Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 08:49:12 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Please Help  (Read 2187 times)
mjr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 183


View Profile
January 04, 2012, 06:26:41 PM
 #1

Before I begin:

I work as a systems engineer, and I have been reading about bitcoins a lot. Therefore, I do not need anyone to tell me that an NVIDIA card is not as good as ATI/AMD. I happen to have an NVIDIA card available, so I'd rather get something out of a piece of hardware I already own, instead of trying to invest in something new.

That out of the way,

I have an NVIDIA Quadro NVS 420...I have installed it on a fresh Windows 7 x64 system. That system is nothing special, just a pentium 4 with hyperthreading (2 simulated cores total) and 3 GB of RAM.

I have tried installing the latest drivers, the developer drivers, CUDA 3.1 AND 4.0 etc. I cannot get GPU CAPS Viewer OR GUIMINER to recognize the card. (GPU CAPS viewer sees the card but doesn't recognize it as a CUDA device).

I just want to know if there is something basic I am missing here.

I can see the card in the device manager, I know it is installed and "working". I just can't get it to be recognized as a CUDA device.

Please Help!
1481100552
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481100552

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481100552
Reply with quote  #2

1481100552
Report to moderator
1481100552
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481100552

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481100552
Reply with quote  #2

1481100552
Report to moderator
1481100552
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481100552

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481100552
Reply with quote  #2

1481100552
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481100552
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481100552

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481100552
Reply with quote  #2

1481100552
Report to moderator
BitEbola
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
January 04, 2012, 06:54:33 PM
 #2

truthfully in looking up the capabilities of that card, (based on the hash performance of a NVS 295 which is only 1.7 MHash/s) the NVS 420 has similar build but with twice the CUDA cores so im guestimating a 200% the hash rate which is 4 for round numbers...  that would roughly net you slightly less than 2 cents per day, and the 40w power to run the card alone costs 11 cents a day (at 0.10/KW) it is a paperweight mining wise.

now this is all conjecture based on quite a few assumtions on my part but i think anyway you hash it this card will cost more than it makes unless you get free lectricity, and can wait a month per cup of coffee.  hope I helped Smiley

NVS card specs
Mining Hardware Capability
My calculator spreadsheet
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
January 04, 2012, 07:11:14 PM
 #3

Can you post a printscreen of GPU-z?
Also, Im not sure if GUIminer uses CUDA; most miners use OpenCL, but that ought to be part of the nvidia drivers (I think?). As a quick test, try the miner in my signature (its java webbased), see if that works.

That said; agreed with the above poster that its probably just a wasted effort; if you like to get some bitcoins without paying for them, you might be better off mining lightcoins and trading them for bitcoins, even if a Pentium 4 isnt going to make you litecoin-rich either.

mjr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 183


View Profile
January 04, 2012, 09:57:59 PM
 #4

Thanks a lot for the quick reply. Really appreciate it guys.

Yes, electricity is "free", so I am not worried about any net gain. Mostly PoC, but did not realize it was that horrible.

Maybe I forgot to mention, I do not plan on mining in a pool...I was planning on getting a few cards to just chug away, and hopefully stumble on a block a month or so...

I will try the web based one, and I will post some screen shots soon.


P.S. In MY computer, I have two video cards, both ATI...HD2400 and HD3400...are those any better?
mjr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 183


View Profile
January 04, 2012, 10:30:34 PM
 #5

Also gonna put a couple of FPGA's to work (hopefully)...
nmat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


View Profile
January 04, 2012, 10:40:53 PM
 #6

P.S. In MY computer, I have two video cards, both ATI...HD2400 and HD3400...are those any better?

No because they don't support OpenCL
mcorlett
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 308



View Profile
January 04, 2012, 10:50:48 PM
 #7

hopefully stumble on a block a month or so...
With that card, you're looking at at least a couple of years before you solve a block. Just over 40, to be exact.

mjr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 183


View Profile
January 04, 2012, 10:51:41 PM
 #8

thanks nmat...

i believe the nvidia quadro nvs 420 does support Open CL, but how do you set that up? i have the latest drivers (276.14, 276.42, and devdriver 270.81)

still nothing...
mjr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 183


View Profile
January 04, 2012, 10:52:56 PM
 #9

yikes, did not realize it was that long...thanks, i really am liking bitminter though, i am very interested in getting some namecoins too. Would love to get a decent domain name on .bit
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
January 04, 2012, 10:56:15 PM
 #10

OpenCL is part of the nvidia drivers:
http://developer.nvidia.com/opencl

If you installed the drivers, you should have the software. Just keep in mind most mining software isnt made with nvidia in mind, because if the enormous performance difference.

As for the namecoins. I can send you some if you like. They are virtually worthless anyway.

mjr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 183


View Profile
January 04, 2012, 10:58:50 PM
 #11

lol, why are they worthless?

isn't there only use to register domain names on the dot-bit domain? was not aware of any other value.

ALSO, can anyone explain the other coins? the "silver" to bitcoins "gold"? lightcoins...right?

also, do you need a separate wallet for namecoins? I am definitely a noob in the bitcoin world...thanks guys
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
January 04, 2012, 11:05:12 PM
 #12

lol, why are they worthless?

isn't there only use to register domain names on the dot-bit domain? was not aware of any other value.

They are traded, so you can buy them if you need them. But they are very very cheap. Current 0.00767 bitcoin per namecoin:

https://btc-e.com/exchange/nmc_btc

Quote
ALSO, can anyone explain the other coins? the "silver" to bitcoins "gold"? lightcoins...right?

Litecoin is one of many alternate chains. Its like a clone of bitcoin, works pretty much the same way, except the hashing algorithm they use is not suited for videocards. It only really works on CPUs. Litecoins, as most alternate chains, are also cheap, but difficulty is also relatively low making it somewhat worthwile to mine, and then trade for bitcoins.

Quote
also, do you need a separate wallet for namecoins? I am definitely a noob in the bitcoin world...thanks guys


I think so. Ive never bothered to set it up. I set the payout adress for namecoins to the deposit address of the exchange I use, so they are sent straight from the pool to the exchange, and I trade them there for bitcoi...cents.


mjr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 183


View Profile
January 04, 2012, 11:40:53 PM
 #13

thanks so much p4man and everyone else. I was hoping to use hardware i had laying around, hopefully the FPGA is better for the bitcoins, but think i will try litecoins, and then trade up. I definitely have more cpu's than i do gpu's lol.

Sucks that the NVIDIA card is basically worthless, it is pretty pricey online, and i figured if it could push 4 monitors at 2560x1600 (16,384,000 pixels) then it should be able to do pretty well at parallel processing. I will keep you posted about the FPGA and my progress there...
mjr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 183


View Profile
January 04, 2012, 11:42:14 PM
 #14

might just use that nvidia for skyrim instead lol, but it might not be good enough for that either?
bombartier357
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 146


View Profile WWW
January 05, 2012, 12:27:58 AM
 #15

How do I get btc?
nmat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


View Profile
January 05, 2012, 12:57:15 AM
 #16

How do I get btc?

You buy them at an exchange such as TradeHill or CampBX.
RandyFolds
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434



View Profile
January 05, 2012, 01:03:48 AM
 #17

How do I get btc?

You buy them at an exchange such as TradeHill or CampBX.

Good job not pointing newbies to gox. Fuck that place.

▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
▓▓ ONEDICE.ME ▓▓▓▓▓ BEST DICE EXPERIENCE ▓▓▓▓ PLAY OR INVEST ▓▓▓▓▓▓
▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓
nmat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


View Profile
January 05, 2012, 01:06:10 AM
 #18

Good job not pointing newbies to gox. Fuck that place.

I personally never had any problems with MtGox, but I think that it is important to have alternatives.
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
January 05, 2012, 01:09:14 AM
 #19

Can you post a printscreen of GPU-z?
Also, Im not sure if GUIminer uses CUDA; most miners use OpenCL, but that ought to be part of the nvidia drivers (I think?). As a quick test, try the miner in my signature (its java webbased), see if that works.

That said; agreed with the above poster that its probably just a wasted effort; if you like to get some bitcoins without paying for them, you might be better off mining lightcoins and trading them for bitcoins, even if a Pentium 4 isnt going to make you litecoin-rich either.
GUIminer has CUDA support

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
mjr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 183


View Profile
January 05, 2012, 02:53:11 PM
 #20

yes, guiminer does have cuda support, but for some reason, i cannot get the drivers to work so that it can find the device...that was my original problem, but it probably isn't worth the time to fix the problem.

I think the FPGA i am working on MIGHT get 375 MH/s...so it's a start at least...
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!