Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2017, 01:46:08 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Does the bitcoin client auto upgrade?  (Read 1849 times)
ffe
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 305



View Profile
April 10, 2011, 04:22:46 PM
 #1

from another thread:
0.3.20.1 -maxsendbuffer was too small for the initial block download-- you were probably just unlucky and connected to a 0.3.20.1 node.   Connect to somebody running either 0.3.20.2 or an earlier release and you won't run into that problem (does bitcoinj re-connect if disconnected during block download?)

I'm running 0.3.20.1 beta. How do I upgrade (and keep my wallet and settings).
I could just try re-installing but I'm being cautious due to coins in my wallet.
1511055968
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511055968

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511055968
Reply with quote  #2

1511055968
Report to moderator
1511055968
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511055968

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511055968
Reply with quote  #2

1511055968
Report to moderator
A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511055968
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511055968

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511055968
Reply with quote  #2

1511055968
Report to moderator
LMGTFY
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644



View Profile
April 10, 2011, 04:36:46 PM
 #2

from another thread:
0.3.20.1 -maxsendbuffer was too small for the initial block download-- you were probably just unlucky and connected to a 0.3.20.1 node.   Connect to somebody running either 0.3.20.2 or an earlier release and you won't run into that problem (does bitcoinj re-connect if disconnected during block download?)

I'm running 0.3.20.1 beta. How do I upgrade (and keep my wallet and settings).
I could just try re-installing but I'm being cautious due to coins in my wallet.
I'm not sure about the (Windows?) installer, as I simply unzip and go (Linux). However, as far as I understand it the application and the wallet are only connected in as much as the application assumes the wallet will be a given location (unless you tell it otherwise). So if you install a new version of the client it should just work fine with the existing wallet.

Best bet, obviously, would be to back up your wallet before installing, and if anything goes wrong roll back to the previous version of the client and restore the wallet from your backup.

This space intentionally left blank.
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842


View Profile
April 10, 2011, 04:40:51 PM
 #3

You need to reinstall. wallet.dat won't be touched, and the data format didn't change between those versions.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
LZ
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652


P2P Cryptocurrency


View Profile
April 10, 2011, 11:17:12 PM
 #4

The auto update function is not implemented because it may be insecure.

Почему мои сатоши не выводятся?  Планету я купила

 

My OpenPGP fingerprint: 5099EB8C0F2E68C63B4ECBB9A9D0993E04143362
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!