Bitcoin Forum
April 28, 2024, 09:00:34 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]

Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Universities do not have the professionalism required to operate dangerous labs.  (Read 99 times)
jvanname (OP)

Activity: 702
Merit: 51

View Profile
November 20, 2023, 11:51:16 AM
Last edit: November 20, 2023, 12:04:27 PM by jvanname

If you trust universities to host bio-safety level (BSL) 4 laboratories, then you are a suicidal fool. Universities love to pander to those who scream in the middle of class and make threats of violence against their professors. They refuse to acknowledge that this is a problem. They refuse to apologize. This means that those universities will also pander to those who behave badly in BSL-4 labs and the result will be that a pathogen that is genetically modified to kill you will escape and do just that. I know how academic institutions act since I was a professor. But I bet that most of you would rather just take death than try to solve the problem. It is really pathetic.

https://www.bu.edu/neidl/2014/03/bu-questions-claims-behind-proposed-ordinance/

"It came to the conclusion that an event causing an infection of a community member might occur no more than once in 500 to 10,000 years."-What about when someone at the BSL-4 lab drinks a lot of vodka at the lab and causes a lot of mayhem? Don't say that you are above this because universities have promoted violence against me, so I will not believe anything you say. I will instead always assume that you will always behave as unprofessionally as possible because you always have in the past.

'The panels of scientific experts concluded that this was “the most scientifically sound and rigorously conducted study that is possible at this point.”'-Saying this is just evidence that such a study is not sound because it does not take into consideration the vodka.