Bitcoin Forum
May 01, 2024, 05:46:26 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Operate Bitcoin Core on a laptop with restricted storage capacity  (Read 391 times)
DifDrama (OP)
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33
Merit: 32


View Profile
September 22, 2023, 02:09:33 AM
Merited by o_e_l_e_o (4)
 #1

Are there some recommended approaches for running Bitcoin Core on a laptop with constrained storage capacity? Is it possible to use an external hard drive as the data directory (datadir)? How does this setup work, and would I need to pay attention to?

Thank you in advance to everyone who responds to this question.
It is a common myth that Bitcoin is ruled by a majority of miners. This is not true. Bitcoin miners "vote" on the ordering of transactions, but that's all they do. They can't vote to change the network rules.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714542386
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714542386

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714542386
Reply with quote  #2

1714542386
Report to moderator
1714542386
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714542386

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714542386
Reply with quote  #2

1714542386
Report to moderator
1714542386
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714542386

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714542386
Reply with quote  #2

1714542386
Report to moderator
EL MOHA
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 237



View Profile
September 22, 2023, 03:58:07 AM
Merited by iBaba (2), Ruttoshi (2), DifDrama (1)
 #2

I have read on the forum that it is possible.

Yes you can use an external hard drive to store the data directory but you might have to manually specify it since bitcoin core will not know it is on the hard drive. So when you start the client just specify that the dir is on the external drive not the system hard drive where it is installed on. Here is what I saw on how to specify it

Code:
bitcoind --datadir=<your_external_drive_location>

This YouTube video might help https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=mLCOW6KkbQM

 Note the external hard drive might always be connected when using the bitcoin core

ABCbits
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2856
Merit: 7430


Crypto Swap Exchange


View Profile
September 22, 2023, 09:31:46 AM
Merited by o_e_l_e_o (4), NeuroticFish (2), LFC_Bitcoin (2), nc50lc (1), DdmrDdmr (1), DifDrama (1)
 #3

Are there some recommended approaches for running Bitcoin Core on a laptop with constrained storage capacity?

1. Use pruned mode.
2. Replace current storage drive with new internal storage drive to the laptop, which have bigger capacity.

Is it possible to use an external hard drive as the data directory (datadir)?

It is possible.


How does this setup work, and would I need to pay attention to?

You just need to specific where should Bitcoin Core store it's data. Just be careful sudden power loss or disconnect on external storage could cause corruption, which force you to perform reindex and even redownload corrupt blockchain data.

█▀▀▀











█▄▄▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
e
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
█████████████
████████████▄███
██▐███████▄█████▀
█████████▄████▀
███▐████▄███▀
████▐██████▀
█████▀█████
███████████▄
████████████▄
██▄█████▀█████▄
▄█████████▀█████▀
███████████▀██▀
████▀█████████
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
c.h.
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▀▀▀█











▄▄▄█
▄██████▄▄▄
█████████████▄▄
███████████████
███████████████
███████████████
███████████████
███░░█████████
███▌▐█████████
█████████████
███████████▀
██████████▀
████████▀
▀██▀▀
satscraper
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 1336


Cashback 15%


View Profile
September 22, 2023, 04:51:05 PM
Last edit: September 22, 2023, 05:06:26 PM by satscraper
Merited by o_e_l_e_o (4)
 #4

Are there some recommended approaches for running Bitcoin Core on a laptop with constrained storage capacity? Is it possible to use an external hard drive as the data directory (datadir)? How does this setup work, and would I need to pay attention to?

Thank you in advance to everyone who responds to this question.

Yes, it is not only possible but highly recommended setup as it makes a bit faster the sync and, at the same time,  ease the burden of the drive that holds OS.

I would advocate for external SSD instead of HDD  to not wait too long time for the  initial synchronization  completion .
Put down into bitcoin.conf the following entries

dbcache=<M>

# where   M equals to 1/4 RAM, for instance if you RAM = 8Gb then dbcache=2048

blocksonly=1

# this will increase the sync  speed as it  disables node listening and "stop requesting and relaying transactions unless they are part of the block". After full initial sync you may remove this  entry.

datadir=<path to directory on external drive where Bitcoin Core will keep its data>

# For instance my path looks like this datadir=F:/ BitcoinData. Instead of BitcoinDta you can use any set of permissible characters you want

.
.HUGE.
▄██████████▄▄
▄█████████████████▄
▄█████████████████████▄
▄███████████████████████▄
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████▌██▌▐██▐██▐████▄███
████▐██▐████▌██▌██▌██▌██
█████▀███▀███▀▐██▐██▐█████

▀█████████████████████████▀

▀███████████████████████▀

▀█████████████████████▀

▀█████████████████▀

▀██████████▀▀
█▀▀▀▀











█▄▄▄▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
.
CASINSPORTSBOOK
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▀▀▀▀█











▄▄▄▄█
simpleSliv3r
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46
Merit: 28


View Profile
September 23, 2023, 09:54:19 AM
Merited by nc50lc (1)
 #5

Are there some recommended approaches for running Bitcoin Core on a laptop with constrained storage capacity? Is it possible to use an external hard drive as the data directory (datadir)? How does this setup work, and would I need to pay attention to?

Thank you in advance to everyone who responds to this question.

All what you said is possible, you can run it with a low storage capacity and you can use an external hard drive to have more capacity.

If you use your first option, then you need to prune your BitcoinCore, that means that you will only store a certain amount of blocks according the configuration that you specified.
In order to prune it, you just have to add the following line on bitcoin.conf file:
Code:
prune=10000
This would allow to store all blocks possible in 10Gb if you have 5Gb then use 5000, etc.

For the second option, using an external hard drive, you just have to add the parameter -datadir=$pathToStorage when running the Btc Core:
Code:
bitcoind --datadir=/mnt/data
You can also add that parameter on the bitcoin.conf file so you'll not have to specify it every time. (Use your own /data path)
This article does it with a rapsberry:  https://ishaana-misra.medium.com/using-raspberry-pi-to-run-a-full-bitcoin-node-a30c6339b06e
The setup is the same so you can follow the part where she uses the parameter datadir:
 - Setting Up The External Hard Drive
 - Installing & Running The Bitcoin Core

Hope this helps Smiley
SS
promise444c5
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 129


Keep Promises !


View Profile
September 23, 2023, 01:51:44 PM
 #6

Are there some recommended approaches for running Bitcoin Core on a laptop with constrained storage capacity?

Yes as it has been said you can always use external drives to a save all your blockchain  datas which will serve as you directory to be precise. It now depends on you find a suitable drive for it,you could use hard drives as you've asked.


How does this setup work,


I did some research for you and I found out a quote with a detailed explanation on how to go about it

It's a post made by HI-TEC99 on January 08 2017

Quote from:  HI-TEC99
There is a way to to that if you create a shortcut to your Bitcoin-qt inside a folder you installed it to.

Right click your blackcoin qt Bitcoin-qt and select "create shortcut". Right click the shortcut and select properties. A popup should open containing a text box with the word target written to the left of it. Add the line of text below to the end of whatever is already written in it. Make sure there is a space between the text that was already in the text box and the text below.

 -datadir=.

Press the apply button, then the OK button.

Double click the shortcut to start the blackcoin Bitcoin-qt wallet and it should store its largest files (the blockchain) and also its wallet.dat inside the folder containing the shortcut.

You can install the blackcoin qt Bitcoin-qt to a folder on a thumbdrive, use that shortcut technique, and when you double click the shortcut the blockchain and wallet.dat will get stored on your thumbdrive, not in appdata.

If you use that technique, and accidentally double click the qt instead of the shortcut a new wallet dat and blockchain will get created on your C drive inside appdata. Make sure you always start your wallet using the shortcut.

You can go through and follow the directions if there's seems to be no change in the aspect. It should help.

DifDrama (OP)
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33
Merit: 32


View Profile
September 26, 2023, 03:16:16 AM
 #7

I extend my heartfelt gratitude to all those who take the time to offer their assistance and insights.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4102
Merit: 7821


'The right to privacy matters'


View Profile WWW
September 26, 2023, 04:00:03 AM
 #8

Are there some recommended approaches for running Bitcoin Core on a laptop with constrained storage capacity? Is it possible to use an external hard drive as the data directory (datadir)? How does this setup work, and would I need to pay attention to?

Thank you in advance to everyone who responds to this question.

Why must people do things like this?

Here is my cheap solution buy a used laptop that allows a ssd to be put inside of it.


under 1 minute search on ebay I find a 2tb ssd i5 8th gen dell for $253.00

Problem solved.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/295574053536?


there really is not an easier way.


cheaper way yes search long on ebay and find a laptop with 1tb ssd

https://www.ebay.com/itm/195976457193?

the one above is under 200 usd


please note I did fast searches on ebay and found suitable laptops. I do not know the sellers.

▄▄███████▄▄
▄██████████████▄
▄██████████████████▄
▄████▀▀▀▀███▀▀▀▀█████▄
▄█████████████▄█▀████▄
███████████▄███████████
██████████▄█▀███████████
██████████▀████████████
▀█████▄█▀█████████████▀
▀████▄▄▄▄███▄▄▄▄████▀
▀██████████████████▀
▀███████████████▀
▀▀███████▀▀
.
 MΞTAWIN  THE FIRST WEB3 CASINO   
.
.. PLAY NOW ..
btctodamon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 01, 2023, 05:16:15 PM
 #9

Are there some recommended approaches for running Bitcoin Core on a laptop with constrained storage capacity? Is it possible to use an external hard drive as the data directory (datadir)? How does this setup work, and would I need to pay attention to?
It is feasible to run Bitcoin Core on a laptop with limited storage, but you will need to make certain tweaks to effectively manage the storage needs. Here are suggestion.
Pruning: which limits the amount of data retained on your disc, is a feature of Bitcoin Core that you may enable. Pruning keeps the most current blocks while removing old block data. Add the following line to your bitcoin.conf configuration file (found in the bitcoin data directory) to enable pruning.
amount of megabytes pruned
Substitute the appropriate size of the blockchain data you wish to save for "number of megabytes." The latest 2 GB of blockchain data will be kept by Bitcoin Core for instance if you set it to 2048.

NotATether
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582
Merit: 6717


bitcoincleanup.com / bitmixlist.org


View Profile WWW
October 03, 2023, 01:34:36 PM
 #10

Yes it is absolutely possible to use an external hard drive as your data directory, bit it must be connected to your computer at all times, otherwise there's a risk for data corruption. Bitcoin Core is very slow at cleaning up its state, so if you just disconnect the drive without ejecting it safely first, it's not going to have enough time to dump its memory database of transactions onto the disk.

Also it would be much simpler to buy a big enough internal storage disk and a SATA connector assuming your laptop has room for an extra cable/device inside.

.
.BLACKJACK ♠ FUN.
█████████
██████████████
████████████
█████████████████
████████████████▄▄
░█████████████▀░▀▀
██████████████████
░██████████████
████████████████
░██████████████
████████████
███████████████░██
██████████
CRYPTO CASINO &
SPORTS BETTING
▄▄███████▄▄
▄███████████████▄
███████████████████
█████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████████
███████████████████
▀███████████████▀
█████████
.
DifDrama (OP)
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33
Merit: 32


View Profile
October 07, 2023, 06:51:06 AM
Merited by philipma1957 (1)
 #11


Why must people do things like this?

Here is my cheap solution buy a used laptop that allows a ssd to be put inside of it.


Your response broadened my perspective on this issue, and I appreciate your suggestion. It's indeed worth considering purchasing a used laptop with a suitable SSD, and your detailed considerations provide valuable guidance. Thank you for your helpful input!
Cricktor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 1102


Crypto Swap Exchange


View Profile
October 07, 2023, 07:00:06 PM
 #12

I can't make assumptions where OP lives. In my country there are quite some dealers who trade with refurbished business laptops or leasing returns. This is not the hottest new electronic shit on the market but mostly very affordable and durable business laptops which are easier to open, to repair or to exchange parts, e.g. when you need a bigger storage device in them.

You don't need the newest hottest stuff for big money, you can enjoy laptops that are built to last and do the job. Stay away from consumer laptops, some of them are a pain to open to replace RAM or storage. If you don't need the mobility aspect, then battery life might not be top priority either. Very common older business laptops sometimes still have some suppliers for the battery. Stay away from cheap battery crap, you don't want to risk to burn down your living space.

█▀▀▀











█▄▄▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
e
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
█████████████
████████████▄███
██▐███████▄█████▀
█████████▄████▀
███▐████▄███▀
████▐██████▀
█████▀█████
███████████▄
████████████▄
██▄█████▀█████▄
▄█████████▀█████▀
███████████▀██▀
████▀█████████
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
c.h.
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▀▀▀█











▄▄▄█
▄██████▄▄▄
█████████████▄▄
███████████████
███████████████
███████████████
███████████████
███░░█████████
███▌▐█████████
█████████████
███████████▀
██████████▀
████████▀
▀██▀▀
DifDrama (OP)
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33
Merit: 32


View Profile
October 12, 2023, 05:39:25 AM
 #13

I can't make assumptions where OP lives. In my country there are quite some dealers who trade with refurbished business laptops or leasing returns.

You're absolutely right, this kind of business with refurbished business laptops is quite common worldwide. While affordability and durability are key advantages, ensuring the security of these devices remains a crucial consideration for me.
NotATether
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1582
Merit: 6717


bitcoincleanup.com / bitmixlist.org


View Profile WWW
October 12, 2023, 12:27:27 PM
 #14

You're absolutely right, this kind of business with refurbished business laptops is quite common worldwide. While affordability and durability are key advantages, ensuring the security of these devices remains a crucial consideration for me.

Side question, how long do these refurbished devices last? It obviously cannot last as long as a brand-new device, which means it will fall apart sooner, is that not the case?

You don't need the newest hottest stuff for big money, you can enjoy laptops that are built to last and do the job. Stay away from consumer laptops, some of them are a pain to open to replace RAM or storage. If you don't need the mobility aspect, then battery life might not be top priority either. Very common older business laptops sometimes still have some suppliers for the battery. Stay away from cheap battery crap, you don't want to risk to burn down your living space.

Why are you buying a laptop if you do not need the battery? An older generation tower + peripherals can also be assembled or bought for less than a new laptop.

.
.BLACKJACK ♠ FUN.
█████████
██████████████
████████████
█████████████████
████████████████▄▄
░█████████████▀░▀▀
██████████████████
░██████████████
████████████████
░██████████████
████████████
███████████████░██
██████████
CRYPTO CASINO &
SPORTS BETTING
▄▄███████▄▄
▄███████████████▄
███████████████████
█████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████████
███████████████████
▀███████████████▀
█████████
.
Cricktor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 1102


Crypto Swap Exchange


View Profile
October 15, 2023, 12:11:24 PM
Last edit: October 15, 2023, 02:05:15 PM by Cricktor
 #15

Side question, how long do these refurbished devices last? It obviously cannot last as long as a brand-new device, which means it will fall apart sooner, is that not the case?

I have a refurbished Dell Latitude E6440 now since at least 2017 and it still works like a charm. When I purchased it I could barely see any signs of usage, lucky me. The battery that came with the laptop is still quite OK. To preserve battery life and when I don't need the battery when I can run the laptop on a power cord, I usually disconnect the battery when it is charged around 40%. On a Latitude you could also configure the battery management to only charge the battery to 50% max. when you're always plugged to the power cord. Such low charging levels are beneficial for battery life and endurance. I treat my laptops also always with some care and don't bang them around.

Other refurbished laptops I use are a Thinkpad T520 and another Dell Latitude E7440. Both work just fine for years now.


Why are you buying a laptop if you do not need the battery? An older generation tower + peripherals can also be assembled or bought for less than a new laptop.

Because older generation towers are usually more power hungry than laptops which are mostly designed for power efficiency. I do care about power consuption of devices in my household, particularly those that operate for longer periods of a day or even 24/7.

█▀▀▀











█▄▄▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
e
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
█████████████
████████████▄███
██▐███████▄█████▀
█████████▄████▀
███▐████▄███▀
████▐██████▀
█████▀█████
███████████▄
████████████▄
██▄█████▀█████▄
▄█████████▀█████▀
███████████▀██▀
████▀█████████
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
c.h.
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▀▀▀█











▄▄▄█
▄██████▄▄▄
█████████████▄▄
███████████████
███████████████
███████████████
███████████████
███░░█████████
███▌▐█████████
█████████████
███████████▀
██████████▀
████████▀
▀██▀▀
DifDrama (OP)
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33
Merit: 32


View Profile
October 16, 2023, 02:51:24 AM
 #16


Side question, how long do these refurbished devices last? It obviously cannot last as long as a brand-new device, which means it will fall apart sooner, is that not the case?


That's the reason to seek out trustworthy refurbishers and assess the device's initial build quality. Reputable refurbishers go the extra mile by either replacing or refurbishing essential components, ensuring the device functions well and enjoys an extended lifespan.

Then another important question arises: how can one identify a reliable refurbisher? Huh
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4102
Merit: 7821


'The right to privacy matters'


View Profile WWW
October 16, 2023, 04:00:01 AM
Last edit: October 16, 2023, 04:11:56 AM by philipma1957
 #17

ebay usa based has thousands of good laptops or pcs.  lots of good sellers.

newegg has a ton of good used pcs and laptops.

https://www.newegg.com/p/1VK-0001-69VD3?Item=9SIADT2JBS4330

quick search. 

first find the windows 11 key write it down

then-pull the windows ssd it is too small.

put in a 1tb ssd. install a fresh windows 11.

activate windows 11 with the code you copied.

under $ 250 cost if you attach it to your tv for a monitor.

plus you have a spare 512gb ssd.

load your core 25 to it.

▄▄███████▄▄
▄██████████████▄
▄██████████████████▄
▄████▀▀▀▀███▀▀▀▀█████▄
▄█████████████▄█▀████▄
███████████▄███████████
██████████▄█▀███████████
██████████▀████████████
▀█████▄█▀█████████████▀
▀████▄▄▄▄███▄▄▄▄████▀
▀██████████████████▀
▀███████████████▀
▀▀███████▀▀
.
 MΞTAWIN  THE FIRST WEB3 CASINO   
.
.. PLAY NOW ..
LoyceV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3290
Merit: 16577


Thick-Skinned Gang Leader and Golden Feather 2021


View Profile WWW
October 16, 2023, 07:27:28 AM
Merited by philipma1957 (2)
 #18

You're absolutely right, this kind of business with refurbished business laptops is quite common worldwide. While affordability and durability are key advantages, ensuring the security of these devices remains a crucial consideration for me.
Easy: wipe them and install whatever Linux distribution you prefer. I'd never use any pre-installed operating system, and prefer to buy my laptops empty.

Side question, how long do these refurbished devices last? It obviously cannot last as long as a brand-new device, which means it will fall apart sooner, is that not the case?
Can I answer with "forever"? Wink I've had new laptops break within a few years, sometimes mechanical (the hinges), sometimes the mainboard just giving up. I also have laptops 8-12 years old, and they get useless because of old age, not because they're breaking. Amazingly, most laptop batteries are still working after 10 years, although they run out quicker. And I do replace the CPU fan once in a while.
Another thing to check: power consumption. The less, the better. It's quiet, saves money, attracts less dust and stays colder. Whenever I buy a laptop, I first search the "TDP" for the CPU. The lower the better.

I have a refurbished Dell Latitude E6440 now since at least 2017 and it still works like a charm. When I purchased it I could barely see any signs of usage, lucky me. The battery that came with the laptop is still quite OK. To preserve battery life and when I don't need the battery when I can run the laptop on a power cord, I usually disconnect the battery when it is charged around 40%. On a Latitude you could also configure the battery management to only charge the battery to 50% max. when you're always plugged to the power cord. Such low charging levels are beneficial for battery life and endurance. I treat my laptops also always with some care and don't bang them around.
I never remove my laptop battery, and after 8 years it's at 70%. If I'd disconnect it, I can't use it when I need it (for instance when I unplug the laptop).

Cricktor
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 1102


Crypto Swap Exchange


View Profile
October 16, 2023, 08:34:28 PM
 #19

You're absolutely right, this kind of business with refurbished business laptops is quite common worldwide. While affordability and durability are key advantages, ensuring the security of these devices remains a crucial consideration for me.
Easy: wipe them and install whatever Linux distribution you prefer. I'd never use any pre-installed operating system, and prefer to buy my laptops empty.

If you're really paranoid or security conscious, see if the firmware isn't the last version or if it is the last available version, maybe you can downgrade it temporarily. Any refurbished laptop that came to me so far didn't have the latest bios/firmware. Flash the latest version, wipe the storage as LoyceV said and install the OS of your desire fresh. That's safe enough for me, I'm likely not a target for three letter agencies and bios malware is probably quite rare and/or more something for specifically targeted attacks.


Another thing to check: power consumption. The less, the better. It's quiet, saves money, attracts less dust and stays colder. Whenever I buy a laptop, I first search the "TDP" for the CPU. The lower the better.

I'm kind of in the same boat as I rarely need any of my laptops for computation and energy heavy stuff. Keeping the cooling section clean gives you a longer life for your device. Dust is the enemy.


I never remove my laptop battery, and after 8 years it's at 70%. If I'd disconnect it, I can't use it when I need it (for instance when I unplug the laptop).

Well, it depends on the level of wear the supplied battery of the refurbished laptop already had. You can be lucky or not so much. That's also dependent on the refurbisher and availability of good batteries for your laptop model.

I rarely need any of my laptops in a truely mobile situation with no power plug. But that's me and YMMV.

█▀▀▀











█▄▄▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
e
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
█████████████
████████████▄███
██▐███████▄█████▀
█████████▄████▀
███▐████▄███▀
████▐██████▀
█████▀█████
███████████▄
████████████▄
██▄█████▀█████▄
▄█████████▀█████▀
███████████▀██▀
████▀█████████
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
c.h.
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▀▀▀█











▄▄▄█
▄██████▄▄▄
█████████████▄▄
███████████████
███████████████
███████████████
███████████████
███░░█████████
███▌▐█████████
█████████████
███████████▀
██████████▀
████████▀
▀██▀▀
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4102
Merit: 7821


'The right to privacy matters'


View Profile WWW
October 16, 2023, 11:37:40 PM
Merited by Cricktor (1), DifDrama (1)
 #20

You're absolutely right, this kind of business with refurbished business laptops is quite common worldwide. While affordability and durability are key advantages, ensuring the security of these devices remains a crucial consideration for me.
Easy: wipe them and install whatever Linux distribution you prefer. I'd never use any pre-installed operating system, and prefer to buy my laptops empty.

If you're really paranoid or security conscious, see if the firmware isn't the last version or if it is the last available version, maybe you can downgrade it temporarily. Any refurbished laptop that came to me so far didn't have the latest bios/firmware. Flash the latest version, wipe the storage as LoyceV said and install the OS of your desire fresh. That's safe enough for me, I'm likely not a target for three letter agencies and bios malware is probably quite rare and/or more something for specifically targeted attacks.


Another thing to check: power consumption. The less, the better. It's quiet, saves money, attracts less dust and stays colder. Whenever I buy a laptop, I first search the "TDP" for the CPU. The lower the better.




I'm kind of in the same boat as I rarely need any of my laptops for computation and energy heavy stuff. Keeping the cooling section clean gives you a longer life for your device. Dust is the enemy.


I never remove my laptop battery, and after 8 years it's at 70%. If I'd disconnect it, I can't use it when I need it (for instance when I unplug the laptop).

Well, it depends on the level of wear the supplied battery of the refurbished laptop already had. You can be lucky or not so much. That's also dependent on the refurbisher and availability of good batteries for your laptop model.

I rarely need any of my laptops in a truely mobile situation with no power plug. But that's me and YMMV.

I am a big fan of hp,dell,lenovo tiny gear.

basically 8 by 8 by 2.

easy to swap out parts very durable.

you can’t game much with them but they are workhorses and very easy to clone the internal ssd to have a back up booter.


https://www.ebay.com/itm/266453641170?

cheap

about 110 with shipping and tax.

grab the windows 10 activation code use magic jelly bean write it down.

put in an 85 dollar crucial ssd 2tb or a 129 dollar samsung ssd 2tb

for 200 bucks you have a low power  i7 6700t cpu .

you can do a lot of basic shit with it. All the content I had ever done on this website could be done with it.

If you take your time looking at them you some times find one with 32gb and an i7 8700t

which is a nice machine.

▄▄███████▄▄
▄██████████████▄
▄██████████████████▄
▄████▀▀▀▀███▀▀▀▀█████▄
▄█████████████▄█▀████▄
███████████▄███████████
██████████▄█▀███████████
██████████▀████████████
▀█████▄█▀█████████████▀
▀████▄▄▄▄███▄▄▄▄████▀
▀██████████████████▀
▀███████████████▀
▀▀███████▀▀
.
 MΞTAWIN  THE FIRST WEB3 CASINO   
.
.. PLAY NOW ..
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!