Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 08:35:03 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to save settings in cgminer ?  (Read 9474 times)
luo demin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33



View Profile
January 11, 2012, 11:44:28 PM
 #1

Ive have been though all the cgminer threads and searched but I can't find what I am looking for. Every time I reopen cgminer I have to renter the pool adress and my login info is there a way to save this ?
1481013303
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481013303

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481013303
Reply with quote  #2

1481013303
Report to moderator
1481013303
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481013303

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481013303
Reply with quote  #2

1481013303
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481013303
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481013303

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481013303
Reply with quote  #2

1481013303
Report to moderator
1481013303
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481013303

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481013303
Reply with quote  #2

1481013303
Report to moderator
1481013303
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481013303

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481013303
Reply with quote  #2

1481013303
Report to moderator
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
January 12, 2012, 12:06:47 AM
 #2

cgminer -c cgminer.conf

There is a whole cgminer thread here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.0
The information you seek is right there, on the FIRST page.

Is there any excuse for your not having made acquaintances with the README file? It contains some very useful tidbits of information and is packaged with cgminer.
After you have familiarized yourself with it, proceed to examples.conf which contains example configuration.
Edit it to suit your needs, save under a different filename, load using the -c parameter when invoking cgminer.

Beware of typos in the config file. Cgminer will just terminate if it cannot parse it.
I'm aware that JSON is a total pain to edit by hand but you'll be doing that just once.

Alternatively, you can press S (as in settings) in the main screen of your configured cgminer, then W (as in write config file), enter a filename and there's your configuration.
luo demin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33



View Profile
January 12, 2012, 01:01:30 AM
 #3

Thank you I had read threw the readme file and must have looked over it I have been using it for months and just been entering everthing over and over again.
   
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
January 12, 2012, 01:07:32 AM
 #4

...I have been using it for months and just been entering everthing over and over again.

That sounds like exceedingly heavy penance. Absolution is granted.  Smiley
luo demin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33



View Profile
January 12, 2012, 01:20:50 AM
 #5

Ok I have my config file saved and I see it in the cgminer folder. How do I implement the config file into the miner so every time it starts up it uses that file?
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
January 12, 2012, 01:28:08 AM
 #6

Ok I have my config file saved and I see it in the cgminer folder. How do I implement the config file into the miner so every time it starts up it uses that file?

Provided you saved the configuration as my_config.conf, instead of typing "cgminer" to start up the miner try "cgminer -c my_config.conf"
Absolute file path might be required.
luo demin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33



View Profile
January 12, 2012, 01:31:51 AM
 #7

Yes windows thanks for dragging a newbie trough this I appreciate it I will send you a little btc for all your troubble once I get it done.

jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
January 12, 2012, 01:43:59 AM
 #8

Yes windows thanks for dragging a newbie trough this I appreciate it I will send you a little btc for all your troubble once I get it done.

No problem. While cgminer can be a pain to configure, once properly set up it's irreplaceable taking care of your mining, overclocking, and cooling.
Just make sure to set clocks, voltages and temperature ranges to the correct cards and be extra careful if you ever move the cards between slots.

I remember I had to manually set voltages, because - quite counter-intuitively - the default value of 0.000 didn't result in default voltage being applied to each card.
That was a long time ago though and Con might have fixed it by now.
luo demin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33



View Profile
January 12, 2012, 01:50:29 AM
 #9




Ok here is where I am stuck this is the conf file I made. I can't manage to us the conf file though even trying to boot cgminer with the command line " cgminer -c dom.conf "

It was definitely worth switching to cgminer over guiminer it just has a little learning curve.
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
January 12, 2012, 01:55:03 AM
 #10

If the configuration file is named exactly cgminer.conf, it will be loaded automatically (just found this out myself recently), no need for a -c switch.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
January 12, 2012, 02:00:47 AM
 #11

Does cgminer tell you anything on quitting?  Does it grumble about some JSON error or other?

Try either:
   (1) giving cgminer full path to the config file "cgminer -c c:\users\Your_username_here\Desktop\cgminer_directory_name_here\dom.conf"
Or
   (2) rename your config to cgminer.conf and just run "cgminer". This is supposed to work automagically now but I haven't bothered to check whether it actually does. Not under Windows anyway.

If cgminer still isn't satisfied, there is likely a smallest of typoes hiding somewhere inside that file.

EDIT::If you need to post screenshots, don't resize them that small. That's totally illegible.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!