Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 10:09:30 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 4x radeon 7970 mining rig  (Read 7265 times)
singular
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
January 16, 2012, 11:59:59 PM
 #1

Im thinking to build one of these but i dont know which motherboard and processor would be optimal to use.
Do all motherboards with 4 16x pci-e slots support this and is this even possible or is 3x 7970 maximum?
What psu would i need for this?

thanks
1481234970
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481234970

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481234970
Reply with quote  #2

1481234970
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
dizzy1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 134


View Profile
January 17, 2012, 12:12:51 AM
 #2

Im not sure about motherboards, but you would need a very large psu, prob 1200+, maybe 2. And you would probably need pcie x16 extenders to keep the heat down (because the cards would be right beside each other).
dizzy1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 134


View Profile
January 17, 2012, 12:30:19 AM
 #3

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=57410.0

4 should work for mining. I've seen 4 done in crossfire but they were right beside each other without any room for airflow. Going by the power draws here, 4x7970 should take about 800-900 watts. Show you should have at very least 1200, but if you are going to overclock probably go with a larger one like a 1500. I can't comment on that brand though. I would go with expanders and suspend the cards with at least 3/4 of an inch between them. But thats just me.

Edit: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=685-rXNR7o4

Video showing system with 4 7970s in crossfire and full specs.
singular
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
January 17, 2012, 12:39:58 AM
 #4

Saw that thread with 3x 7970 used, thats why i asked if 4 are possible for mining Smiley

Also saw that youtube vid, but there are 4 cards put near each other and also motherboard and proc used are too costly for mining purposes.. I need "cheap" motherboard where i can put "shit" proc to do the job Tongue
dizzy1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 134


View Profile
January 17, 2012, 12:55:15 AM
 #5

If you can use 4 in crossfire I dont see any reason why you can mine on 4 of them.

Hardware wise:

This one has 2 pcie x16 and and 3 pcie x1

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128519

This one has 4 pcie x16 slots and would only need one extender but I would reccomend 4.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128514

If these are too expensive you could always looking in the sales section of the board here for a used motherboard.

Edit: This is a cheap/shit proc that MAY work, Its been a long time since I've looked at processors.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103888
Eveofwar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
January 17, 2012, 01:10:49 AM
 #6

2nd motherboard seems fine yes, but where do i get the extenders?

I also cant understand how guy put 4x 7970 to this: http://www.asrock.com/mb/overview.asp?Model=870%20Extreme3%20R2.0
(this guy: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=57410.msg692082#msg692082)
Or am i missing something? Smiley

PCI-e extenders can be found @ http://cablesaurus.com/

For that mobo...

Expansion / Connectivity
Slots
- 2 x PCI Express 2.0 x16 slots (Single at x16 or dual at x8/x8 mode)
- 2 x PCI Express 2.0 x1 slots

2 + 2 = 4
Eveofwar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
January 17, 2012, 01:26:10 AM
 #7

Thanks, dunno why but i always thought you can only put gfx cards to that big 16x slots only..

http://cablesaurus.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&products_id=10

Problem solved Wink
singular
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
January 17, 2012, 01:29:39 AM
 #8

haha Cheesy Cheesy

So there is 0 degradation of performance of any kind with doing this? Smiley

Also do you have a suggestion for ""cheap" motherboard where i can put "shit" proc" that differs from the mobo suggested by dizzy1?Tongue

tnx
dizzy1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 134


View Profile
January 17, 2012, 02:18:32 AM
 #9

No mining performance degradation (that I know of). But gaming on x1 could be degraded. To my knowledge any board with 4 pcie slots, no matter what the speed can host 4 video cards.
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
January 17, 2012, 03:10:54 AM
 #10

I'd love to have a quad 7970 system for gaming, but for mining you'd be better off with 5970s as they're over 1 MH/watt more efficient.

Mousepotato
dizzy1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 134


View Profile
January 17, 2012, 03:30:42 AM
 #11

I'd love to have a quad 7970 system for gaming, but for mining you'd be better off with 5970s as they're over 1 MH/watt more efficient.

That is true atm. I would wait to see some optimized miners for the 7000 series before definitivly saying that.
singular
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
January 17, 2012, 08:12:51 AM
 #12

Well 5970's are hard to get and also u take a risk of it being used.. And i can get 7970's quite cheap..
How do you guys think 7990 will perform? Im asking myself if i wait for it..
singular
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
January 17, 2012, 08:59:52 AM
 #13

Also can anyone suggest me motherboard from asus or asrock because i can get these cheaper?
rclljj
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
January 17, 2012, 12:38:54 PM
 #14

See one news,one pci can add 7 cards.
singular
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
January 17, 2012, 07:18:34 PM
 #15

link?
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 17, 2012, 08:20:52 PM
 #16

See one news,one pci can add 7 cards.

At what cost?  More than an entire computer system?

external PCIe and PCIe switches have been around for a long time they just don't make economic sense.
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
February 08, 2012, 03:51:12 AM
 #17

And i can get 7970's quite cheap..

Define cheap?!?

GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
ChaosStorm
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
February 08, 2012, 04:27:03 AM
 #18

Doesnt sound very cost effective at all. 6950's can be had for $200 each which is cheaper and cranks out more hashes with 2.
Davyd05
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile
February 08, 2012, 07:36:10 AM
 #19

Yeah, that is an issue, gotta maximize, you're computer as a whole.

I suppose using riser can help to add more cards card via a mounting bracket for room ( I would assume risers would help increase airflow in most open board configs )

but I guess the logic I almost missed was .. 4 x 6950 vs 4 79xx,

you get 1316 mh/s with 4x 6950
you get 2400 mh/s with 4x 7970  ( I took a 650 single card and reduced performance to 600 just for heat and w/e argument sake)

But you still probably get the best performance with a 5970, might be harder to find, but if you got 400 bucks cad, or usd you can get atleast 1 a week via craigslist / kajiji not so much so on ebay though.


Proud Hodler, neither bull nor bear.
Zcable
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5



View Profile WWW
February 08, 2012, 08:26:53 AM
 #20

Thank you for letting us know about this.

 *Link Removed* are made of high quality materials, featuring various design.
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!