Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 08:16:14 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Linux vs Windows for Dedicated Mining  (Read 25183 times)
Mabsark
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 826


View Profile
July 11, 2011, 11:37:40 PM
 #81

It's at the wall:

What's the wall? I couldn't find that text anywhere on the page you linked to, so I'm assuming this "wall" thing is not on that page.

Quote
For all testing, the Watts Up Pro power meter was used

watts up pro


Oh, I get you now. The wall as in where the sockets plug into.  Embarrassed
1481184974
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481184974

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481184974
Reply with quote  #2

1481184974
Report to moderator
1481184974
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481184974

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481184974
Reply with quote  #2

1481184974
Report to moderator
1481184974
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481184974

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481184974
Reply with quote  #2

1481184974
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481184974
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481184974

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481184974
Reply with quote  #2

1481184974
Report to moderator
1481184974
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481184974

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481184974
Reply with quote  #2

1481184974
Report to moderator
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
October 07, 2012, 04:29:48 PM
 #82

now that ASIC mining is on the near horizon with dedicated mining software like cgminer and bfgminer, i assume the clear answer is now Linux?
aqrulesms
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 265


Cryptocurrency trading and mining


View Profile
October 07, 2012, 05:38:34 PM
 #83

now that ASIC mining is on the near horizon with dedicated mining software like cgminer and bfgminer, i assume the clear answer is now Linux?

I would think so, because you don't need to tweak or OC your ASICs like you do with GPUs.  

I am currently using Windows because I cannot OC with linux.
When I see working ASICs I will buy some and use linux.
Digigami
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 460


View Profile
October 07, 2012, 07:28:15 PM
 #84

When you tried using linux did you use cgminer to control your OC or ati utilities? Once I had a handle on getting the drivers installed properly and using cgminer to control the GPU OC's I have had a way more stable setup then any attempts at mining with windows.
#machinist
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18



View Profile
October 15, 2012, 11:08:25 AM
 #85

just choose what you are more comfortable with,  difference is insignificant
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
October 15, 2012, 03:45:05 PM
 #86

When you tried using linux did you use cgminer to control your OC or ati utilities? Once I had a handle on getting the drivers installed properly and using cgminer to control the GPU OC's I have had a way more stable setup then any attempts at mining with windows.

what dependencies does cgminer require in Ubuntu?
Girhes
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46


View Profile
October 15, 2012, 05:59:00 PM
 #87

difference is insignificant

We are using windows to test each card and edit their BIOS if needed before we put them in the final rigs in datacenters. Our 5850s are running at 965/300, the 5970s at 865/300. When running phoenix on windows with the same sdk and settings we use on BAMT we get ~370MH per gpu core. BAMT gives exactly 400MH per core. That's almost 10 percents, so not that insignificant I think.

BTC: 1GirhesGQ2QtrMu6kee5Zrfi4ya5WgcyPq
Digigami
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 460


View Profile
October 15, 2012, 06:16:21 PM
 #88

When you tried using linux did you use cgminer to control your OC or ati utilities? Once I had a handle on getting the drivers installed properly and using cgminer to control the GPU OC's I have had a way more stable setup then any attempts at mining with windows.

what dependencies does cgminer require in Ubuntu?

I'm not sure exactly what the minimum dependencies would be..

I have used this writeup/guide many times now using Xubuntu, Ubuntu and also Pinguy (Ubuntu based)
It has worked well every time for me and proved the most reliable method. I use the exact drivers specified in this, substitute the most recent cgminer.

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Gw7YPYgMgNNU42skibULbJJUx_suP_CpjSEdSi8_z9U/edit?pli=1
Frequency
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


sheeople


View Profile WWW
October 15, 2012, 10:14:41 PM
 #89

When you tried using linux did you use cgminer to control your OC or ati utilities? Once I had a handle on getting the drivers installed properly and using cgminer to control the GPU OC's I have had a way more stable setup then any attempts at mining with windows.

what dependencies does cgminer require in Ubuntu?

I'm not sure exactly what the minimum dependencies would be..

I have used this writeup/guide many times now using Xubuntu, Ubuntu and also Pinguy (Ubuntu based)
It has worked well every time for me and proved the most reliable method. I use the exact drivers specified in this, substitute the most recent cgminer.

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Gw7YPYgMgNNU42skibULbJJUx_suP_CpjSEdSi8_z9U/edit?pli=1

+1

U should change the version on CGMINER installer chapter to min V 2.7.6 the one written link is dead, but it,s the easiest guide out there.

Put your money were your mouth is…       #coinderdotcom
DobZombie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


TheBitcoinMuseum.com


View Profile
October 16, 2012, 12:04:50 PM
 #90

Linux is a PAIN IN THE ARSE

If you're not 100% versed in LINUX, just install windows.  IT'S EASIER

The Bitcoin Museum is back under my control, but I still need to go through all the code. DO NOT PURCHASE ANYTHING FROM IT

The Biggest Collection of Bitcoin Memorabilia The Bitcoin Museum
Series 2 BitcoinNerd 1g Silver coin thread!
Discount Jewellery! Noella Jean Jewellery



Buy premium Champanges, Spirits & Wines in Australia! My Bitmit Items

Tip Me if you Hate Justin Bieber 1DobZomBiE2gngvy6zDFKY5b76yvDbqRra
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 16, 2012, 11:58:42 PM
 #91

Linux is a PAIN IN THE ARSE

If you're not 100% versed in LINUX, just install windows.  IT'S EASIER
Windows is a PAIN IN THE ARSE

If you're not 100% versed in WINDOWS, just install linux. IT'S EASIER

Blaming familiarity with one for lack of ease on the other works both ways. This is my version.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
dlasher
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 468



View Profile WWW
October 17, 2012, 12:31:10 AM
 #92

Linux is a PAIN IN THE ARSE

If you're not 100% versed in LINUX, just install windows.  IT'S EASIER
Windows is a PAIN IN THE ARSE

If you're not 100% versed in WINDOWS, just install linux. IT'S EASIER

Blaming familiarity with one for lack of ease on the other works both ways. This is my version.

Computers are a PAIN IN THE ARSE

if you're not 100% versed in COMPUTERS, just use pen and paper. IT'S EASIER.


<grin>

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 17, 2012, 12:52:53 AM
 #93

When you tried using linux did you use cgminer to control your OC or ati utilities? Once I had a handle on getting the drivers installed properly and using cgminer to control the GPU OC's I have had a way more stable setup then any attempts at mining with windows.

what dependencies does cgminer require in Ubuntu?

I'm not sure exactly what the minimum dependencies would be..

I have used this writeup/guide many times now using Xubuntu, Ubuntu and also Pinguy (Ubuntu based)
It has worked well every time for me and proved the most reliable method. I use the exact drivers specified in this, substitute the most recent cgminer.

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Gw7YPYgMgNNU42skibULbJJUx_suP_CpjSEdSi8_z9U/edit?pli=1
... or you could read the cgminer README ... or the linux install guide I wrote ... that comes with cgminer .......................
Cheesy

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
sveetsnelda
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
October 17, 2012, 02:13:57 AM
 #94

Windows is a PAIN IN THE ARSE

QFT.

...for mining, anyways.  I run 42 rigs and when I was running Windows for 7970s, it was a royal pain in the arse.  Linux makes my life MUCH easier.

14u2rp4AqFtN5jkwK944nn741FnfF714m7
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
October 17, 2012, 04:41:33 AM
 #95

When you tried using linux did you use cgminer to control your OC or ati utilities? Once I had a handle on getting the drivers installed properly and using cgminer to control the GPU OC's I have had a way more stable setup then any attempts at mining with windows.

what dependencies does cgminer require in Ubuntu?

I'm not sure exactly what the minimum dependencies would be..

I have used this writeup/guide many times now using Xubuntu, Ubuntu and also Pinguy (Ubuntu based)
It has worked well every time for me and proved the most reliable method. I use the exact drivers specified in this, substitute the most recent cgminer.

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Gw7YPYgMgNNU42skibULbJJUx_suP_CpjSEdSi8_z9U/edit?pli=1
... or you could read the cgminer README ... or the linux install guide I wrote ... that comes with cgminer .......................
Cheesy

where is this linux install guide?  i skimmed the OP of the cgminer thread but didn't see it referenced...
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 17, 2012, 04:56:35 AM
 #96

When you tried using linux did you use cgminer to control your OC or ati utilities? Once I had a handle on getting the drivers installed properly and using cgminer to control the GPU OC's I have had a way more stable setup then any attempts at mining with windows.

what dependencies does cgminer require in Ubuntu?

I'm not sure exactly what the minimum dependencies would be..

I have used this writeup/guide many times now using Xubuntu, Ubuntu and also Pinguy (Ubuntu based)
It has worked well every time for me and proved the most reliable method. I use the exact drivers specified in this, substitute the most recent cgminer.

https://docs.google.com/document/d/1Gw7YPYgMgNNU42skibULbJJUx_suP_CpjSEdSi8_z9U/edit?pli=1
... or you could read the cgminer README ... or the linux install guide I wrote ... that comes with cgminer .......................
Cheesy

where is this linux install guide?  i skimmed the OP of the cgminer thread but didn't see it referenced...
linux-usb-cgminer
As per my chopped off sig - it includes HDD install details at the end
(which of course it also says in there)
P.S. the link in the google doc is to my bitcointalk account Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
DobZombie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


TheBitcoinMuseum.com


View Profile
October 17, 2012, 03:41:16 PM
 #97

Linux is a PAIN IN THE ARSE

If you're not 100% versed in LINUX, just install windows.  IT'S EASIER
Windows is a PAIN IN THE ARSE

If you're not 100% versed in WINDOWS, just install linux. IT'S EASIER

Blaming familiarity with one for lack of ease on the other works both ways. This is my version.

NO DON'T TALK ABOUT WINDOWS LIKE THAT.  I LOVE HIM.  YOU DON'T KNOW ME

The Bitcoin Museum is back under my control, but I still need to go through all the code. DO NOT PURCHASE ANYTHING FROM IT

The Biggest Collection of Bitcoin Memorabilia The Bitcoin Museum
Series 2 BitcoinNerd 1g Silver coin thread!
Discount Jewellery! Noella Jean Jewellery



Buy premium Champanges, Spirits & Wines in Australia! My Bitmit Items

Tip Me if you Hate Justin Bieber 1DobZomBiE2gngvy6zDFKY5b76yvDbqRra
Meatball
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
October 18, 2012, 12:29:40 PM
 #98

You need to use the OS that you are most comfortable with.  Anyone can follow some directions and set up a windows/linux miner, but if you don't at least have a basic understanding of the underlying OS that can be an issue.  What do you do when you have some sort of problem with your miner?  If it takes you 30 minutes to figure out how to display what the machine IP address is or show what services are using, you might want to pick something you are more familiar with.
Desolator
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392



View Profile
October 18, 2012, 01:30:58 PM
 #99

Linux is a PAIN IN THE ARSE

If you're not 100% versed in LINUX, just install windows.  IT'S EASIER
Windows is a PAIN IN THE ARSE

If you're not 100% versed in WINDOWS, just install linux. IT'S EASIER

Blaming familiarity with one for lack of ease on the other works both ways. This is my version.

Computers are a PAIN IN THE ARSE

if you're not 100% versed in COMPUTERS, just use pen and paper. IT'S EASIER.
<grin>

You could learn how to use Windows instead though.  Then it'd not be a pain in the ass.  I've never had a virus ever.  I've never had it crash ever.  That's because I know what I'm doing.  Linux is not user friendly but if you want to take user unfriendliness to the next level, just go on a Linux forum and ask a question.
DobZombie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


TheBitcoinMuseum.com


View Profile
October 19, 2012, 01:38:10 PM
 #100


You could learn how to use Windows instead though.  Then it'd not be a pain in the ass.  I've never had a virus ever.  I've never had it crash ever.  That's because I know what I'm doing.  Linux is not user friendly but if you want to take user unfriendliness to the next level, just go on a Linux forum and ask a question.

Same here.  I don't get viruses, don't even have firewall or anti-virus installed!


The Bitcoin Museum is back under my control, but I still need to go through all the code. DO NOT PURCHASE ANYTHING FROM IT

The Biggest Collection of Bitcoin Memorabilia The Bitcoin Museum
Series 2 BitcoinNerd 1g Silver coin thread!
Discount Jewellery! Noella Jean Jewellery



Buy premium Champanges, Spirits & Wines in Australia! My Bitmit Items

Tip Me if you Hate Justin Bieber 1DobZomBiE2gngvy6zDFKY5b76yvDbqRra
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!