Bitcoin Forum
November 21, 2017, 05:48:39 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: What does it take to start a pool?  (Read 1302 times)
jjshabadoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 529



View Profile
December 16, 2011, 08:02:15 PM
 #1

I'd like to eventually start one in the future and figure I should start learning as much as I can. I already have a fairly robust server that I own for business purposes and it is WAY underutilized. I have a business class cable internet connection with average download speeds of 30-40 mbps and upload around 5 mbps.

What type of server specs are we talking to run say a 100 GH/s pool?

Does the server need a robust internet connection?

I already have great security and storage redundancy. I also have pretty cheap power costs and would have no issues running it through my business.

I also have a very knowledgeable IT guy who I work with, so he could certainly do the software implementation.

Thanks in advance for any advice/responses.
1511286519
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511286519

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511286519
Reply with quote  #2

1511286519
Report to moderator
1511286519
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511286519

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511286519
Reply with quote  #2

1511286519
Report to moderator
1511286519
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511286519

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511286519
Reply with quote  #2

1511286519
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511286519
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511286519

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511286519
Reply with quote  #2

1511286519
Report to moderator
bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
December 26, 2011, 12:02:44 AM
 #2

If you search the Software or Development Forums, you will find a complete Open Source Mining Pool setup package in there. I believe it uses the author/developer's Adsense account or something like that to generate revenue, so he'she'they can freely give it away.

Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
December 26, 2011, 08:33:56 PM
 #3

This describes pretty much everything you need to start a pool:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-_niy2ZM5Jo

It's not a rick roll... make a list of everything he says it requires and that's pretty much it, along with a few bits of software here and there.

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!