Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 12:13:19 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 5830 Dedicated Miner Problem  (Read 2141 times)
KingLinkTiger
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
January 13, 2012, 12:56:13 AM
 #1

I have a dedicated miner that seems to be giving me some grief. I know that a 5830 should get somewhere in the high 200s low 300s for their hashrate. My problem is that the 5830 in me dedicated rig is only reaching 179 Mhash/s. In my main computer I have 2 5830 in crossfire that can reach 570 Mhash together (Maybe more). I've put the cards from my main computer into the dedicated rig and all of the cards maxed at around 170 Mhash, but when I moved the cards back into my main rig they went back to 280 Mhash. I've switched slots on my motherboard and I've even tried different power configurations from my PSU. I am currently running v11.5 Drivers with v2.5 SDK.

Any help would be appreciated.


MSI 890FXA-GD70
AMD Sempron
4GB DDR Corshair Ram
(1) 5830
Cougar CMX 1000w PSU
OS: Windows 7 64-Bit

UPDATE:
I ordered a new Mobo from Newegg and I installed Windows 7 64-Bit. I'm still only getting ~160Mhash/s when I should be getting somewhere close to 300+.
1481199199
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199199

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199199
Reply with quote  #2

1481199199
Report to moderator
1481199199
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199199

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199199
Reply with quote  #2

1481199199
Report to moderator
1481199199
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199199

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199199
Reply with quote  #2

1481199199
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481199199
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199199

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199199
Reply with quote  #2

1481199199
Report to moderator
Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
January 13, 2012, 02:00:43 AM
 #2

Miner used? Settings used? 5830s require tweaking the miner's settings for optimal performance.

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
KingLinkTiger
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
January 13, 2012, 03:29:24 AM
 #3

Miner used? Settings used? 5830s require tweaking the miner's settings for optimal performance.
I'm using GUI Miner using the Phoenix Kernel.

My miner flags are:
Code:
-k phatk poclbm VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=12 worksize=128 FASTLOOP=false
Brunic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 633



View Profile
January 13, 2012, 03:51:33 AM
 #4

phatk and poclbm together?

Shouldn't it be only one of them?
KingLinkTiger
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
January 13, 2012, 04:13:06 AM
 #5

phatk and poclbm together?

Shouldn't it be only one of them?
Not sure I'll test with one then the other.

Edit: Raised my Mhash to ~180Mhash. Still not the 250Mhash I see on my main rig.
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
January 13, 2012, 04:50:06 AM
 #6

A:

B:
  • Install MSI Afterburner or Sapphire TRIXX for overclock control,
  • Set the memory clock to 366MHz, and overclock the core from 800MHz to something more like 950MHz-1000MHz+

C:
  • If you have ever installed 11.12 or 12.1 Catalyst drivers, follow the instructions here to remove the old OpenCL it left behind. Reinstall 11.11.

D:
  • Run the miner.cmd file. You can right-click and drag to your desktop, and create a shortcut to it
  • See 320+ MH/s


KingLinkTiger
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
January 13, 2012, 05:15:43 AM
 #7

A:

B:
  • Install MSI Afterburner or Sapphire TRIXX for overclock control,
  • Set the memory clock to 366MHz, and overclock the core from 800MHz to something more like 950MHz-1000MHz+

C:
  • If you have ever installed 11.12 or 12.1 Catalyst drivers, follow the instructions here to remove the old OpenCL it left behind. Reinstall 11.11.

D:
  • Run the miner.cmd file. You can right-click and drag to your desktop, and create a shortcut to it
  • See 320+ MH/s


C: This is a fresh install of Windows 7, I installed 11.11 Drivers with the 2.5 SDK.

After following your steps this is what I have.
http://tigerclan.net/images/pic.png

I still am only getting a 180Mhash.
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
January 13, 2012, 06:29:58 AM
 #8

The system specs in your first post say one GPU, but the Trixx drop-down box indicates that there is more than one GPU in the system. If you have an onboard GPU or other card it should be disabled unless it is also mining. The motherboard doesn't have onboard video looking at the spec site. I have a feeling that PLATFORM=1 or DEVICE=1 as an option may point the miner at the correct GPU.

Run this command line in the phoenix directory, and it will list the device numbers of the OpenCL devices in your computer:
phoenix.exe -u http://nothing/ -k phatk2


A 5830 should be listed as Cypress.

ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
January 13, 2012, 09:11:53 AM
 #9

A:

B:
  • Install MSI Afterburner or Sapphire TRIXX for overclock control,
  • Set the memory clock to 366MHz, and overclock the core from 800MHz to something more like 950MHz-1000MHz+

C:
  • If you have ever installed 11.12 or 12.1 Catalyst drivers, follow the instructions here to remove the old OpenCL it left behind. Reinstall 11.11.

D:
  • Run the miner.cmd file. You can right-click and drag to your desktop, and create a shortcut to it
  • See 320+ MH/s


C: This is a fresh install of Windows 7, I installed 11.11 Drivers with the 2.5 SDK.

After following your steps this is what I have.
http://tigerclan.net/images/pic.png

I still am only getting a 180Mhash.

Nice non-genuine windows you have there... But FWIW, mine isn't genuine either, but windows doesn't know that. Wink Look up something called windows loader by daz

Also I saw you were using GUIMiner. Up to you, I use guiminer too with the phoenix miner and phatk2 kernel. Seems to work fine for me. My arguments supplied are rather minimal. Also using phoenix 1.7.2 (should go to 1.7.3 but lazy, havent had any connection problems either) in place of whatever phoenix is bundled with guiminer; I simply overwrote over whatever phoenix.exe and kernels were present in the guiminer folder. Here's a screenshot of my 5830 mining away along with 3 other cards. Maybe you can find your solution in the screenshot.

KingLinkTiger
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
January 13, 2012, 03:02:33 PM
 #10

The system specs in your first post say one GPU, but the Trixx drop-down box indicates that there is more than one GPU in the system. If you have an onboard GPU or other card it should be disabled unless it is also mining. The motherboard doesn't have onboard video looking at the spec site. I have a feeling that PLATFORM=1 or DEVICE=1 as an option may point the miner at the correct GPU.

Run this command line in the phoenix directory, and it will list the device numbers of the OpenCL devices in your computer:
phoenix.exe -u http://nothing/ -k phatk2


A 5830 should be listed as Cypress.

The only ones listed are
Code:
[0] Cypress
[1] AMD Sempron(tm) 130 Processor

Quote
Nice non-genuine windows you have there...
As I've said multiple times this is a fresh install of Windows. So fresh in fact that I haven't even activated it yet. I do have keys for it I was just using this copy to test the miner, I was not sure if it was going to work.
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
January 13, 2012, 06:46:40 PM
 #11

So if swapping different video cards into this system doesn't help, and you have re-installed the OS from scratch and no difference....?

About the only thing I could imagine is if for some reason the card isn't getting sufficient power, perhaps it goes into "limp mode" with fewer shaders or such. Here's the order of where I would go next:

- Something wrong with the motherboard BIOS config? With the system off, move the motherboard's CMOS jumper to the "reset" position, restart with defaults.

- Get the GPU-Z utility and run it, see that it is showing GPU clock speeds like you expect, 1120 shaders, etc. (I can do a screen shot of a good system if you need)

- If you are using 4 pin -> 6 pin PCIe power adapters, try all different ones.

- Try the power supply from your good system into this sick one, maybe there is a bad PCIe power connector on the power supply.

- Find out if other video card stuff sucks - do games or Furmark run at 1/2 the frame rate they get on the other 5830 system with one card? Maybe a tech support call to ATI or the card manufacturer if you have something where nothing is right (they might not understand mining).

Outside of this, about the only thing left is your motherboard being bad or not playing well with the 5830 (I have a system that won't boot up at all with certain 5830s models, so yours isn't the worst)




KingLinkTiger
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
January 13, 2012, 09:54:54 PM
 #12

Quote
So if swapping different video cards into this system doesn't help, and you have re-installed the OS from scratch and no difference....?
This is a fresh install of Win 7 64-Bit

Quote
- Something wrong with the motherboard BIOS config? With the system off, move the motherboard's CMOS jumper to the "reset" position, restart with defaults.
Already Cleared CMOS

Quote
- Get the GPU-Z utility and run it, see that it is showing GPU clock speeds like you expect, 1120 shaders, etc. (I can do a screen shot of a good system if you need)
I will check the clocks, but I don't think that this may be a problem. (Will edit with updated information)

Quote
- If you are using 4 pin -> 6 pin PCIe power adapters, try all different ones.
I am not using any connectors.

Quote
- Try the power supply from your good system into this sick one, maybe there is a bad PCIe power connector on the power supply.
My PSU has 6 6-pin connectors (Two built in then 4 modular), I will try other ones, and if that does not work I will use a different PSU.
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
January 25, 2012, 10:22:34 AM
 #13

Miner used? Settings used? 5830s require tweaking the miner's settings for optimal performance.
I'm using GUI Miner using the Phoenix Kernel.

My miner flags are:
Code:
-k phatk poclbm VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=12 worksize=128 FASTLOOP=false

use MSI Afterburner to set card to 950/385

use DOS command prompt

install the 12-21-11  of diapolo in phatk directory (http://www.mediafire.com/?r3n2m5s2y2b32d9), not the one from january

then in the directory where phoenix is located

phoenix -u http://xxx.xxx:xxx@x.x.x:xxxx/ -k phatk device=0 AGGRESSION=9 FASTLOOP=false VECTORS4 WORKSIZE=64

('phatk' being the subdirectory in 'kernels' where diapolo was installed to)

also, the 250 you mention on main computer is slow even.  5830 should be able to get 300 w/o problems

Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
January 26, 2012, 02:22:06 PM
 #14

To the post above me, diapolo kernel is still slower than phatk 2.2 by phateus in all versions of sdks.

In any case, this is an intriguing problem; it's something I'd like to fix hands on (or remotely). I'm wondering if gpu activity is 100% when mining and not something like 60%.

bangra
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43



View Profile
January 29, 2012, 12:17:48 PM
 #15

Have you run each card up individually in the board? also try using Phoenix from a batch file with the device=0/1/2 for each card, i had a similar issue with 1 5850 but had to play musical slots with the board to get it working at full speed

Have i helped? 1Gm9NMJ2qn2XU1qc4Mps9GSCGe5cdetmpv
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
February 16, 2012, 10:57:00 PM
 #16

To the post above me, diapolo kernel is still slower than phatk 2.2 by phateus in all versions of sdks.

In any case, this is an intriguing problem; it's something I'd like to fix hands on (or remotely). I'm wondering if gpu activity is 100% when mining and not something like 60%.

Uh, in SDK 2.6 the optimum settings are about 1% faster.... which won't allow you to underclock your memory... which will either a) cost you more in electricity than performance gained in the first place, or b) cause your card to fail much sooner.

Care to prove me wrong, or just spout more BS?

Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
February 17, 2012, 07:11:48 AM
 #17

So dont use 2.6. I sure as hell dont. 2.1 all the way.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!