Bitcoin Forum
November 22, 2017, 06:26:36 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: GPU Mining SHA-256 vs Scrypt? I'm confused..  (Read 1789 times)
strangerhacks
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile WWW
May 03, 2014, 08:35:56 AM
 #1

When I started mining, I was just using my GPU in my laptop, gave me around 35MH/s mining SHA-256 with the Nvidia GPU, I figured it was going well, did the same on one of my iMacs and I was getting around 150MH/s mining SHA-256 with the ATI GPU.

Now this makes sense, as expected, however, now that GPU mining with SHA-256 is pretty much useless, I decided to switch them over to Scrypt and get some of those sweet sweet altcoins. Now this is where I'm kind of lost. With the Nvidia GPU, I was using GPUMiner, on the Mac with the ATI GPU, I was using Asteroid. Now for mining Scrypt on the PC with the Nvidia GPU, I started using CudaMiner and its going at around 120KH/s.

But the Mac with the ATI GPU, I'm still using Asteroid but now mining with Scrypt and only getting around 10KH/s, shouldn't the ATI GPU be way more then the Nvidia one? I thought ATI was where it's at when it comes to mining but my Nvidia PC is mining at around 12 times faster then the ATI Mac.

Is it just Asteroid that's not mining correctly or something because this seems extremely low when it was going at around 150MH/s mining SHA-256 but only 10Kh/s mining Scrypt while the Nvidia GPU was mining around 35MH/s with SHA-256 and now 120KH/s mining Scrypt.

Any input would be great, the faster I can get that hashrate up on the Mac the faster I can mine the precious altcoin.
1511331996
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511331996

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511331996
Reply with quote  #2

1511331996
Report to moderator
1511331996
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511331996

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511331996
Reply with quote  #2

1511331996
Report to moderator
1511331996
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511331996

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511331996
Reply with quote  #2

1511331996
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
xstr8guy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


Glow Stick Dance!


View Profile
May 03, 2014, 08:38:06 AM
 #2

This post is in the WRONG forum.
strangerhacks
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile WWW
May 03, 2014, 08:44:54 AM
 #3

I wasn't sure since it was related to both bitcoin and altcoin hardware issues, and the altcoin forum doesn't have a "hardware" section so this seemed to be the most fitting.
DiggerPhil
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
May 03, 2014, 04:57:48 PM
 #4

You never mentioned which card you have, but you can see if it is listed in the link below and if others are getting similar results.

http://www.asteroidapp.com/litecoindb.php
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!