Bitcoin Forum
June 20, 2019, 10:24:40 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin Core (Bitcoin-Qt) 0.9.1 released - update required  (Read 63858 times)
merockstar
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 203
Merit: 100

BTS: merockstar420


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 01:07:27 AM
 #161

Is there a quick guide to install this ?

I have just switched from windows to Ubuntu, Help!

I got 0.9.0 installed via PPA but the PPA is not updated yet ( + I would like to know how to do it without)

I have :-

Downloaded bitcoin-0.9.1-linux.tar.gz

Then tar xvzf bitcoin-0.9.1-linux.tar.gz


This gives me a folder with bin + src but no ./configure. src has but that  fails.

Obviously I just don't get it  Grin


cd bin - change directory to the bin folder you just unzipped
cd 64 (or 32 depending on your processor) - change directory again to one of two directories inside /bitcoin-blahblahblah/bin/
./bitcoin-qt - execute the binary file

you don't need anything in the src directory, because you want to run a pre-compiled binary (kind of the linux equivalent to a windows .exe file). everything in the src directory is for that.

http://www.devtome.com/doku.php?id=making_a_qt_wallet_work_in_ubuntu_12.04
1561069480
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1561069480

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1561069480
Reply with quote  #2

1561069480
Report to moderator
1561069480
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1561069480

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1561069480
Reply with quote  #2

1561069480
Report to moderator
1561069480
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1561069480

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1561069480
Reply with quote  #2

1561069480
Report to moderator
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1561069480
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1561069480

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1561069480
Reply with quote  #2

1561069480
Report to moderator
merockstar
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 203
Merit: 100

BTS: merockstar420


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 01:19:04 AM
 #162

Rawted,

Have you tried running bitcoin-qt with -rescan flag?

right click on bitcoin icon. go to properties, and where it says C:\Windows\Program Files(x86)\Bitcoin\bitcoin-blahblahblah.exe (or whatever yours says) add -rescan, run it, and let the blockchain resync.

then go back and remove the flag because you wont want to resync after everytime you run the client.
southerngentuk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 01:50:17 AM
 #163

cd bin - change directory to the bin folder you just unzipped
cd 64 (or 32 depending on your processor) - change directory again to one of two directories inside /bitcoin-blahblahblah/bin/
./bitcoin-qt - execute the binary file

you don't need anything in the src directory, because you want to run a pre-compiled binary (kind of the linux equivalent to a windows .exe file). everything in the src directory is for that.

http://www.devtome.com/doku.php?id=making_a_qt_wallet_work_in_ubuntu_12.04

Thanks, I had resolved the issue by moving bitcoin-qt to the correct directory however this was really helpful in my understanding.  Grin

Geremia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 467
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
April 10, 2014, 01:59:32 AM
 #164

Why isn't 0.9.1 on SourceForge, and what is its checksum?
You should be verifying the PGP sigs from https://github.com/bitcoin/gitian.sigs
thanks

BTC tip jar | my BTC wiki, BTC StackExchange, & Twister posts pages | Tox ID: 65C3E8810738AD9D175234808FCB317A1103632903436203D45411AE97C03F54C34861AB6663
Join Kraken. | The best, free book on Bitcoin: Mastering Bitcoin
Nos cum prole pia benedicat Virgo Maria.
Dabs
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2366
Merit: 1143



View Profile
April 10, 2014, 05:27:18 AM
 #165

Well, one good side effect of this release is that a lot of people will upgrade. Which means more nodes to relay my 0.00001 transaction fee transaction.

Escrow Service (Services) - GPG ID: 32AD7565, OTC ID: Dabs
All messages concerning escrow or with bitcoin addresses are GPG signed. Please verify.
CompTIA A+, Microsoft Certified Professional, MCSA: Windows 10; Windows Server 2012, MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure; Productivity; Messaging
Corelianer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 309
Merit: 100



View Profile
April 10, 2014, 07:09:44 AM
 #166

I'm not very happy about the information system. A notification integration that there is a new version available would be the least in the Bitcoin Core.
I wouldn't force the users to upgrade their Bitcoin Core, but at least an Integrated Info-System would be highly apreciated.

That I have to go to the Bitcointalk Forum to read about it, is terrible in my eyes.
pastet89
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
April 10, 2014, 07:37:35 AM
 #167

Thanks for info. Is electrum compromised as well?

Cryptostats.es
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2464
Merit: 1016



View Profile
April 10, 2014, 07:42:19 AM
 #168

I'm not very happy about the information system. A notification integration that there is a new version available would be the least in the Bitcoin Core.
I wouldn't force the users to upgrade their Bitcoin Core, but at least an Integrated Info-System would be highly apreciated.

That I have to go to the Bitcointalk Forum to read about it, is terrible in my eyes.
It exists. It just wasn't used for 0.9.1.

Vyker
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 92
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 09:43:37 AM
 #169

Does anyone know if this affects Armory wallets? if so, how do we upgrade safely?

7Priest7
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 09:59:15 AM
Last edit: April 10, 2014, 03:48:52 PM by 7Priest7
 #170

Does anyone know if this affects Armory wallets? if so, how do we upgrade safely?

Probably, Armory uses the bitcoin daemon.
Just upgrade the bitcoin daemon(packaged with bitcoin-qt/core.)

In reality, I've not seen any evidence to prove this vulnerability could effect a average end bitcoin user behind a router.

EDIT:
Modern routers do more than route network traffic.
They block incoming connections.
My understanding of the heartbleed venerability leads me to believe it would require a open port to request the memory dumps.

I felt I should probably elaborate on my above statement.
PrintMule
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 500


One of the world's leading Bitcoin-powered casinos


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 11:14:06 AM
 #171

New like these make me wonder if people should avoid new updates if they are not critical. Like an update to 0.9.0 - I did not read changelog and thought, why bother updating...

wumpus
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 1000

No Maps for These Territories


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 11:15:39 AM
 #172

New like these make me wonder if people should avoid new updates if they are not critical. Like an update to 0.9.0 - I did not read changelog and thought, why bother updating...
It's perfectly reasonable to wait a while after a release, and not jump on every update. This is the reason that automatic updates aren't implemented.

Bitcoin Core developer [PGP] Warning: For most, coin loss is a larger risk than coin theft. A disk can die any time. Regularly back up your wallet through FileBackup Wallet to an external storage or the (encrypted!) cloud. Use a separate offline wallet for storing larger amounts.
huggybear
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73
Merit: 10



View Profile
April 10, 2014, 03:06:39 PM
 #173

Can someone tell me why the bitcoin-qt file isn't executable in linux?
coinflow
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1000


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 03:16:05 PM
 #174

New like these make me wonder if people should avoid new updates if they are not critical. Like an update to 0.9.0 - I did not read changelog and thought, why bother updating...
It's perfectly reasonable to wait a while after a release, and not jump on every update. This is the reason that automatic updates aren't implemented.

That makes only sense, if it is no hardfork. Otherwise you'd be on the wrong fork, missing coins that were send to you from the new fork and vice versa.

Rawted
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500



View Profile
April 10, 2014, 03:36:11 PM
 #175

Still missing those coins. It really is quite perplexing. The dates of the transactions with those coins are all from the june/july 2013 range and up until 0.9.1 were valid confirmed coins, and are now conflicted transactions and missing coins. Does this mean I was passed bad transactions previously and it's only now showing up? If so, how were those coins spendable prior?
/dev/null
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 05:22:58 PM
 #176

Still missing those coins. It really is quite perplexing. The dates of the transactions with those coins are all from the june/july 2013 range and up until 0.9.1 were valid confirmed coins, and are now conflicted transactions and missing coins. Does this mean I was passed bad transactions previously and it's only now showing up? If so, how were those coins spendable prior?

Do one thing, import wallet on blockchain.info then make a new wallet and send coins to your qt wallet. (Make sure to send a test amount first)

Comrade Capitalist
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 06:18:11 PM
 #177

Can someone tell me why the bitcoin-qt file isn't executable in linux?
I use a very simple workaround. I created a shortcut on the desktop and pointed it to the bitcoin-qt file. That's it.
huggybear
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73
Merit: 10



View Profile
April 10, 2014, 11:02:57 PM
 #178

Can someone tell me why the bitcoin-qt file isn't executable in linux?
I use a very simple workaround. I created a shortcut on the desktop and pointed it to the bitcoin-qt file. That's it.

Sorry it's all Greek to me I only use Linux for Bitcoin-QT. Can you explain me step by step how I can bitcoin-qt get running. At version 0.8.6. the bitcoin-qt file was executable but in the new version it is a shared libary. I opened the context menu and tried to open the file with "run application" but nothing happens.
MysteryMiner
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1005


Show middle finger to system and then destroy it!


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 11:04:43 PM
 #179

This is extra bad OpenSSL bug. With Certificate Patrol extension installed on Firefox I see almost every site changing SSL keys. Already changed all my important passwords on websites.

But Bitcoin is not that badly affected. Deep web are changing .onion addresses, people changing TorChat identities. It is chaos there right now and recent attack on Hidden Wiki by some Anonymous moron does not help.

Maybe The Hidden Wiki got it's legendary .onion key leaked because of this OpenSSL vulnerability? This key leaking is exactly what the vulnerability will allow to do. Previously I thought that the hidden wiki's VPS host was broken by password reset.

Do not trust commercial VPN to save You from oppressive government! Get VPN service offered by a real cyber-dissenter https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4426691.0

1PG5HMwN51j8xYHKVFv9h1Tw4Jzc3fWXw3
Comrade Capitalist
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 11, 2014, 05:46:41 AM
 #180

Can someone tell me why the bitcoin-qt file isn't executable in linux?
I use a very simple workaround. I created a shortcut on the desktop and pointed it to the bitcoin-qt file. That's it.

Sorry it's all Greek to me I only use Linux for Bitcoin-QT. Can you explain me step by step how I can bitcoin-qt get running. At version 0.8.6. the bitcoin-qt file was executable but in the new version it is a shared libary. I opened the context menu and tried to open the file with "run application" but nothing happens.

1. Use instructions from this link: http://xmodulo.com/2013/11/create-desktop-shortcut-launcher-linux.html (or google linux+desktop+shortcut)
2. In the “command” field put the correct path to your “bitcoin-qt” file, i.e. “/home/user/bitcoin-0.9.1-linux/bin/64/bitcoin-qt” (without quotes) for example.
3. Uncheck “run in terminal” and check “is executable”, if those checkboxes exist.
4. Use new shortcut (or launcher).
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!