Bitcoin Forum
May 08, 2024, 12:26:26 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Running on a port other than 8333  (Read 26113 times)
wumpus
Hero Member
*****
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 1022

No Maps for These Territories


View Profile
May 07, 2011, 10:18:06 PM
 #21

My concerns are more along the lines of potential for DDoSing the network if you have infinite nodes (well 65000 per IP) and sybil attacks.  But those are mostly because I haven't read enough of the networking code to realize all the possibilities (nor do I think anyone really has).  If you spend enough time reading up on net.cpp and can convince people that those aren't a problem, then I'm sure it would get merged.
OK. That sounds pretty serious. These issues will have to be addressed for IPv6 as well, then.

Bitcoin Core developer [PGP] Warning: For most, coin loss is a larger risk than coin theft. A disk can die any time. Regularly back up your wallet through FileBackup Wallet to an external storage or the (encrypted!) cloud. Use a separate offline wallet for storing larger amounts.
"I'm sure that in 20 years there will either be very large transaction volume or no volume." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1715171186
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715171186

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715171186
Reply with quote  #2

1715171186
Report to moderator
Matt Corallo
Hero Member
*****
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 755
Merit: 515


View Profile
May 07, 2011, 10:24:13 PM
 #22

OK. That sounds pretty serious. These issues will have to be addressed for IPv6 as well, then.
Yea, pretty much, though for IPv6 if you just take a /64 as a single address and ignore anything else from that /64 as a duplicate it might be ok.  Then again, so many of use have /48's from HE so...yea it needs to be thought out.

Bitcoin Core, rust-lightning, http://bitcoinfibre.org etc.
PGP ID: 07DF 3E57 A548 CCFB 7530  7091 89BB B866 3E2E65CE
wumpus
Hero Member
*****
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 1022

No Maps for These Territories


View Profile
May 07, 2011, 10:28:23 PM
 #23

Yea, pretty much, though for IPv6 if you just take a /64 as a single address and ignore anything else from that /64 as a duplicate it might be ok.  Then again, so many of use have /48's from HE so...yea it needs to be thought out.
Well even now with IPv4 there are people with a shitload of IPs (for example botnet owners or ISPs), and that will only get worse. If bitcoin somehow relies on IPs being scarce, this is a pretty big (potential) hole in security.

Bitcoin Core developer [PGP] Warning: For most, coin loss is a larger risk than coin theft. A disk can die any time. Regularly back up your wallet through FileBackup Wallet to an external storage or the (encrypted!) cloud. Use a separate offline wallet for storing larger amounts.
Matt Corallo
Hero Member
*****
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 755
Merit: 515


View Profile
May 07, 2011, 10:39:15 PM
 #24

Well even now with IPv4 there are people with a shitload of IPs (for example botnet owners or ISPs), and that will only get worse. If bitcoin somehow relies on IPs being scarce, this is a pretty big (potential) hole in security.
Yea, the networking code is one of those things that no one has really touched since satoshi...though I don't think either port nor IPs can exploit bitcoin for sybil but I just don't know what kind of numbers would actually be required to pull it off (though it does get much, much easier with IPv6).

Bitcoin Core, rust-lightning, http://bitcoinfibre.org etc.
PGP ID: 07DF 3E57 A548 CCFB 7530  7091 89BB B866 3E2E65CE
wumpus
Hero Member
*****
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 1022

No Maps for These Territories


View Profile
May 10, 2011, 09:38:12 AM
 #25

I just read in the IRC channel that there is up to one outgoing connection per /16.

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Weaknesses#Cancer_nodes

If that is true, supporting alternate ports won't open Bitcoin up for any more sybil attacks than we have now. You can have 65535 bitcoin instances running on your system, but it will ignore all of them but one.


Bitcoin Core developer [PGP] Warning: For most, coin loss is a larger risk than coin theft. A disk can die any time. Regularly back up your wallet through FileBackup Wallet to an external storage or the (encrypted!) cloud. Use a separate offline wallet for storing larger amounts.
payb.tc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 29, 2011, 10:52:52 AM
 #26

I've been working on adding -port= / -rpcport=  command line / config file options to bitcoin.

Usage looks like this:
Code:
$ ./bitcoind getbalance  # The TEST network Faucet bitcoind
40616.66159265000
$ ./bitcoind -datadir=/home/bitcoin/.bitcoinTEST2 getbalance
1000.000000000000
$ cat /home/bitcoin/.bitcoinTEST2/bitcoin.conf
rpcpassword=.....
port=18666
rpcport=18665

Patches are at http://pastebin.com/2e4hfXSS; I've only tested on Linux so far, anybody willing to try this on Windows?

a) is this information still current, or is there some more up-to-date thread i should be reading instead? (i notice there is an rpcport option in the example bitcoin.conf going around, but no 'port' option).

b) has this functionality made it into the default client, or i still need to find a patched version?

thank you.
Matt Corallo
Hero Member
*****
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 755
Merit: 515


View Profile
July 29, 2011, 11:09:33 AM
 #27

a) is this information still current
Yes
b) has this functionality made it into the default client, or i still need to find a patched version?
Mainline.

Bitcoin Core, rust-lightning, http://bitcoinfibre.org etc.
PGP ID: 07DF 3E57 A548 CCFB 7530  7091 89BB B866 3E2E65CE
payb.tc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 29, 2011, 11:21:11 AM
 #28

thanks matt, i have more questions now hopefully someone can help Smiley

c) do i physically need 2 copies of the bitcoind bin? i'm not much of a linux guy but i tried to nohup the 2nd instance of bitcoind from the same physical program file and it doesn't appear to have launched the 2nd process.

d) i was going to ask how to just stop one instance and not both, but if you need 2 physical copies of bitcoind then a simple stop command would make sense.
Matt Corallo
Hero Member
*****
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 755
Merit: 515


View Profile
July 29, 2011, 11:57:28 AM
 #29

Why are you trying to run 2 bitcoinds?  There is no reason to run 2 bitcoinds on the public network.

Bitcoin Core, rust-lightning, http://bitcoinfibre.org etc.
PGP ID: 07DF 3E57 A548 CCFB 7530  7091 89BB B866 3E2E65CE
payb.tc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 29, 2011, 12:03:42 PM
 #30

Why are you trying to run 2 bitcoinds?

Isn't the answer to that question in the OP?

(to run two separate websites/businesses/wallets on one server at the same time)
payb.tc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 29, 2011, 12:47:42 PM
 #31

maybe i'm just misunderstanding how this is supposed to work...

but can anyone tell me what mainline version number this was first added to? it's not working with 0.3.20 but i guess i should maybe be upgrading anyway.
Matt Corallo
Hero Member
*****
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 755
Merit: 515


View Profile
July 29, 2011, 01:34:14 PM
 #32

0.3.20
DONT EVER RUN A CLIENT OLDER THAN 0.3.24, EVER, EVER.
http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=21767.msg373830#msg373830

Bitcoin Core, rust-lightning, http://bitcoinfibre.org etc.
PGP ID: 07DF 3E57 A548 CCFB 7530  7091 89BB B866 3E2E65CE
payb.tc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 29, 2011, 02:26:55 PM
 #33


honestly i'd like to upgrade but i still haven't found a solution to the missing glibcxx_3.4.11 yet.

/usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6: version `GLIBCXX_3.4.11' not found
/lib/i686/cmov/libc.so.6: version `GLIBC_2.11' not found
payb.tc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 31, 2011, 02:57:11 PM
 #34

so i was able to get this working, one instance running on 8333/8332 and another working on 7333/7332.

But when I tried to stop the 2nd instance, it stopped the first one instead!

/web/sites/.bitcoin1/bitcoind <- this runs on the default ports

/web/sites/.bitcoin2/bitcoind -datadir=/web/sites/.bitcoin2/ <- this runs on 7333

/web/sites/.bitcoin2/bitcoind stop <- this command stops the bitcoin1 instance!
wumpus
Hero Member
*****
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 1022

No Maps for These Territories


View Profile
July 31, 2011, 03:04:57 PM
 #35

so i was able to get this working, one instance running on 8333/8332 and another working on 7333/7332.

But when I tried to stop the 2nd instance, it stopped the first one instead!

/web/sites/.bitcoin1/bitcoind <- this runs on the default ports

/web/sites/.bitcoin2/bitcoind -datadir=/web/sites/.bitcoin2/ <- this runs on 7333

/web/sites/.bitcoin2/bitcoind stop <- this command stops the bitcoin1 instance!

Use

/web/sites/.bitcoin2/bitcoind -datadir=/web/sites/.bitcoin2/ stop

Bitcoin Core developer [PGP] Warning: For most, coin loss is a larger risk than coin theft. A disk can die any time. Regularly back up your wallet through FileBackup Wallet to an external storage or the (encrypted!) cloud. Use a separate offline wallet for storing larger amounts.
payb.tc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 31, 2011, 03:08:14 PM
 #36

so i was able to get this working, one instance running on 8333/8332 and another working on 7333/7332.

But when I tried to stop the 2nd instance, it stopped the first one instead!

/web/sites/.bitcoin1/bitcoind <- this runs on the default ports

/web/sites/.bitcoin2/bitcoind -datadir=/web/sites/.bitcoin2/ <- this runs on 7333

/web/sites/.bitcoin2/bitcoind stop <- this command stops the bitcoin1 instance!

Use

/web/sites/.bitcoin2/bitcoind -datadir=/web/sites/.bitcoin2/ stop


Thanks, will try that...

Funny I tried that switch before, but I put it after the 'stop':

/web/sites/.bitcoin2/bitcoind stop -datadir=/web/sites/.bitcoin2/ <- doesn't work Tongue

didn't even think to put it first.
Matt Corallo
Hero Member
*****
expert
Offline Offline

Activity: 755
Merit: 515


View Profile
July 31, 2011, 04:12:26 PM
 #37

You need to specify the -rpcport of the instance you want to stop (probably 7332).

Bitcoin Core, rust-lightning, http://bitcoinfibre.org etc.
PGP ID: 07DF 3E57 A548 CCFB 7530  7091 89BB B866 3E2E65CE
payb.tc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 1000



View Profile
July 31, 2011, 11:02:34 PM
 #38

You need to specify the -rpcport of the instance you want to stop (probably 7332).

yep, hence using the -datadir switch to point to the secondary bitcoin.conf file... thank you.
mybtclove
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 27, 2014, 03:38:40 PM
 #39

You need to specify the -rpcport of the instance you want to stop (probably 7332).

yep, hence using the -datadir switch to point to the secondary bitcoin.conf file... thank you.


Hi guys, I know this thread is very old but it is something I am experiencing right now.

The example conf here is for old versions and I was wondering if you can post one that is suitable for 0.9 +
piotr_n
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2053
Merit: 1354


aka tonikt


View Profile WWW
June 27, 2014, 05:11:25 PM
 #40

It doesn't matter which post you select, because at some point in time (around adding the addr messages ad removing IRC) the algo in the bitcoin core for selecting peers to connect to has been fucked up. And ever since then the bitcoin core node intentionally discards peers that are listening at non-default port.

I raised this issue once, but the answer was that it wasn't a bug, but a security feature.
Great feature, BTW - it makes me feel so much more secured! Smiley

Anyway, if you setup you node to use a different port, you only get incoming connections from non bitcoin core nodes.
Because the bitcoin code node is fucked up and nobody gives a shit about it.

Check out gocoin - my original project of full bitcoin node & cold wallet written in Go.
PGP fingerprint: AB9E A551 E262 A87A 13BB  9059 1BE7 B545 CDF3 FD0E
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!