Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 04:08:44 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Poll
Question: Should CPU mining be removed from cgminer?
Yes - 55 (62.5%)
No - 19 (21.6%)
Compile time selection - 10 (11.4%)
Don't care - 4 (4.5%)
Total Voters: 88

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: CGMINER - Remove CPU mining?  (Read 17033 times)
sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383



View Profile
January 12, 2012, 02:26:30 PM
 #21

Strip it out and get rid of it. People that need CPU mining have other miner software they can use.

To quote Spock...

"The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few, or the one."

Having CPU mining code is causing cgminer to be flagged by multiple AV software. Some unscrupulous people use cgminer to CPU mine against the hardware owners knowledge. When the hardware owner discovers this, they report it as malicious to the AV software companies and cgminer gets flagged.

I seriously doubt many donations (if any) are coming in from CPU miners.   

If ckolivas is not receiving donations for CPU mining there should not even be a vote IMO. So I think ckolivas should just strip it out if he wants it gone.

Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
1481256524
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481256524

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481256524
Reply with quote  #2

1481256524
Report to moderator
1481256524
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481256524

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481256524
Reply with quote  #2

1481256524
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481256524
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481256524

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481256524
Reply with quote  #2

1481256524
Report to moderator
1481256524
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481256524

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481256524
Reply with quote  #2

1481256524
Report to moderator
1481256524
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481256524

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481256524
Reply with quote  #2

1481256524
Report to moderator
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 12, 2012, 02:29:36 PM
 #22

care to name those "other CPU miners"

Has support for SSE2.  It is in active development and now includes CPU alt-chain support which should result in continued development (at least until alt-chain fad dies out).

http://ufasoft.com/open/bitcoin/

Quote
AND spouting "used by botnets operators, rogue system admins, and trojan developers"
is just ranting pie in the sky clueless nonsense

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bitcoin#Covert_.22mining.22

It is well founded.  The inefficiency of CPU (MH/W) and the sheer number of them means the only "legit" operator is one who happens to own (or have legal access) to hundreds of CPU and also happens to have access to dozens of KW of "free" power. 

Given that intersection of unlikely characteristics it isn't exactly a stretch to consider that most large scale CPU mining is being done illegally or at least covertly.
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
January 12, 2012, 02:35:33 PM
 #23

cpuminer-ng has some good threading optimizations and SSE4.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
RobertRibbeck
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 221


View Profile
January 12, 2012, 06:15:16 PM
 #24

care to name those "other CPU miners"

Has support for SSE2.  It is in active development and now includes CPU alt-chain support which should result in continued development (at least until alt-chain fad dies out).

http://ufasoft.com/open/bitcoin/

Quote
AND spouting "used by botnets operators, rogue system admins, and trojan developers"
is just ranting pie in the sky clueless nonsense

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bitcoin#Covert_.22mining.22

It is well founded.  The inefficiency of CPU (MH/W) and the sheer number of them means the only "legit" operator is one who happens to own (or have legal access) to hundreds of CPU and also happens to have access to dozens of KW of "free" power. 

Given that intersection of unlikely characteristics it isn't exactly a stretch to consider that most large scale CPU mining is being done illegally or at least covertly.

thats a great recommend ufasoft

first install another program to unzip it, then figure out it's command line, then find out it don't work
on the cpu says 2 threads running unless 0 is a correct hash rate -- NOT
ok try the gpu's -- it don't know shit about nvidia cards

Please "Clear your browser cookies" then use http://bitcoinpyramid.com/r/3360 to Join BitCoin Pyramid
  use my referral & I'll refund a % of your first deposit back to your account
  Deposit .5 BTC or more and I'll give back 50% of what I receive

First Deposit of 1 BTC will get 75% of what I get back
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 12, 2012, 06:30:26 PM
 #25

thats a great recommend ufasoft

first install another program to unzip it, then figure out it's command line, then find out it don't work
on the cpu says 2 threads running unless 0 is a correct hash rate -- NOT

Just for shits and giggles I tried it.  Took about 30 seconds to get it to work.

Code:
C:\bitcoin\btcm>bitcoin-miner-64.exe -g no -i 1 -o (my pool/account/worker here) -t 1
bitcoin-miner 0.25  Copyright (c) 2012 Ufasoft  http://ufasoft.com/open/bitcoin
Mining for (removed)
Using CPU (1 threads)
4.26 MHash/s
Processed: 195 Mhash, 46 s with average Rate: 4.26 MHash/s
Accepted: 0, average: 0 shares/min

I limited it to 1 thread because I didn't want it to CPU starve cgminer.

Just because you can't figure it out doesn't mean it isn't a good miner.  Hell everyday people can't figure out cgminer I guess that means it sucks too.

Quote
ok try the gpu's -- it don't know shit about nvidia cards

Which has nothing to do w/ removing CPU support from cgminer.
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
January 12, 2012, 06:48:47 PM
 #26

...first install another program to unzip it...

Robert, this "another program" as you put it, 7-zip, is what currently happens to be the best free, open source, multi-platform archive manager available.
You'll be glad to have it installed so stop being so grumpy Smiley

Shame on Microsoft for not having touched their built-in compressor/decompressor for ages.
Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
January 12, 2012, 06:51:22 PM
 #27

For me, even windows is free Cheesy Cool

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
January 12, 2012, 06:54:16 PM
 #28

For me, even windows is free Cheesy Cool
No, it isn't. To be free, you need to be able to legally:
  • run the program, for any purpose
  • study how the program works, and change it so it does your computing as you wish
  • redistribute copies so you can help your neighbor (including selling it)
  • distribute copies of your modified versions to others

See also: the free software definition

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 12, 2012, 06:55:23 PM
 #29

For me, even windows is free Cheesy Cool
No, it isn't. To be free, you need to be able to legally:
  • run the program, for any purpose
  • study how the program works, and change it so it does your computing as you wish
  • redistribute copies so you can help your neighbor (including selling it)
  • distribute copies of your modified versions to others

Citation: the free software definition

Thank you.

He may be able to obtain windows at NO COST (either legally or illegally) but it isn't even close to free.

Free as in free speech not free beer.
krusaderx
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
January 12, 2012, 06:57:58 PM
 #30

If CPU mining can be made modular (sound like this is done), and the CPU mining code tossed into a new git repo, I think you can have your cake and eat it too. 

If someone is really dependent on CPU mining w/ CGMINER, they can go find the CPU code and throw it in.  If they want feature x,y,z for CPU mining, they can code it or beg for someone to code it on the CPU module project.

I doubt CPU mining code will be the last deprecated (for the majority of users, that is) mining method.



RobertRibbeck
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 221


View Profile
January 12, 2012, 08:04:10 PM
 #31

thats a great recommend ufasoft

first install another program to unzip it, then figure out it's command line, then find out it don't work
on the cpu says 2 threads running unless 0 is a correct hash rate -- NOT

Just for shits and giggles I tried it.  Took about 30 seconds to get it to work.

Code:
C:\bitcoin\btcm>bitcoin-miner-64.exe -g no -i 1 -o (my pool/account/worker here) -t 1
bitcoin-miner 0.25  Copyright (c) 2012 Ufasoft  http://ufasoft.com/open/bitcoin
Mining for (removed)
Using CPU (1 threads)
4.26 MHash/s
Processed: 195 Mhash, 46 s with average Rate: 4.26 MHash/s
Accepted: 0, average: 0 shares/min

I limited it to 1 thread because I didn't want it to CPU starve cgminer.

Just because you can't figure it out doesn't mean it isn't a good miner.  Hell everyday people can't figure out cgminer I guess that means it sucks too.

Quote
ok try the gpu's -- it don't know shit about nvidia cards

Which has nothing to do w/ removing CPU support from cgminer.

yep you are d man d hero
you can do it all in 30 sec o less]
BS

Please "Clear your browser cookies" then use http://bitcoinpyramid.com/r/3360 to Join BitCoin Pyramid
  use my referral & I'll refund a % of your first deposit back to your account
  Deposit .5 BTC or more and I'll give back 50% of what I receive

First Deposit of 1 BTC will get 75% of what I get back
Epoch
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 917



View Profile
January 12, 2012, 08:12:38 PM
 #32

thats a great recommend ufasoft

first install another program to unzip it, then figure out it's command line, then find out it don't work
on the cpu says 2 threads running unless 0 is a correct hash rate -- NOT

Just for shits and giggles I tried it.  Took about 30 seconds to get it to work.

<snip>

I limited it to 1 thread because I didn't want it to CPU starve cgminer.

Just because you can't figure it out doesn't mean it isn't a good miner.  Hell everyday people can't figure out cgminer I guess that means it sucks too.

Quote
ok try the gpu's -- it don't know shit about nvidia cards

Which has nothing to do w/ removing CPU support from cgminer.

yep you are d man d hero
you can do it all in 30 sec o less]
BS

D&T's persona here can sometimes come off as being a bit ... how shall I put it ... terse (no offense intended, D&T). But there's usually little (if anything) wrong or inaccurate with what he says. There's no need for you to be a douche.

BTC: 1DJVUnLuPA2bERTkyeir8bKn1eSoRCrYvx
NMC: NFcfHSBBnq622pAr1Xoh9KtnBPA5CUn6id
RobertRibbeck
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 221


View Profile
January 12, 2012, 09:56:47 PM
 #33

thats a great recommend ufasoft

first install another program to unzip it, then figure out it's command line, then find out it don't work
on the cpu says 2 threads running unless 0 is a correct hash rate -- NOT

Just for shits and giggles I tried it.  Took about 30 seconds to get it to work.

<snip>

I limited it to 1 thread because I didn't want it to CPU starve cgminer.

Just because you can't figure it out doesn't mean it isn't a good miner.  Hell everyday people can't figure out cgminer I guess that means it sucks too.

Quote
ok try the gpu's -- it don't know shit about nvidia cards

Which has nothing to do w/ removing CPU support from cgminer.

yep you are d man d hero
you can do it all in 30 sec o less]
BS

D&T's persona here can sometimes come off as being a bit ... how shall I put it ... terse (no offense intended, D&T). But there's usually little (if anything) wrong or inaccurate with what he says. There's no need for you to be a douche.

ok I got it to ufasoft to work & its giving better hash rate than cgminer
color me GONE

Please "Clear your browser cookies" then use http://bitcoinpyramid.com/r/3360 to Join BitCoin Pyramid
  use my referral & I'll refund a % of your first deposit back to your account
  Deposit .5 BTC or more and I'll give back 50% of what I receive

First Deposit of 1 BTC will get 75% of what I get back
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 12, 2012, 09:57:46 PM
 #34

ok I got it to ufasoft to work & its giving better hash rate than cgminer
color me GONE
You are allowed to change your vote too Wink

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
simonk83
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


View Profile
January 12, 2012, 11:27:41 PM
 #35

To be honest I didn't even really know that cgminer was CPU capable, as I've never had to use it Smiley   Obviously I'm happy for it to be removed.

As a person who has a couple of BitForce units ordered though, I'm extremely happy to see support for that included, top work Luke/Con Smiley
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 19, 2012, 11:52:18 AM
 #36

I'd say the votes are pretty conclusive. Thanks everyone for your input. For simplicity I'll be making it a compile time selection for now, default off. This has already been committed to the git tree and will be in the next version. I will no longer be releasing binaries with CPU mining support built in and if it proves innocuous in this fashion, it will be left that way. Should issues arrive, it will be deprecated entirely in a future version.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 01:26:46 PM
 #37

I'd say the votes are pretty conclusive. Thanks everyone for your input. For simplicity I'll be making it a compile time selection for now, default off. This has already been committed to the git tree and will be in the next version. I will no longer be releasing binaries with CPU mining support built in and if it proves innocuous in this fashion, it will be left that way. Should issues arrive, it will be deprecated entirely in a future version.

Sounds sensible.  Complete removal would clean up the giant list of command line & config file parameters.  Maybe the readme can be updated to segregate the cpu related params given they have no effect on default builds (and pre-built binaries)?

Code:
--algo|-a <arg>     Specify sha256 implementation for CPU mining:
        auto            Benchmark at startup and pick fastest algorithm
        c               Linux kernel sha256, implemented in C
        4way            tcatm's 4-way SSE2 implementation
        via             VIA padlock implementation
        cryptopp        Crypto++ C/C++ implementation
        sse2_64         SSE2 64 bit implementation for x86_64 machines
        sse4_64         SSE4.1 64 bit implementation for x86_64 machines (default: sse2_64)
--cpu-threads|-t <arg> Number of miner CPU threads (default: 4)
--disable-gpu|-G    Disable GPU mining even if suitable devices exist
--enable-cpu|-C     Enable CPU mining with GPU mining (default: no CPU mining if suitab
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 02:12:27 PM
 #38

The disable gpu option wouldn't be a cpu only option, as it would also be good for someone mining with FPGAs that wants their video card to do 3D work.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 02:20:54 PM
 #39

The disable gpu option wouldn't be a cpu only option, as it would also be good for someone mining with FPGAs that wants their video card to do 3D work.

Good point.  I got to stop thinking so binary.  CPU vs GPU.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 19, 2012, 09:53:48 PM
 #40

Maybe the readme can be updated to segregate the cpu related params given they have no effect on default builds (and pre-built binaries)?
Good idea.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!