Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 02:36:49 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: blockchain.info bug?  (Read 807 times)
BTC-engineer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 338



View Profile
January 13, 2012, 10:50:20 PM
 #1

I'm quite confused about getting sometimes different information from blockchain.info versus e.g. blockexplorer.com
For me it looks like the information from blockchain.info is not always correct because all other servers are showing the same data.

Here is just one example for the bitcoin address 16GJyttY5XjkqBFaPTH4q7D2LUEq4nUzXR

http://blockchain.info/address/16GJyttY5XjkqBFaPTH4q7D2LUEq4nUzXR
http://blockexplorer.com/address/16GJyttY5XjkqBFaPTH4q7D2LUEq4nUzXR

blockexplorer is stating that this address was never used before,
blockchain is showing some transactions and a balance of about 3.08 BTC Huh

I know that websites like blockchain.info are being used by some to verify a successful transaction.
Bruce Wagner even recommend this procedure to newbies.
So if the information is not correct this could be critical. 

I've already sent an email to support@pi.uk.com but didn't get a feedback up to now.
Does anybody seen such a discrepancy before, or has an explanation for it?
1480948609
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480948609

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480948609
Reply with quote  #2

1480948609
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480948609
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480948609

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480948609
Reply with quote  #2

1480948609
Report to moderator
1480948609
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480948609

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480948609
Reply with quote  #2

1480948609
Report to moderator
1480948609
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480948609

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480948609
Reply with quote  #2

1480948609
Report to moderator
punningclan
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 284


Making a better tomorrow, tomorrow.


View Profile
January 13, 2012, 11:11:49 PM
 #2

They look the same to me.. Huh

It was a cunning plan to have the funny man be the money fan of the punning clan.
1J13NBTKiV8xrAo2dwaD4LhWs3zPobhh5S
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
January 13, 2012, 11:13:57 PM
 #3

I beg your pardon, kind sir, but for the life of me I cannot find a difference Smiley
If the problem persists, try purging your browser cache...



BTC-engineer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 338



View Profile
January 13, 2012, 11:30:46 PM
 #4

Thanks for your answers.

I don't know why, but now blockchain.info showing the same information like the other servers. Strange.
In my original email to support of blockchain.info I've included two screenshots. Below you will find the screenshot from blockchain.info.

However, I've tested this strange behavior in the last 2 days for a few hours. I don't know the reason why the information at blockchain.info sometime was not correct, but i'm sure that there was this difference.
Even if it has something to do with some browser caching (also my first idea), IMHO this is critical.

I've tested it on different locations, with different PC's and different browsers (Firefox and Chrome).
All I can say is, that it looks that this mismatch only occurs with valid Bitcoin addresses which were never used before.
That it is now not reproducible anymore, looks even more strange to me. Shocked

Before getting an answer from blockchain.info, or understanding why this has happend I prefer other blockchain Explorers over blockchain.info.



jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
January 13, 2012, 11:42:54 PM
 #5

Even if it has something to do with some browser caching (also my first idea), IMOH this is critical.

Critical is what also came to my mind Smiley
There's no guarantees their software is bug-free. Sad but true.
Thanks for the post, I'll be checking one against the other from now on when looking up a transaction or address.
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
January 13, 2012, 11:49:59 PM
 #6

ctrlf5
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
January 13, 2012, 11:53:54 PM
 #7

ctrlf5
Really? OP reports having tried two different PCs and browsers.
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
January 14, 2012, 12:15:42 AM
 #8

ctrlf5
Really? OP reports having tried two different PCs and browsers.

might be a proxy cache or something?
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
January 14, 2012, 12:30:54 AM
 #9

Valid point. He never said different ISPs... please accept my apologies.
I don't seem to be thinking straight, it's 01:30 AM here, goodnight.
Maged
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260


View Profile
January 14, 2012, 02:36:08 AM
 #10

I think I see the problem. Same prefix as was in the firstbits:

16GJyxTfVkY2VSU4LXnytevgLYYpthFf5A
16GJyttY5XjkqBFaPTH4q7D2LUEq4nUzXR

Looks to me that, because the other address hadn't ever been used, it thought you were doing a search instead.

BTC-engineer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 338



View Profile
January 14, 2012, 10:30:50 AM
 #11

I think I see the problem. Same prefix as was in the firstbits:

16GJyxTfVkY2VSU4LXnytevgLYYpthFf5A
16GJyttY5XjkqBFaPTH4q7D2LUEq4nUzXR

Looks to me that, because the other address hadn't ever been used, it thought you were doing a search instead.

I tested this behavior from completely different locations (different ISP's).

Your are right, blockchain.info has analysed a slightly different bitcoin address, than the one I entered (and is stated in the url). I never realized this before, sorry.
I think this is very unhappy when you not get warned that the original bitcoin address could not be found, and you get the transactions of a similar address presented.  Shocked

However it looks like the behavior of blockchain.info has changed. I hope this will not occur anymore.

Thanks for your help!   
improveourselves
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
January 14, 2012, 11:04:24 AM
 #12

ctrlf5

Went to the address per your signature, ninjacoin.com .  No current miners, so have you ended the mining pool, and have you begun another?
SomeoneWeird
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
January 14, 2012, 11:44:59 AM
 #13

ctrlf5

Went to the address per your signature, ninjacoin.com .  No current miners, so have you ended the mining pool, and have you begun another?

You can still mine there, it's all automated, and it's PPS, so you don't have to wait for a block. Smiley
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!