Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 11:45:44 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Simple question about PCIe x16 Extender Cables  (Read 3855 times)
the joint
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile
January 03, 2012, 07:38:32 PM
 #1

I have a motherboard with a single PCIe x16 slot.  If I buy a PCIe x16 extender cable and attach it between my PCIe x1 slot and a 2nd graphics card, can I expect a drop in hash rate with either graphics card?

1480765544
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480765544

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480765544
Reply with quote  #2

1480765544
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480765544
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480765544

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480765544
Reply with quote  #2

1480765544
Report to moderator
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 03, 2012, 07:42:55 PM
 #2

I have a motherboard with a single PCIe x16 slot.  If I buy a PCIe x16 extender cable and attach it between my PCIe x1 slot and a 2nd graphics card, can I expect a drop in hash rate with either graphics card?

No.  Bitcoin mining uses a trivial amount of bandwidth.  You could run multiple GH over an old fashion serial bus and bandwidth still wouldn't be a problem.
the joint
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile
January 03, 2012, 07:45:58 PM
 #3

I have a motherboard with a single PCIe x16 slot.  If I buy a PCIe x16 extender cable and attach it between my PCIe x1 slot and a 2nd graphics card, can I expect a drop in hash rate with either graphics card?

No.  Bitcoin mining uses a trivial amount of bandwidth.  You could run multiple GH over serial interface.

Ok.  Will it be possible to use two different GPUs with this idea?  Like a 6970 and a 5870 (6970 in regular PCIeX16 slot, 5870 attached to the extender cable)?  My idea is that I would like to mine with both cards off the same mobo, but if this is not possible, I would still like the ability to switch between the two GPUs (i.e. 6970 for gaming and music production, 5870 for mining).

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 04, 2012, 12:23:09 AM
 #4

Yes you can mismatch GPU.  The miner doesn't care.  Each GPU works independently anyways.
the joint
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile
January 04, 2012, 12:35:29 AM
 #5

Yes you can mismatch GPU.  The miner doesn't care.  Each GPU works independently anyways.

Amazingly awesome.  Thank you, kind sir.

tonto
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 668


BubblesBit.com


View Profile WWW
January 05, 2012, 06:54:54 PM
 #6

I wasn't aware of extender cables, thanks guys. Smiley
 
Before mining, would any of you guys have bought mis-matched video cards and installed them in your computers?   

.
.......
.......
.......
.......
.......
.......
..........
.....
.....
.....
.....
.....
.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 05, 2012, 07:17:18 PM
 #7

I wasn't aware of extender cables, thanks guys. Smiley
 
Before mining, would any of you guys have bought mis-matched video cards and installed them in your computers?   

No.  Gaming performance is going to suffer w/ unbalanced crossfire or SLI setup.  So other than mining there is no reason.

Now that being said if you have lots of rigs keeping everything the same makes it easier to keep track of settings, hardware, spare parts, etc.
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
January 06, 2012, 03:21:45 AM
 #8

FWIW, you can also use PCI -> PCI-E adapters if you're trying to really crunch a lot of cards in there. I bought this and it works fine for my overclocked 5830 @ 1050 core. http://www.ebay.com/itm/150619756121?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649

rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
January 06, 2012, 03:14:39 PM
 #9

FWIW, you can also use PCI -> PCI-E adapters if you're trying to really crunch a lot of cards in there. I bought this and it works fine for my overclocked 5830 @ 1050 core. http://www.ebay.com/itm/150619756121?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649
3 bucks cheaper at http://www.ebay.com/itm/390371034002! Grin

EDIT: If you are using a powerful card though, you will want to use a powered PCIe extender cable after that - because plain PCI only has 25 watts, not 75.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 890

what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
January 08, 2012, 12:00:03 PM
 #10

Before mining, would any of you guys have bought mis-matched video cards and installed them in your computers?   

yup.

folding @ home, contribute to research for cures to various diseases. best on nvidia hardware (as well as CPU clients). all GPUs run independently, same miners, so mix away.

nvidias physx, gives more physics based eye candy for some games. you add a second, usually less powerful nvidia card (or sometimes 1st nvidia card with an ATI primary, but phsyx doesnt officially play nice with ATI cards) to your rig to let the 1st do rendering only instead of both rendering and physx.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!