Bitcoin Forum
June 21, 2018, 08:59:33 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: ANTMINER S1 - TWO ETHERNET PORTS? BITMAIN APRIL FOOLS JOKE?  (Read 2080 times)
AlextheBitcoiner
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 01, 2014, 07:38:35 PM
 #1

Prepare yourself for something that might just blow your mind. TWO ethernet ports on a single Antminer S1.
Is this some kind of sick joke by Bitmain, or maybe a new Antminer S1 prototype?

I want to preface the following pictures by telling you that the S1 unit works like a 'normal' unit. It hashes at about 180 GH/s.
I plugged in an ethernet cable on the side of the Antminer closest to the fan. The ethernet port near the rear side of the miner does
not work. I think Bitmain simply put there for $hits and Giggles. But hell, judge the pictures for yourself.













Please Donate BTC: 17p57oNww4uYcFYZGzKUKb2VAGs3XMWYNL
1529614773
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529614773

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529614773
Reply with quote  #2

1529614773
Report to moderator
1529614773
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529614773

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529614773
Reply with quote  #2

1529614773
Report to moderator
1529614773
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529614773

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529614773
Reply with quote  #2

1529614773
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529614773
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529614773

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529614773
Reply with quote  #2

1529614773
Report to moderator
1529614773
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529614773

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529614773
Reply with quote  #2

1529614773
Report to moderator
1529614773
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529614773

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529614773
Reply with quote  #2

1529614773
Report to moderator
TheRealSteve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500

FUN > ROI


View Profile
May 01, 2014, 07:47:57 PM
 #2

Looks like you got an extra control board - not sure if it would void warranty (given that I have no idea why you got two in the first place), but you could try swapping the narrower cable around and see if the other board does work.

ak49er
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 499
Merit: 250



View Profile
May 01, 2014, 07:49:29 PM
 #3

I hope no poor soul out there has received an S1 with NO Ethernet port! Cheesy


████████████████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████
███████████▄████████████████▄███████████
███████▄███▀████████████████▀██▄ ███████
█████▄██▀██████████████████████▀██▄█████
██████████▄█████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████████████████
████████████▄███████████████████████████
██████████▀███▄██████████▄███▀██████████
█████████████▀███▄████▄███▀██████▄██████
███████████████▀██████▀████████▄███████
███████▄██████████▀███▀███████v▄████████
█████████▄██████████████████▄▄██████████
██████████▀█████████████████▀███████████
████████████████████████████████████████
  GLITZKOIN   
▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄▄████████████▄▄
▄████████████████████▄
▄████████████████████████▄
▐██████████████████████████████▌
▐█████████████████████▒░█████████▌
████████████████▒░      ██████████
▐███████████░░          ░██████████▌
████████░              ░████████████
█████████▓░░          ░█████████████
█████████████▓░       ██████████████
▐██████████████▒     ░█████████████▌
███████████████▒   ░██████████████
▐███████████████░ ░██████████████▌
▐██████████████████████████████▌
▀████████████████████████▀
▀████████████████████▀
▀▀████████████▀▀
▀▀▀▀▀▀
▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄▄████████████▄▄
▄████████████████████▄
▄███████████▒░ ░ ░  ░████▄
▄███████████░         ░██████▄
▐██████████░      ░    ░███████▌
▐███████████░      ░█████████████▌
███████████░      ░███████████████
▐███████████░      ░███████████████▌
█████████░              ░███████████
█████████░              ░███████████
█████████▓▓▓░      ░▓▓▓▓▓███████████
▐███████████░      ░███████████████▌
███████████░      ░███████████████
▐█████████░      ░█████████████▌
▀██████░      ░██████████▀
▀████░      ░████████▀
▀▀░      ░████▀▀

▄▄▄████████▄▄▄
▄▄██████████████████▄▄
▄████████████████████████▄
▄████████████████████████████▄
███░▒██████████████▒ ░██████████
▓███░   ░███████████     ░▒██████▓
█████░       ██████░         ▓██████
▄█████░       █████░         █▒▓█████▄
██████░       █ ░█░         ▓  ▓██████
██████░       █  ░█░      ▒█░  ▓██████
██████░       █   ░█▒    ▓▓    ▓██████
██████░       ████▒ ░█  ▓░     ▓██████
▀█████░       ████████▒█▓      ▓█████▀
███████▒░    ███████████▓░    ▓█████
█████████▓░ ███████████████░ ▓████
████████████████████████████████
▀████████████████████████▀
▀▀██████████████████▀▀
 ▀▀▀████████▀▀▀
Xer0
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840
Merit: 1000


°^°


View Profile
May 01, 2014, 08:15:39 PM
 #4

don't need to swap cable, already connected right

just send the excess board to me Wink for openWRT
ElGabo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 633
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 02, 2014, 09:34:20 AM
 #5

You're just lucky!

Got an extra controller for free.  Cool

" I'm waiting for my punishment, I know it's on my way
  So cut, cut, cut me up and fuck, fuck, fuck me up"
lowbander80
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000


View Profile WWW
May 02, 2014, 09:43:24 AM
 #6

Maybe this was an early design by the time they were only selling the single board only.
Now they put two singles together...


     █████████     ▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒
   ████████████ ▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒
  ██████████████▒▒▒▒██▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒
 ███▓▓█████████▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒
 █████████████▓▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒██▒▒▒▒▒
 ███████▓▓███▓▓▓▒▒██▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒
  ██████████▓▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒██▒▒▒▒▒▒
   ███▓▓████▓▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒
    █████████▓▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▓▓███
     ▀█████████▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓▓███▀
       ▀███▓▓████████████▀
         ▀█████████████▀
           ▀█████████▀
             ▀▀███▀▀

MeFy




ElGabo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 633
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 02, 2014, 10:00:36 AM
 #7

Maybe this was an early design by the time they were only selling the single board only.
Now they put two singles together...


It was just a simple mistake at assembly. Not more.

" I'm waiting for my punishment, I know it's on my way
  So cut, cut, cut me up and fuck, fuck, fuck me up"
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
May 02, 2014, 10:09:40 AM
 #8

Maybe this was an early design by the time they were only selling the single board only.
Now they put two singles together...

Those had green screw terminals and no PCI-E.

tzortz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 02, 2014, 10:16:41 AM
 #9

Great quality control.

All is Mine!

1H7LUdfx9AFTMSXPsCBror3RDk57zgnc2R
spazzdla
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 02, 2014, 03:01:15 PM
 #10

Great quality control.

Why replace the unit?

Does the product work?
Yes
Ship it.

I can't see why they would reject that.
tzortz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 02, 2014, 03:10:27 PM
 #11

Great quality control.

Why replace the unit?

Does the product work?
Yes
Ship it.

I can't see why they would reject that.


Maybe because of their own loss??

All is Mine!

1H7LUdfx9AFTMSXPsCBror3RDk57zgnc2R
ElGabo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 633
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 02, 2014, 03:17:43 PM
 #12

Great quality control.

Why replace the unit?

Does the product work?
Yes
Ship it.

I can't see why they would reject that.


Maybe because of their own loss??

Loss of 15$? Costs more to pull down the controller....

" I'm waiting for my punishment, I know it's on my way
  So cut, cut, cut me up and fuck, fuck, fuck me up"
tzortz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 02, 2014, 03:27:12 PM
 #13

Does it cost in China, $15 to remove the controller?

All is Mine!

1H7LUdfx9AFTMSXPsCBror3RDk57zgnc2R
ElGabo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 633
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 02, 2014, 03:52:02 PM
 #14

Does it cost in China, $15 to remove the controller?


Don't think so!  Grin

But this is what I can't understand here, and in your comments. (And not just you but all the newcomers in mining)

They made a mistake, didn't deassembly the controller. Why is it a so HUGE problem?

The guy have a spare controller for free, that's all.

Any more bitching is needed? Don't think so....

" I'm waiting for my punishment, I know it's on my way
  So cut, cut, cut me up and fuck, fuck, fuck me up"
tzortz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 02, 2014, 04:13:03 PM
 #15

Does it cost in China, $15 to remove the controller?


Don't think so!  Grin

But this is what I can't understand here, and in your comments. (And not just you but all the newcomers in mining)

They made a mistake, didn't deassembly the controller. Why is it a so HUGE problem?

The guy have a spare controller for free, that's all.

Any more bitching is needed? Don't think so....


I cannot see any thread where you dont support Bitmain.

Do you own dividends?

All is Mine!

1H7LUdfx9AFTMSXPsCBror3RDk57zgnc2R
ElGabo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 633
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 02, 2014, 04:16:48 PM
 #16

Does it cost in China, $15 to remove the controller?


Don't think so!  Grin

But this is what I can't understand here, and in your comments. (And not just you but all the newcomers in mining)

They made a mistake, didn't deassembly the controller. Why is it a so HUGE problem?

The guy have a spare controller for free, that's all.

Any more bitching is needed? Don't think so....


I cannot see any thread where you dont support Bitmain.

Do you own dividends?

I would be happy.... Smiley

I'm just a simple customer who happy with the product and what he gets. But you yelling hard how evil are them but can't refuse to buy more S2-s.  Wink

You bitching on small things. That is my opinion.

" I'm waiting for my punishment, I know it's on my way
  So cut, cut, cut me up and fuck, fuck, fuck me up"
tzortz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 02, 2014, 04:21:29 PM
 #17

I am not bitching when I say they have low quality control.

Isn't it true?

Every time I want to comment I will pm you for approval.

All is Mine!

1H7LUdfx9AFTMSXPsCBror3RDk57zgnc2R
spazzdla
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 02, 2014, 04:57:22 PM
 #18

I am not bitching when I say they have low quality control.

Isn't it true?

Every time I want to comment I will pm you for approval.

This man has a point..  HOWEVER so do the people that say it doesn't really matter.

IMO all miners are looking for is working product so that is all bitmain is looking to ship.  THey don't care if there are small discepancies if it's a working unit.
ElGabo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 633
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 02, 2014, 05:58:38 PM
 #19

I am not bitching when I say they have low quality control.

Isn't it true?

Every time I want to comment I will pm you for approval.

This man has a point..  HOWEVER so do the people that say it doesn't really matter.

IMO all miners are looking for is working product so that is all bitmain is looking to ship.  THey don't care if there are small discepancies if it's a working unit.

You got it in one sentence.

" I'm waiting for my punishment, I know it's on my way
  So cut, cut, cut me up and fuck, fuck, fuck me up"
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!