Bitcoin Forum
June 25, 2018, 08:33:41 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Does the bitcoin client auto upgrade?  (Read 1860 times)
ffe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 305
Merit: 250



View Profile
April 10, 2011, 04:22:46 PM
 #1

from another thread:
0.3.20.1 -maxsendbuffer was too small for the initial block download-- you were probably just unlucky and connected to a 0.3.20.1 node.   Connect to somebody running either 0.3.20.2 or an earlier release and you won't run into that problem (does bitcoinj re-connect if disconnected during block download?)

I'm running 0.3.20.1 beta. How do I upgrade (and keep my wallet and settings).
I could just try re-installing but I'm being cautious due to coins in my wallet.
1529915621
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529915621

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529915621
Reply with quote  #2

1529915621
Report to moderator
1529915621
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529915621

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529915621
Reply with quote  #2

1529915621
Report to moderator
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
LMGTFY
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 500



View Profile
April 10, 2011, 04:36:46 PM
 #2

from another thread:
0.3.20.1 -maxsendbuffer was too small for the initial block download-- you were probably just unlucky and connected to a 0.3.20.1 node.   Connect to somebody running either 0.3.20.2 or an earlier release and you won't run into that problem (does bitcoinj re-connect if disconnected during block download?)

I'm running 0.3.20.1 beta. How do I upgrade (and keep my wallet and settings).
I could just try re-installing but I'm being cautious due to coins in my wallet.
I'm not sure about the (Windows?) installer, as I simply unzip and go (Linux). However, as far as I understand it the application and the wallet are only connected in as much as the application assumes the wallet will be a given location (unless you tell it otherwise). So if you install a new version of the client it should just work fine with the existing wallet.

Best bet, obviously, would be to back up your wallet before installing, and if anything goes wrong roll back to the previous version of the client and restore the wallet from your backup.

This space intentionally left blank.
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 3066
Merit: 3205


View Profile
April 10, 2011, 04:40:51 PM
 #3

You need to reinstall. wallet.dat won't be touched, and the data format didn't change between those versions.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
LZ
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1015


P2P Cryptocurrency


View Profile
April 10, 2011, 11:17:12 PM
 #4

The auto update function is not implemented because it may be insecure.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!