Bitcoin Forum
June 18, 2019, 09:53:06 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin Core (Bitcoin-Qt) 0.9.1 released - update required  (Read 63858 times)
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2492
Merit: 1045


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
April 09, 2014, 02:02:53 AM
 #61

How do I install this for Linux Mint? On the previous version there was just a bitcoin-qt file which I could click on and run. Now the extracted folder contains several files, none of which are executable. I am stupid and know almost nothing about using the terminal, compiling libraries, etc. Can someone give me a simple explanation please?

Go to bin 64

I have done that and clicked bitcoin-qt. I get the following error:

Could not display "/home/robert/Programs/bitcoin-0.9.1-linux/bin/64/bitcoin-qt". There is no application installed for shared library files. Do you want to search...

That's right they made the resources static. I don't know any more. Try 32?

Reputation  |  PGP  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
NEW GAME FORMAT
JACKPOT UP TO $50000+
Guess The Symbols Of a Real Ethereum Hash
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Siegfried
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 09, 2014, 02:04:24 AM
 #62

How do I install this for Linux Mint? On the previous version there was just a bitcoin-qt file which I could click on and run. Now the extracted folder contains several files, none of which are executable. I am stupid and know almost nothing about using the terminal, compiling libraries, etc. Can someone give me a simple explanation please?

Go to bin 64

I have done that and clicked bitcoin-qt. I get the following error:

Could not display "/home/robert/Programs/bitcoin-0.9.1-linux/bin/64/bitcoin-qt". There is no application installed for shared library files. Do you want to search...

That's right they made the resources static. I don't know any more. Try 32?

Tried both. Thanks anyway.
jambola2
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120
Merit: 1018


Large scale, green crypto mining ICO


View Profile
April 09, 2014, 02:09:26 AM
 #63

Edit: using electrum is safe.

Was scared shitless , until I saw this.

████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
████  ▀███████████▀  ███████▀▀       ▀▀███████████████████▄▀████  ▀██████████  ████▌ ▐████████████▌ ▐██              ███            ████
████   ▀█████████▀   █████▀  ▄▄████████▄▀██████████████████▄▀███   ▀█████████  ████▌ ▐████████████▌ ▐████████  █████████  ██████████████
████  ▄ ▀███████▀ ▄  ███▀  ▄█████████████▄██████████████████ ███  █▄ ▀███████  ████▌ ▐████████████▌ ▐████████  █████████  ██████████████
████  █▄ ▀█████▀ ▄█  ██▀ ▄██████████████████████████████████ ███  ███  ██████  ████▌ ▐████████████▌ ▐████████  █████████  ██████████████
████  ██▄ ▀███▀ ▄██  ██ ▄██████████████████████████████████▀ ███  ████▄ ▀████  ████▌ ▐████████████▌ ▐████████  █████████          ▐█████
████  ███▄ ▀█▀ ▄███  ██ ██████████████████████████████████▀ ▄███  ██████  ▀██  ████▌ ▐████████████▌ ▐████████  █████████  ██████████████
████  ████▄   ▄████  ██ ▐███████████████████████████████▀  ▄████  ███████▄ ▀█  ████▌ ▐████████████▌ ▐████████  █████████  ██████████████
████  ██████▄██████  ███ ██████████████████▄▀█████████▀  ▄██████  █████████▄   ████▌ ▐████████████▌ ▐████████  █████████  ██████████████
████  █████████████  ███▄▀███████████████████▄▄       ▄▄████████  ██████████▄  ████▌            ██▌ ▐████████  █████████            ████
████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████


███████████████████  WHITEPAPER  ████
█ █ ██  ANN THREAD  █████████████████ █ █

.
FACEBOOK      TWITTER      LINKEDIN
.
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2492
Merit: 1045


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
April 09, 2014, 02:09:50 AM
 #64

If you guys are worried, transfer everything to a paper wallet you made offline and let this blow over.

Reputation  |  PGP  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Quantus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 883
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 09, 2014, 02:29:18 AM
Last edit: April 09, 2014, 02:40:27 AM by Quantus
 #65

I was running Bitcoin_qt 9.0. I downloaded the Bitcoin qt 9.1 setup.exe file and ran it. Am I good?


EDIT: I did't uninstall anything prior to installing 9.1 is that ok?

(I am a 1MB block supporter who thinks all users should be using Full-Node clients)
Avoid the XT shills, they only want to destroy bitcoin, their hubris and greed will destroy us.
Know your adversary https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BKorP55Aqvg
pandacoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1000


View Profile
April 09, 2014, 02:30:33 AM
 #66

I have 0.8.5 version. Should I upgrade too? Backup before upgrade?
fryarminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


View Profile
April 09, 2014, 02:31:31 AM
 #67

What about Mycelium - is it safe?
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2492
Merit: 1045


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
April 09, 2014, 02:41:29 AM
 #68

I was running Bitcoin_qt 9.0. I downloaded the Bitcoin qt 9.1 setup.exe file and ran it. Am I good?


EDIT: I did't uninstall anything prior to installing 9.1 is that ok?

Good double check about version

Reputation  |  PGP  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2492
Merit: 1045


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
April 09, 2014, 02:42:10 AM
 #69

I have 0.8.5 version. Should I upgrade too? Backup before upgrade?

You don't have to but yes and yes

Reputation  |  PGP  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2492
Merit: 1045


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
April 09, 2014, 02:42:35 AM
 #70

What about Mycelium - is it safe?

Safe just check their site for updates

Reputation  |  PGP  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1005


Gerald Davis


View Profile
April 09, 2014, 02:58:54 AM
 #71

I have 0.8.5 version. Should I upgrade too? Backup before upgrade?

If you don't use RPC over SSL then there is no need to upgrade, of course an upgrade won't hurt.

As for "backup before upgrade"?  ALWAYS backup before upgrade, every single upgrade and periodically between upgrades.  You never need to ask that question again because there is never a scenario where if you are deciding if you should make a backup that it would be a bad idea to do so.  Always use dates in the names of backups so you don't write over previous versions.
pandacoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1000


View Profile
April 09, 2014, 03:07:44 AM
 #72

Thanks. I already update my wallet regularly with timestamps. I mean will backup process and old backups affected for this? I use vanity addresses I created. Should I create new normal addresses?
I upgraded to 0.9.1 without a problem.
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2492
Merit: 1045


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
April 09, 2014, 03:13:07 AM
 #73

Thanks. I already update my wallet regularly with timestamps. I mean will backup process and old backups affected for this? I use vanity addresses I created. Should I create new normal addresses?
I upgraded to 0.9.1 without a problem.

Reusing addresses is bad anyway, I say start fresh. Don't lose old wallets tho.

Reputation  |  PGP  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Silver_Pharaoh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 09, 2014, 03:34:16 AM
 #74

Okay, I'm using (According to the debug screen):

v0.8.6-beta
Which has
OpenSSL 1.0.1c 10 May 2012


Never clicked on any "payment" thingys and I've only received BTC and sent BTC from it.
My bitcoin.conf is empty.

Never heard of this "rpcssl" option so I've never used it.
Am I good? Or must I update to 0.9.1?
Thanks guys  Grin
mufa23
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1001


I'd fight Gandhi.


View Profile
April 09, 2014, 03:48:42 AM
 #75

I hate being forced into new updates. Like MoonShadow once said (and I am paraphrasing): "I like to wait until they have ironed out the bugs with new releases before I update". I've been following that same rule, and only update if it's absolutely necessary. Which is why I never even upgraded to v0.9

That's a good policy. I also do that. You don't need to update from versions older than 0.9.0 unless you're using rpcssl. Most people aren't.
How can you tell when you are using rpcssl? What activates/turns it on? I've never manually ran any RPC commands that had to do with SSL. Just importing privkeys.

Even if you are using RPC you would have had to manually create a SSL private key and SSL cert using openssl and then manually install those by setting params in the bitcoin.conf in order to be be exectuing those RPC calls over SSL.

If all of those sounds foreign the simple answer is unless you already knew you were using RPC over SSL you weren't using it.
Sounds good then. Just running with whatever default settings comes when you install it. Minus the "-detachdb" and "-datadir" (to download the blockchain to a different hard drive) commands. I don't even have the "bitcoin.conf" file, so nothing to worry about. Thanks! (off topic: i'm enjoying your RNG thread btw)




I have 0.8.5 version. Should I upgrade too? Backup before upgrade?
As for "backup before upgrade"?  ALWAYS backup before upgrade, every single upgrade and periodically between upgrades.  You never need to ask that question again because there is never a scenario where if you are deciding if you should make a backup that it would be a bad idea to do so.  Always use dates in the names of backups so you don't write over previous versions.
+1
I cannot stress this enough! ALWAYS backup before doing anything with your wallet. Between upgrades, when you import keys, etc... And keep the backups in multiple secure places.

Positive rep with: pekv2, AzN1337c0d3r, Vince Torres, underworld07, Chimsley, omegaaf, Bogart, Gleason, SuperTramp, John K. and guitarplinker
7Priest7
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 09, 2014, 04:34:20 AM
 #76

Never heard of this "rpcssl" option so I've never used it.
Am I good? Or must I update to 0.9.1?
Thanks guys  Grin
The HeartBleed vulnerability has been around ~2 years.
OpenSSL is the program effected. The OpenSSL team has only discovered this vulnerability yesterday.
It is not specific to bitcoin-qt.
Anytime you have bitcoin-qt open you are potentially at risk.
Siegfried
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 09, 2014, 04:48:48 AM
 #77

How do I install this for Linux Mint? On the previous version there was just a bitcoin-qt file which I could click on and run. Now the extracted folder contains several files, none of which are executable. I am stupid and know almost nothing about using the terminal, compiling libraries, etc. Can someone give me a simple explanation please?

Please.
almightyruler
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960
Merit: 1032


View Profile
April 09, 2014, 04:55:53 AM
 #78

How do I install this for Linux Mint? On the previous version there was just a bitcoin-qt file which I could click on and run. Now the extracted folder contains several files, none of which are executable. I am stupid and know almost nothing about using the terminal, compiling libraries, etc. Can someone give me a simple explanation please?

Please.

Almost sounds like you've downloaded a source archive. Are you sure you've downloaded https://bitcoin.org/bin/0.9.1/bitcoin-0.9.1-linux.tar.gz , 36MB in size?

I had a quick look at this archive and the executables appear to be there:

bin/32/bitcoin-qt
bin/64/bitcoin-qt
seriouscoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


View Profile
April 09, 2014, 05:01:52 AM
 #79

Armory offline and online are both safe right?

I'm using Armory 0.8.x
gweedo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246
Merit: 1000


Java, PHP, HTML/CSS Programmer for Hire!


View Profile WWW
April 09, 2014, 05:10:56 AM
 #80

Armory offline and online are both safe right?

I'm using Armory 0.8.x

Yes because it doesn't bitcoind rpcssl.

Want to earn 2500 SATOSHIS per hour? Come Chat and Chill in https://goseemybits.com/lobby
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!