Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 02:05:01 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Wanted: Someone to setup bitcoin CPU & GPU mining on Amazon EC2  (Read 3430 times)
airforcematt
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
January 11, 2012, 05:04:16 PM
 #1

Looking to hire someone to setup an Amazon EC2 instance to do mining on both it's CPU's and GPU's

Specs as follows
Quote
Cluster GPU Quadruple Extra Large
33.5 EC2 Compute Units (2 x Intel Xeon X5570, quad-core “Nehalem” architecture)
22 GB of memory
2 x NVIDIA Tesla "Fermi" M2050 GPUs
1690 GB of instance storage
64-bit platform
I/O Performance: Very High (10 Gigabit Ethernet. Full-bisection bandwidth with Placement Groups)
API name: cg1.4xlarge

Yes, I know it's not cost effective. That is not an issue to me.
Yes, I know NVIDIA sucks for mining.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=8405.0 has a walkthrough on how to set this up but I appear to screw something different up each time I try and install it.

I currently don't have any bitcoins to offer on this project (I know, I know...) but can either pay someone paypal to set this up or escrow funds through my account on freelancer.com - Job posting at http://www.freelancer.com/projects/PHP-Javascript/Setup-bitcoin-mining-linux-server.html if you prefer to contact me there.

PM me or post here with what you would charge for this service - thanks!

 *Link Removed*
1481162701
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481162701

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481162701
Reply with quote  #2

1481162701
Report to moderator
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. EWallets are like banks -- a central organization has complete control over your money. You shouldn't put much money in EWallets.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481162701
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481162701

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481162701
Reply with quote  #2

1481162701
Report to moderator
1481162701
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481162701

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481162701
Reply with quote  #2

1481162701
Report to moderator
1481162701
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481162701

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481162701
Reply with quote  #2

1481162701
Report to moderator
shakaru
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile WWW
January 11, 2012, 05:26:17 PM
 #2

Last time I checked, this would have been close to $5/hr for thoese specs. I mean more than not worth it. Whats the rental rate for this right now?

shakaru
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile WWW
January 11, 2012, 05:32:03 PM
 #3



Not sure what you are wanting to mine but coinotron rates SLC as much higher profitability when using NVidia cards.  Even if you are just out for BTC that might make your whole system all the more profitable for the time being.
[/quote]

................WHAT?!

Your refering to using the power for other rentaled uses, or are you saying Nvidia cards mine more effeciently?

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 11, 2012, 06:04:54 PM
 #4

Use the (code) (/code) tags.
film2240
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


Professional filmmaker/Freelance videographer


View Profile WWW
January 11, 2012, 06:29:49 PM
 #5

I'd be curious to know what the MHash/s will be on that setup (assuming that all CPUs and GPU are used simultaneously to eek out performance)?

[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
[This signature is available for rent]
shakaru
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile WWW
January 11, 2012, 08:49:49 PM
 #6

I did calcs like this a while back and I came to see that it was $2.10/140mhs/1hr and a full day was 50usd.
Your setup is two M2050 teslas. Each of them do 78mhs. So the two its 160mhs.

Now your setup says you have 33.5 compute units. Now while i dont belive this is the case, I would even imagine that this means you have 33.5(2xM2050 Tesla)=5.2ghs
So roughly 4 btc? more like 3.4.

i think I have to be missing something here.

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 11, 2012, 08:52:55 PM
 #7

Iow your setup says you have 33.5 compute units. Now while i dont belive this is the case, I would even imagine that this means you have 33.5(2xM2050 Tesla)=5.2ghs
So roughly 4 btc? more like 3.4.

Nope it is far far far far less.  33 CU isn't even a tenth of a BTC per day.

Compute units refer to abstracted and virtualized CPU assets (not GPU).  
1 CU ~= single core 2007 era 1 Ghz CPU

http://aws.amazon.com/ec2/faqs/#What_is_an_EC2_Compute_Unit_and_why_did_you_introduce_it
shakaru
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile WWW
January 11, 2012, 09:01:24 PM
 #8

Yeah, I even just went an looked at the pricing and ther is no way to do anything but bankrupt ones self. You can get around .50 an hour per instance with that package you want with a 3 year plan at 10k per instance. but thats as cheap as it goes. and even then, its not like your even generating more that .50 an hour, or close to it.

cronian
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
January 25, 2012, 02:33:11 AM
 #9

Would it be possible with ec2 spot instance? See http://aws.amazon.com/ec2/spot-instances/. How cheap would it have to go for it to be worth it?
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 27, 2012, 09:59:53 AM
 #10

Would it be possible with ec2 spot instance? See http://aws.amazon.com/ec2/spot-instances/. How cheap would it have to go for it to be worth it?

170MH/s at curent price & difficulty is worth ~ 2.8 cents per hour.
So if the instance was priced at 2.8 cents per hour (1/20th of current price) it still would be break even.
If priced at 1 cent per hour (1/60th of current price) it would be worth an amazing $0.40 per day.

Simple answer is no.  Maybe if either a) Amazon offered an AMD GPU instance or b) NVidia released a GPU that didn't have craptastic integer performance.
Valalvax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 439


View Profile
January 27, 2012, 01:15:14 PM
 #11

Course, the guy didn't ask for a cost effective solution, he asked to mine on Amazon EC2, if I knew how to do it, I'd pocket his cash in a heartbeat... how long could it take? 20 minutes?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!