Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 03:59:05 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin Client Problem  (Read 2304 times)
quinnygoth
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
December 20, 2011, 01:45:14 AM
 #1

Hi everybody

I've got a problem with Bitcoin Client. I'm running a MacBook Pro 10.5.8 and I've installed the Bitcoin Client app but the app wont launch. The icon bounces a couple of times on my dock and then the notice that says "Bitcoin Qt quit unexpectedly, do you want to relaunch etc." pops up. This happens repeatedly.

Does anybody have any idea what might be wrong?

Thanks  Smiley
1480780745
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480780745

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480780745
Reply with quote  #2

1480780745
Report to moderator
1480780745
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480780745

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480780745
Reply with quote  #2

1480780745
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480780745
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480780745

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480780745
Reply with quote  #2

1480780745
Report to moderator
1480780745
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480780745

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480780745
Reply with quote  #2

1480780745
Report to moderator
kinlo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 263


Pool operator of Triplemining.com


View Profile
December 20, 2011, 06:08:07 PM
 #2

Can you have a look at your debug.log file?

You can find that in your home directory under Library/Application Support/Bitcoin

If you have no money in your bitcoin wallet, you can always try deleting that entire directory, so it can be re-initialized...
deejay
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 165


View Profile WWW
December 28, 2011, 04:15:30 PM
 #3

what if you do have bitcoins there?

n2liquid
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34



View Profile WWW
December 28, 2011, 04:22:47 PM
 #4

@deejay then simply don't delete it. I assume you're having the same problem as quinnygoth?

You can move the folder somewhere else to see if the problem goes away, but please send the debug.log file  like kinlo said nevertheless so he can help you better.
SolarSilver
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 987


View Profile
January 11, 2012, 08:40:59 PM
 #5

Can you have a look at your debug.log file?

You can find that in your home directory under Library/Application Support/Bitcoin

If you have no money in your bitcoin wallet, you can always try deleting that entire directory, so it can be re-initialized...

in my case, it's not even creating the Bitcoin directory, so the only error I can see is what Apple would get if you file a report:

I guess it's linked for 10.6 or later?

Process:         Bitcoin-Qt [351]
Path:            /Applications/Bitcoin-Qt.app/Contents/MacOS/Bitcoin-Qt
Identifier:      com.yourcompany.Bitcoin-Qt
Version:         Huh (Huh)
Code Type:       X86 (Native)
Parent Process:  launchd [107]

Interval Since Last Report:          27077 sec
Crashes Since Last Report:           5
Per-App Interval Since Last Report:  0 sec
Per-App Crashes Since Last Report:   3

Date/Time:       2012-01-11 21:37:31.132 +0100
OS Version:      Mac OS X 10.5.8 (9L31a)
Report Version:  6
Anonymous UUID:  8921A577-7713-4748-9665-8DCFF4C011AE

Exception Type:  EXC_BREAKPOINT (SIGTRAP)
Exception Codes: 0x0000000000000002, 0x0000000000000000
Crashed Thread:  0

Dyld Error Message:
  Symbol not found: __ZNKSt13bad_exception4whatEv
  Referenced from: /Applications/Bitcoin-Qt.app/Contents/MacOS/Bitcoin-Qt
  Expected in: /usr/lib/libstdc++.6.dylib

codymanix
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 203

Gir: I'm gonna sing the Doom Song now..


View Profile
January 11, 2012, 09:21:14 PM
 #6

Did you verify that the installer isn't corrupt? Try to download it again and re-install.

Programming tutorials, Tools, Games & Humor http://deutronium.de.vu
My Vircurex referral code for persistant 0.05% trade discount: 750-33267 or use
https://vircurex.com/welcome/index?referral_id=750-33267
SolarSilver
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 987


View Profile
January 13, 2012, 01:12:21 AM
 #7

Did you verify that the installer isn't corrupt? Try to download it again and re-install.


why would the downloaded volume mount if it's corrupted?
oscer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73


View Profile WWW
January 13, 2012, 02:28:31 AM
 #8

Now that looks like a fun Error

I would re-download the Bitcoin software and reinstall what ever software this is in

Expected in: /usr/lib/libstdc++.6.dylib

Xrnetworks.com Web Hosting
dadj
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2012, 04:57:10 PM
 #9

I finally figured this out from reading this thread. You need to move or rename the old bitcoin folder. The crash is caused by the new client not being able to create a bitcoin folder.

https://monerodice.net/ play dice privately and securely
gbr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
February 26, 2012, 01:48:23 PM
 #10

My client doesn't properly stop when closed. I can still see bitcoin-qt running in the task manager. Does anybody have the same issue? I'm on Windows 7.
fanquake
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


View Profile
February 26, 2012, 02:09:35 PM
 #11

My client doesn't properly stop when closed. I can still see bitcoin-qt running in the task manager. Does anybody have the same issue? I'm on Windows 7.


I have the same issue on OSX 10.6.8
marked
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
February 26, 2012, 02:51:57 PM
 #12

My client doesn't properly stop when closed. I can still see bitcoin-qt running in the task manager. Does anybody have the same issue? I'm on Windows 7.

I have the same issue on OSX 10.6.8

I'm on Windows Vista.

I've had it take up anywhere between 30-45 seconds to stop after the gui has gone due to tidying up, writing to the database, clearing database logs etc. This is on a truecrypt encrypted drive though.

marked
gbr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
February 26, 2012, 03:57:55 PM
 #13

My client doesn't properly stop when closed. I can still see bitcoin-qt running in the task manager. Does anybody have the same issue? I'm on Windows 7.

I have the same issue on OSX 10.6.8

I'm on Windows Vista.

I've had it take up anywhere between 30-45 seconds to stop after the gui has gone due to tidying up, writing to the database, clearing database logs etc. This is on a truecrypt encrypted drive though.

marked

In my case it doesn't stop at all. Have to 'End Process'.
marked
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
February 26, 2012, 04:55:16 PM
 #14

In my case it doesn't stop at all. Have to 'End Process'.

can you run a windows compiled "tail" either from Services for Unix (SFU) from microsoft, or cygwin.com on debug.log in the %appdata%\bitcoin directory. It should tell you whether it is still doing anything or not.

marked
gbr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
February 26, 2012, 05:34:26 PM
 #15


can you run a windows compiled "tail" either from Services for Unix (SFU) from microsoft, or cygwin.com on debug.log in the %appdata%\bitcoin directory. It should tell you whether it is still doing anything or not.

marked

Yep, it's still cooking. Also, taking >40MB of RAM.
marked
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
February 26, 2012, 05:49:48 PM
 #16

Yep, it's still cooking. Also, taking >40MB of RAM.
these should be your last set of lines in debug.log (upnp might be different depending on whether you are using it.)
db.log may also contain some information.

Code:
DBFlush(false)
addr.dat refcount=0
ThreadMessageHandler exiting
ThreadSocketHandler exiting
addr.dat flush
UPNP_DeletePortMapping() returned : 714
ThreadMapPort exiting
ThreadOpenConnections exiting
blkindex.dat refcount=0
blkindex.dat flush
ThreadIRCSeed exiting
StopNode()
DBFlush(true)
Bitcoin exiting

also check whether there are any files in the %appdata%\bitcoin\database directory. There should only be one when finished.

After deleting db.log and debug.log you could try running,
Code:
"c:\program files\bitcoin\bitcoin-qt.exe" -rescan
though it shouldn't be necessary.

marked.

bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
April 16, 2012, 06:55:29 PM
 #17

Can you have a look at your debug.log file?

You can find that in your home directory under Library/Application Support/Bitcoin

If you have no money in your bitcoin wallet, you can always try deleting that entire directory, so it can be re-initialized...

in my case, it's not even creating the Bitcoin directory, so the only error I can see is what Apple would get if you file a report:

I guess it's linked for 10.6 or later?

Process:         Bitcoin-Qt [351]
Path:            /Applications/Bitcoin-Qt.app/Contents/MacOS/Bitcoin-Qt
Identifier:      com.yourcompany.Bitcoin-Qt
Version:         Huh (Huh)
Code Type:       X86 (Native)
Parent Process:  launchd [107]

Interval Since Last Report:          27077 sec
Crashes Since Last Report:           5
Per-App Interval Since Last Report:  0 sec
Per-App Crashes Since Last Report:   3

Date/Time:       2012-01-11 21:37:31.132 +0100
OS Version:      Mac OS X 10.5.8 (9L31a)
Report Version:  6
Anonymous UUID:  8921A577-7713-4748-9665-8DCFF4C011AE

Exception Type:  EXC_BREAKPOINT (SIGTRAP)
Exception Codes: 0x0000000000000002, 0x0000000000000000
Crashed Thread:  0

Dyld Error Message:
  Symbol not found: __ZNKSt13bad_exception4whatEv
  Referenced from: /Applications/Bitcoin-Qt.app/Contents/MacOS/Bitcoin-Qt
  Expected in: /usr/lib/libstdc++.6.dylib



Did you manage to solve this problem ?

I am on 10.5.8 too ( can't upgrade ATM ) and using litecoind I get the same damn issue.

How did you fix it in the end ?

Thanks !
SolarSilver
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 987


View Profile
April 17, 2012, 05:42:34 AM
 #18

Did you manage to solve this problem ?

I am on 10.5.8 too ( can't upgrade ATM ) and using litecoind I get the same damn issue.

How did you fix it in the end ?

I did not manage to fix it, I've upgraded to OSX 10.7.3 and installed Bitcoin version 0.6.0.6-beta

There is some compatibility issue or a missing component/lib on 10.5.8
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
April 17, 2012, 03:21:29 PM
 #19

Did you manage to solve this problem ?

I am on 10.5.8 too ( can't upgrade ATM ) and using litecoind I get the same damn issue.

How did you fix it in the end ?

I did not manage to fix it, I've upgraded to OSX 10.7.3 and installed Bitcoin version 0.6.0.6-beta

There is some compatibility issue or a missing component/lib on 10.5.8

Damn it ! I cannot upgrade, unfortunately Cry

Are you sure it was not because the application could not create its directories ?

Or maybe shall I try copying a library that works over from a newer system onto the older system ?

I would greatly appreciate any input !
SolarSilver
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 987


View Profile
April 22, 2012, 09:36:44 PM
 #20

Are you sure it was not because the application could not create its directories ?

no, I tried all variations: a clean install, no old cruft or with an existing directory preloaded.

The program does not launch that far, it barfs before it gets that far. This is a lib problem.

If it was Linux, I could tell you what to do, Mac OS X is just voodoo, sorry ;-)
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!