Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 12:43:06 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Help with a 5970 under Linux  (Read 1047 times)
martok
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
April 11, 2011, 07:29:43 PM
 #1

Hi all,
I have an MSI 870 mainboard with a 5970 installed. poclbm -d1 does the right thing but -d2 either gives verify  error: check hardware or it'll hash but only at 170 mhash and cuts -d1 in half as well. So it's almost like it's using the same GPU for both processes.
I have tried
aticonfig --crossfire off --adapter all
with and without restarting X. Though --lscs still lists crossfire as enabled after an X restart.

Anyone using the MSI 870 and have this working. Happy to send BTC for a solution.
1481114586
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481114586

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481114586
Reply with quote  #2

1481114586
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481114586
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481114586

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481114586
Reply with quote  #2

1481114586
Report to moderator
1481114586
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481114586

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481114586
Reply with quote  #2

1481114586
Report to moderator
1481114586
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481114586

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481114586
Reply with quote  #2

1481114586
Report to moderator
teknohog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 412


minor developer


View Profile WWW
April 11, 2011, 07:37:36 PM
 #2

it'll hash but only at 170 mhash and cuts -d1 in half as well. So it's almost like it's using the same GPU for both processes.

This part sounds like the problem many users have had with multiple GPUs. The solution is to use SDK version 2.1 instead of newer ones. There may be other problems in your case, but try this one first.

martok
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
April 11, 2011, 08:35:54 PM
 #3

Hi,
Sorry, forgot to mention that I am using SDK version 2.1.
Raulo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
April 11, 2011, 08:46:52 PM
 #4

Did you create your xorg.conf with?
Code:
aticonfig --initial -f --adapter=all

You should have this (or similar) in your xorg.conf
Code:
Section "Device"
        Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[0]-0"
        Driver      "fglrx"
        BusID       "PCI:3:0:0"
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier  "aticonfig-Device[1]-0"
        Driver      "fglrx"
        BusID       "PCI:4:0:0"
EndSection

Read this guide and check if you did something differently:
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3359.msg47174#msg47174

1HAoJag4C3XtAmQJAhE9FTAAJWFcrvpdLM
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!