU's, 1mm phobya thermal pads on the ram and .5mm fujipoly thermal pads on the vrm.

Cards have been clocked at 800/300 for over 24 hours with no shutdowns in an open rig. Bottom card max temps of 50c or so and top card at 55c. Once I get the extenders going and get them out of the open case I should be good to go.

Once I learned to heat up the shin-etsu in a glass of hot water I was able to spread it perfectly with a thin plastic card.

I'm not going to mess with my other 4 5970's just leave them stock and compare them to the ones I just redid see if all this was worth it.
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
December 27, 2011, 07:02:11 PM
 #20

The thermal pad I used are so elastic I don't think they'd have problem compressing between 1mm and 0.5mm
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!