Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 12:53:29 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Which drivers and opencl ver are now best for mining?  (Read 11861 times)
malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile
January 05, 2012, 11:10:19 PM
 #1

Hi,

I haven't updated my drivers since may - I have ATi 11.5 drivers and v2.3 ATi Stream SDK, there's the CPU bug and I need to use dummy plugs because I run my miners on Win7_64 Pro.

From which driver version there's no more need for dummy plugs?

Which versions don't have the CPU bug?

Which version is the fastest and most stable (=what also matters is not necessarily the total hashing power but the number of shares - sometimes O/C (even if the GPU doesn't hang or render stales) may even decrease the number of submitted shares despite the increase of total hashing power)?

1481115209
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481115209

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481115209
Reply with quote  #2

1481115209
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481115209
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481115209

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481115209
Reply with quote  #2

1481115209
Report to moderator
1481115209
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481115209

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481115209
Reply with quote  #2

1481115209
Report to moderator
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
January 07, 2012, 12:56:01 AM
 #2

Get the latest ATI driver.  It doesn't have the CPU spinlock bug with multiple GPUs.  The new Stream SDK is slower with some cards though.  After installing the driver, revert back to the 2.5 SDK (or manually copy the DLLs to System32/SysWOW64 as described in this thread)

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=54693.msg651989#msg651989

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527



View Profile
January 26, 2012, 05:24:42 AM
 #3

Get the latest ATI driver.  It doesn't have the CPU spinlock bug with multiple GPUs.
Bullshit.

sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
January 26, 2012, 01:10:29 PM
 #4

Get the latest ATI driver.  It doesn't have the CPU spinlock bug with multiple GPUs.
Bullshit.

Ah.  I'm only running 43 Ghash worth of cards.  What would I know?

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
January 26, 2012, 01:15:03 PM
 #5

What about Linux ?

Has the CPU bug been fixed on 11.6 running multiple GPUs ?
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
January 26, 2012, 01:57:03 PM
 #6

Get the latest ATI driver.  It doesn't have the CPU spinlock bug with multiple GPUs.
Bullshit.

Ah.  I'm only running 43 Ghash worth of cards.  What would I know?

Depends on what OS you're running as well as SDK. Need more information. Many of us, including myself, have yet to find a sdk + driver + miner combo that doesn't cpu bug on windows under a multi-gpu config.

sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
January 26, 2012, 02:44:13 PM
 #7

Depends on what OS you're running as well as SDK. Need more information. Many of us, including myself, have yet to find a sdk + driver + miner combo that doesn't cpu bug on windows under a multi-gpu config.
The OP specified his/her(lol) operating system and I responded appropriately.  11.12 with APP SDK 2.5 is the "golden combo" right now under Win7_64 unless it is a dedicated rig with 5000 or 7000 series cards.

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
January 26, 2012, 02:54:50 PM
 #8

Depends on what OS you're running as well as SDK. Need more information. Many of us, including myself, have yet to find a sdk + driver + miner combo that doesn't cpu bug on windows under a multi-gpu config.
The OP specified his/her(lol) operating system and I responded appropriately.  11.12 with APP SDK 2.5 is the "golden combo" right now under Win7_64 unless it is a dedicated rig with 5000 or 7000 series cards.

I wasn't refering to OP. I was refering to the guy with 43 ghash.
Also, I just "upgraded" to the golden combo you mentioned, still cpu bugs, 4 5xxx gpu's, 11.12, app sdk 2.5 (OpenCL 1.1 AMD-APP-SDK-v2.5 (793.1) FULL_PROFILE in GPU caps viewer), win7 x64, phoenix 1.7.4, phatk2 2.2, VECTORS, AGGRESSION=14 (or 12 for sdk 2.1). was using exact same setup except was using 11.11. in any case, yeah, still cpu bug

nased0
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
January 26, 2012, 05:13:01 PM
 #9

If you have installed 11.12 (or 12.1 driver), start its setup (i.e. c:\ATI\Support\11-12_vista64_win7_64_dd_ccc_ocl\setup.exe )
Then uninstall Ati Stream (AMD APP SDK) only and install:
for 64-bit Vista/Windows 7:  http://www2.ati.com/drivers/11-2_vista_win7_64_ocl.exe
for 32-bit Vista/Windows 7:  http://www2.ati.com/drivers/11-2_vista_win7_32_ocl.exe
for 64-bit XP: http://www2.ati.com/drivers/11-2_xp64_ocl.exe
for 32-bit XP: http://www2.ati.com/drivers/11-2_xp32_ocl.exe

You will have previous mining performance and no 100% CPU Bug!

If my posts are helpful, please send me something to 1AAj2HTautkcbVdHwwQu4rYWRFSUm4pAT7 . Thanks!
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
January 27, 2012, 02:41:01 AM
 #10

If you have installed 11.12 (or 12.1 driver), start its setup (i.e. c:\ATI\Support\11-12_vista64_win7_64_dd_ccc_ocl\setup.exe )
Then uninstall Ati Stream (AMD APP SDK) only and install:
for 64-bit Vista/Windows 7:  http://www2.ati.com/drivers/11-2_vista_win7_64_ocl.exe
for 32-bit Vista/Windows 7:  http://www2.ati.com/drivers/11-2_vista_win7_32_ocl.exe
for 64-bit XP: http://www2.ati.com/drivers/11-2_xp64_ocl.exe
for 32-bit XP: http://www2.ati.com/drivers/11-2_xp32_ocl.exe

You will have previous mining performance and no 100% CPU Bug!

Dunno what version stream that is (11.2 doesnt tell me anything, need 2.1, 2.4, or 2.5). But in related news, while 11.12 + 2.5 for me wasn't the "golden combo", I did go ahead and try 11.12 + 2.1, and lo and behold no cpu bug with 4 x 5xxx cards as well as 99% gpu activity.

Before       ||||||        After
463.0 (1000core/5870) 462.7
463.4 (1000core/5870) 462.7
324.5 (1000core/5830) 324.8
330.9 (1025core/5830) 332.9
2.5 sdk                    2.1 sdk
1581.4 mhash | 1583.1 mhash

Had to reboot after testing to install a replacement fan, so values differ slightly in picture.

All GPU's @ 330 memory running Phoenix 1.7.4 with GUIMiner frontend, phatk 2.2 kernel with arguments VECTORS AGGRESSION=12 (BFI_INT and WORKSIZE=256 are applied automatically) with 11.12 drivers and 2.5 + 2.1 SDK (but I specify the miners to only use 2.1 SDK) under Windows 7 x64 Ultimate. Also managed to force my athlon II X2 250 (3.0GHz) to always run at 800MHz with something like 0.950v (or 1.050v, not sure which it defaults to) by going to Control Panel -> Power Options -> Change Plan Settings -> Change Advanced Power Settings -> Minimum and Maximum Processor State -> 5%.

nased0
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
January 27, 2012, 02:05:44 PM
 #11

I've inspected c:\ATI\Support\11-2_vista_win7_64_ocl\ATIStreamSDK_dev.msi file with MSI Viewer and it looks like SDK v. 2.3

http://img714.imageshack.us/img714/3223/atistreamsdk.gif

If my posts are helpful, please send me something to 1AAj2HTautkcbVdHwwQu4rYWRFSUm4pAT7 . Thanks!
BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527



View Profile
January 28, 2012, 05:57:07 AM
 #12

If you have installed 11.12 (or 12.1 driver), start its setup (i.e. c:\ATI\Support\11-12_vista64_win7_64_dd_ccc_ocl\setup.exe )
Then uninstall Ati Stream (AMD APP SDK) only and install:
for 64-bit Vista/Windows 7:  http://www2.ati.com/drivers/11-2_vista_win7_64_ocl.exe
for 32-bit Vista/Windows 7:  http://www2.ati.com/drivers/11-2_vista_win7_32_ocl.exe
for 64-bit XP: http://www2.ati.com/drivers/11-2_xp64_ocl.exe
for 32-bit XP: http://www2.ati.com/drivers/11-2_xp32_ocl.exe

You will have previous mining performance and no 100% CPU Bug!
What OS do you use?

nased0
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
January 28, 2012, 06:13:24 AM
 #13

Windows 7 64-bit.

If my posts are helpful, please send me something to 1AAj2HTautkcbVdHwwQu4rYWRFSUm4pAT7 . Thanks!
BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527



View Profile
January 28, 2012, 06:17:08 AM
 #14

Windows 7 64-bit.
And multi-gpu setup?

nased0
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
January 28, 2012, 07:26:06 AM
 #15

http://img841.imageshack.us/img841/5366/p1320345i.jpg

3 x 5830, C2D E6600

If my posts are helpful, please send me something to 1AAj2HTautkcbVdHwwQu4rYWRFSUm4pAT7 . Thanks!
BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527



View Profile
January 28, 2012, 08:02:10 AM
 #16

 Ok, tried 11.12/2.3 and infamous bug is still there. No idea wtf is wrong with this shitty Win7, I have no bug with XP (32 or 64 bit) and proper drivers. But with any driver/sdk combination I'm trying on Win7x64 I still have it. This os is cursed.

sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
January 28, 2012, 08:44:04 AM
 #17

The CPU bug isn't in the driver -- it's in the APP SDK.  Try 2.5...

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527



View Profile
January 28, 2012, 08:53:54 AM
 #18

The CPU bug isn't in the driver -- it's in the APP SDK.  Try 2.5...
Tried already.

nased0
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
January 28, 2012, 08:59:46 AM
 #19

Uninstall all ATI drivers and use Driver Sweeper in safe mode to clean the remains of your previous tests, which may prevent correct installation from MSI file (i.e. newer versions of OpenCL drivers).
You can also search for these files manually in Windows directory.

Then install 11.12 without SDK, and then SDK  11.2. For me it works fine on two PCs.

And what miner do you use?
I use Phoenix Miner with phatk kernel with .bat script like this (copy this command in script n times, where n is number of cards):
Quote
start /AFFINITY [1,2,4,8...] /ABOVENORMAL phoenix -u http://USER:PASS@URL:PORT -k phatk BFI_INT FASTLOOP=false VECTORS AGGRESSION=8 WORKSIZE=256 DEVICE=[0,1,2,3...] PLATFORM=0

If my posts are helpful, please send me something to 1AAj2HTautkcbVdHwwQu4rYWRFSUm4pAT7 . Thanks!
BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527



View Profile
January 28, 2012, 09:37:08 AM
 #20

Uninstall all ATI drivers and use Driver Sweeper in safe mode to clean the remains of your previous tests, which may prevent correct installation from MSI file (i.e. newer versions of OpenCL drivers).
You can also search for these files manually in Windows directory.

Then install 11.12 without SDK, and then SDK  11.2. For me it works fine on two PCs.

And what miner do you use?
I use Phoenix Miner with phatk kernel with .bat script like this (copy this command in script n times, where n is number of cards):
Quote
start /AFFINITY [1,2,4,8...] /ABOVENORMAL phoenix -u http://USER:PASS@URL:PORT -k phatk BFI_INT FASTLOOP=false VECTORS AGGRESSION=8 WORKSIZE=256 DEVICE=[0,1,2,3...] PLATFORM=0
Dude! Thanks alot! Problem was in AGGRESSION=12! Changed it to 8 and bug disappeared! But I'm getting lower mhash/s now and gpu load is 98% at max. So it seems that bug triggers when gpu usage hits 100%, with AGGRESSION=9 and higher. So it looks like it's just a workaround, not a real fix for the issue.

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!