Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 01:41:47 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Help cannot initialize bitcoin gui  (Read 1253 times)
bitcoinnoob101
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
January 04, 2012, 07:27:08 PM
 #1

I have downloaded and extracted bitcoin but when i run bitcoin-qt the bitcoin wallet symbol comes up but nothing happens i have tried turning ff windows user account notifications run it in windows xp service pack 2 compatibility mode  the system i am running is windows 7 64 bit but when i hover over the bitcoin wallet symbol all that happens is my mouse turns into that symbol that indicates its working or unresponsive some help from someone who knows what this is would be appreciated.

Update: i have used the windows.exe and the installation worked but it is still failing to initialize any ideas?

Update screenshots
http://i41.tinypic.com/35asjua.jpg

http://i44.tinypic.com/x0nryu.jpg

http://i43.tinypic.com/nbyejt.jpg

http://i44.tinypic.com/2urmu7a.jpg

it isint shown here but when i put my mouse over it i get the windows busy cursor
http://i41.tinypic.com/343hjj6.gif
1480772507
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772507

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772507
Reply with quote  #2

1480772507
Report to moderator
1480772507
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772507

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772507
Reply with quote  #2

1480772507
Report to moderator
Make sure you back up your wallet regularly! With Bitcoin-Qt, it needs to be backed up at least as often as every 100 transactions (both sends and receipts) or new addresses.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480772507
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772507

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772507
Reply with quote  #2

1480772507
Report to moderator
1480772507
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772507

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772507
Reply with quote  #2

1480772507
Report to moderator
1480772507
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772507

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772507
Reply with quote  #2

1480772507
Report to moderator
senbonzakura
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


View Profile
January 04, 2012, 07:59:01 PM
 #2

maybe its downloading the block chain ?

you have to wait till it finishes downloading.

you can also use Instawallet www.instawallet.org online free wallet
bitcoinnoob101
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
January 04, 2012, 08:05:59 PM
 #3

hmm it says not responding but it could be that it is working ill try letting it run uninterrupted for a while to see if that works.
tiker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 459



View Profile WWW
January 04, 2012, 09:01:45 PM
 #4

Ya, let it run.. I've seen it take like 5 minutes before it does anything on one of my systems.
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
January 04, 2012, 11:13:09 PM
 #5

its very IO intensive on startup. If you have a slow harddisk it will take like forever. And after that, it will take countless forevers before it downloaded and indexed the blockchain. Think several days intially. If you cant wait that long, grab a lite wallet like this one:
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Electrum

bitcoinnoob101
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
January 04, 2012, 11:19:13 PM
 #6

oh okay if it usually takes days i don't mind i just needed to know if it was normal thanks for clarifying that.
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
January 04, 2012, 11:24:28 PM
 #7

It doesnt take days for the GUI to come up, but it may take that long to get the blockchain up to date. The gui should be there within a few minutes at most I imagine. Try running task manager > resource manager and have a look at disk IO. If its busy, just wait.

bitcoinnoob101
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
January 05, 2012, 12:07:30 AM
 #8

My disk i/o is averaging 40 mb/s
http://i42.tinypic.com/1z14lsk.jpg
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!