Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 07:04:32 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: HD5850 low MHash/s  (Read 6083 times)
sanchaz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile
April 08, 2011, 04:33:15 PM
 #1

Hi,

Using poclbm and SDK 2.2, i'm getting 137 MHash/s, from the table above i should be getting 250 MHash/s +-.
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

What might i be doing wrong?

Anonymous Cash-By-Mail Exchange: https://www.bitcoin2cash.com
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Jaime Frontero
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
April 08, 2011, 04:49:16 PM
 #2

Hi,

Using poclbm and SDK 2.2, i'm getting 137 MHash/s, from the table above i should be getting 250 MHash/s +-.
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

What might i be doing wrong?


generally, you might want to use SDK 2.1 instead of 2.2.  i use 5850s also, and there's a marked difference between the two SDKs: i'm getting a rock-solid 249 Mh/s/card with no overclocking.  also, try messing around with the -f and -w settings.

note that i'm using DiabloMiner on Linux (Debian testing)...

so, more specifically - what's your OS, your ATI Catalyst version, and your start-up parameters?  someone with an identical system to yours will have better info...
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
April 08, 2011, 04:59:00 PM
 #3

I get 318 Mh/s fully overclocked to 900/1300 Core/Mem on Ubuntu Linux with SDK 2.1.

I was also getting right around 250Mh/s stock.

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
April 08, 2011, 05:07:32 PM
 #4

I get 318 Mh/s fully overclocked to 900/1300 Core/Mem on Ubuntu Linux with SDK 2.1.

I was also getting right around 250Mh/s stock.

I suggest downclocking your mem to idle value http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4292.0

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
sanchaz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile
April 08, 2011, 05:15:23 PM
 #5

Windows 7 64bit
Catalsyt was 10.8 when i wrote the first post, just updated it to 11.3.
Still no result, when i turn on the miner GPU clock was 400 and Memory clock was 1000. and it wouldn't go up to the default values of 725/1000.
So i tried turning off firefox and firing up the miner, values went to 725/1000 and i got 240 MHash/s.
Seems firefox with flash f**ks this up. :/ if anyone knows how to fix it...

as for lowering the mem clock i get better temps and lose very little MHash/s correct?

Anonymous Cash-By-Mail Exchange: https://www.bitcoin2cash.com
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
April 08, 2011, 05:19:37 PM
 #6

Windows 7 64bit
Catalsyt was 10.8 when i wrote the first post, just updated it to 11.3.
Still no result, when i turn on the miner GPU clock was 400 and Memory clock was 1000. and it wouldn't go up to the default values of 725/1000.
So i tried turning off firefox and firing up the miner, values went to 725/1000 and i got 240 MHash/s.
Seems firefox with flash f**ks this up. :/ if anyone knows how to fix it...

as for lowering the mem clock i get better temps and lose very little MHash/s correct?

You shouldn't even be losing Mh/s. I for example GAINED quite a few Mh/s! and power consumption and heat go way down.

In firefox, go in options and untick the "enable hardware acceleration when available"

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
BitterTea
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
April 08, 2011, 05:20:49 PM
 #7

Do you have anything else running in the background? Flash video particularly, I've noticed kills my hash rate.
sanchaz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile
April 08, 2011, 05:21:15 PM
 #8

Windows 7 64bit
Catalsyt was 10.8 when i wrote the first post, just updated it to 11.3.
Still no result, when i turn on the miner GPU clock was 400 and Memory clock was 1000. and it wouldn't go up to the default values of 725/1000.
So i tried turning off firefox and firing up the miner, values went to 725/1000 and i got 240 MHash/s.
Seems firefox with flash f**ks this up. :/ if anyone knows how to fix it...

as for lowering the mem clock i get better temps and lose very little MHash/s correct?

You shouldn't even be losing Mh/s. I for example GAINED quite a few Mh/s! and power consumption and heat go way down.

In firefox, go in options and untick the "enable hardware acceleration when available"
a ok thx, i also solved it by closing any tabs that had flash running like youtube.

Anonymous Cash-By-Mail Exchange: https://www.bitcoin2cash.com
sanchaz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile
April 08, 2011, 05:22:02 PM
 #9

Do you have anything else running in the background? Flash video particularly, I've noticed kills my hash rate.

no i now have firefox open as i used to but closed youtube tabs and other that were running flash.

Anonymous Cash-By-Mail Exchange: https://www.bitcoin2cash.com
dbitcoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742

BTCDig - mining pool


View Profile WWW
April 08, 2011, 05:26:52 PM
 #10

Do you have anything else running in the background? Flash video particularly, I've noticed kills my hash rate.

no i now have firefox open as i used to but closed youtube tabs and other that were running flash.

maybe running compiz with effects?

BTCDig - mining pool (Stratum, VarDiff, DGM, SSL, JSON API)
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
April 08, 2011, 05:29:39 PM
 #11

I've read posts about both flash and new versions of browsers (Firefox 4, IE9, and I think new versions of Chrome) interfacing with OpenCL to access the graphics cards directly to speed up rendering. Anything using OpenCL is going to eat into your hash rate.

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
April 08, 2011, 05:33:31 PM
 #12

also on youtube etc, right click -->> setting --> untick enable hardware acc.

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
os008
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79



View Profile
April 08, 2011, 07:26:00 PM
 #13

I think watching a hardware-accelerated video triggers the UVD profile in the BIOS of the video card. This profile is almost always at 400MHz core. After you close the video, the clock goes back to whatever it should be; idle or full-load.

2x5850 @ 600[M|K]H/s
bobR
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
April 08, 2011, 08:03:22 PM
 #14

is it a mining rig or not ??
If you play game's it will effect anything you do
I'm not sure if the true miners will want to help "gamers"
My 2 cents is mine or play games make the choice
Don't expect others to figure it out for you
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
April 08, 2011, 09:32:32 PM
 #15

is it a mining rig or not ??
If you play game's it will effect anything you do
I'm not sure if the true miners will want to help "gamers"
My 2 cents is mine or play games make the choice
Don't expect others to figure it out for you

Don't listen to this troll.... He can't read obviously.

But if you ever decide to mine while gaming, put the -f 120 flag. While I play Shogun 2, my hashraye is around 100Mh/s for each of my 6870

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
Garrett Burgwardt
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
April 08, 2011, 11:17:47 PM
 #16

is it a mining rig or not ??
If you play game's it will effect anything you do
I'm not sure if the true miners will want to help "gamers"
My 2 cents is mine or play games make the choice
Don't expect others to figure it out for you

Don't listen to this troll.... He can't read obviously.

But if you ever decide to mine while gaming, put the -f 120 flag. While I play Shogun 2, my hashraye is around 100Mh/s for each of my 6870

Second, -f 120 works fine for me as well. Miners never stop Smiley
sanchaz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile
April 09, 2011, 11:21:24 AM
 #17

k thx.


Quote
-f FRAMES, --frames=FRAMES
                       will try to bring single kernel execution to 1/frame
                       seconds, default=30, increase this for less desktop
                       lag

What does the -f flag really do? what does this mean?

Anonymous Cash-By-Mail Exchange: https://www.bitcoin2cash.com
dbitcoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742

BTCDig - mining pool


View Profile WWW
April 09, 2011, 04:57:21 PM
 #18

k thx.


Quote
-f FRAMES, --frames=FRAMES
                       will try to bring single kernel execution to 1/frame
                       seconds, default=30, increase this for less desktop
                       lag

What does the -f flag really do? what does this mean?

Skip work cycles, and free gpu power for desktop system.
Mining slow down a bit, but your OS desktop/windows do not lag.

BTCDig - mining pool (Stratum, VarDiff, DGM, SSL, JSON API)
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
April 09, 2011, 06:34:05 PM
 #19

k thx.


Quote
-f FRAMES, --frames=FRAMES
                       will try to bring single kernel execution to 1/frame
                       seconds, default=30, increase this for less desktop
                       lag

What does the -f flag really do? what does this mean?

Skip work cycles, and free gpu power for desktop system.
Mining slow down a bit, but your OS desktop/windows do not lag.

It also prevents crashes etc if your OC is not 100% stable (and most are not)

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
bobR
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
April 09, 2011, 08:48:25 PM
 #20

is it a mining rig or not ??
If you play game's it will effect anything you do
I'm not sure if the true miners will want to help "gamers"
My 2 cents is mine or play games make the choice
Don't expect others to figure it out for you

Don't listen to this troll.... He can't read obviously.

But if you ever decide to mine while gaming, put the -f 120 flag. While I play Shogun 2, my hashraye is around 100Mh/s for each of my 6870

Thanks for the snipe
you TROLL
nster the troll
hits every post made on this board with his TROLL turds
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!