Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 08:31:37 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Use Beagleboard/Pandaboard to run FGPA mining rig  (Read 13490 times)
torusJKL
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 594


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 07:10:41 AM
 #1

Hi

I'm looking into creating a rig using FGPAs.
To control them I would like to use a Beagleboard-xM or Pandaboard ES.

The Beagleboard-xM has a 1GHz ARM Cortex-A8.
The PandaBoard ES has a Dual-core ARM Cortex-A9 MPCore with Symmetric Multiprocessing (SMP) at 1.2 GHz each.

Has somebody used these boards?
How many FGPAs do you think it will able to manage?

Thanks.

If you find my post useful send some BTC: 167XM1Za8aG9CdbYuHFMpL2kvPsw6uC8da
Bitrated || bitcoin-otc || Moon Bitcoin Faucet
1481142697
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481142697

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481142697
Reply with quote  #2

1481142697
Report to moderator
1481142697
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481142697

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481142697
Reply with quote  #2

1481142697
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
n0ne
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


Trusted Bitcoin Gambling website


View Profile WWW
January 20, 2012, 02:23:05 AM
 #2

Estimated hashes? Grin

torusJKL
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 594


View Profile
January 20, 2012, 01:19:26 PM
 #3

Estimated hashes? Grin
As a start 900 - 1000 MHash

If you find my post useful send some BTC: 167XM1Za8aG9CdbYuHFMpL2kvPsw6uC8da
Bitrated || bitcoin-otc || Moon Bitcoin Faucet
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
January 20, 2012, 03:47:34 PM
 #4

You really could use almost anything to control the FPGAs. For example, the Icarus board has simply a UART-USB chip. It takes USB data and feeds it serial into the FPGA. So the interface/control of the FPGA is trivial computing wise. The task is more about how you get work for the miner and UI/RPC.

I'm building a single chip PIC with Ethernet board as a miner control to feed a cluster of FPGAs. It's not built yet but the PCB design is done. I'm waiting for the Chinese PCB fab to re-open after their New Year so I can make some boards. Good they took a holiday as I'm having extra time to fix mistakes and improve the design.

CubedRoot
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


View Profile
January 20, 2012, 09:42:43 PM
 #5

I would rather go with a RaspberryPi than a beagleboard.

http://www.raspberrypi.org/
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
January 20, 2012, 10:02:19 PM
 #6

Your DD-WRT'd USB router Smiley
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
January 20, 2012, 10:17:15 PM
 #7

I would rather go with a RaspberryPi than a beagleboard.

http://www.raspberrypi.org/
I'm eager to get my hands on one when they come out. Credit card size coolness.

chungenhung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
January 20, 2012, 10:29:05 PM
 #8

Your DD-WRT'd USB router Smiley
that would be really awesome if someone can get that to work.

Trading MtGox USD for Dwolla/ACH deposit/Chase cash deposit
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=90115.0
Buy/Sell Call/Put Bitcoin options https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=99853.0
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2012, 03:06:19 AM
 #9

Well, got cgminer to compile for the mips (broadcom) processor my ASUS RT-N16 has.
Absolutely no idea if it does ANYTHING, but it compiled!

All in need to do now is:
Actually install DD-WRT on my router.
Acquire a BFL unit.
See if it does anything Smiley
n0ne
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


Trusted Bitcoin Gambling website


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2012, 06:51:47 AM
 #10

Estimated hashes? Grin
As a start 900 - 1000 MHash

WAT? how? on what board. Let's break this down.

ps. The Raspberry Pi seems like it wouldn't hash much... But $25, I guess you can just buy LOTS of them.

CubedRoot
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


View Profile
January 21, 2012, 06:53:50 AM
 #11

I think you missed it completely there n0ne. LMAO!

Hes wanting to use a Raspberry Pi to control a farm of FPGA's.  The BFL's are supposed to get around 854 mHash.
n0ne
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


Trusted Bitcoin Gambling website


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2012, 07:05:56 AM
 #12

haha yea maybe it went over my head. I'm a bit new to this FPGA stuff. The way I under stand it i RaspberryPi board with it's on-board chip would be way to weak. So I'm guessing the idea is to control something else with it?

ps. I'm drunk, be nice Cheesy

CubedRoot
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


View Profile
January 21, 2012, 07:07:55 AM
 #13

NA. I think it would be OK.  Its a pretty powerful liittle arm processor.
All you really need is just something to distribute work to the BFL units, server as a "hub" and connect to your pool.  All the hasing is done on the BFL (FPGA) in much the same context as a GPU does the work in a "normal" rig.
n0ne
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


Trusted Bitcoin Gambling website


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2012, 08:11:29 AM
 #14

NA. I think it would be OK.  Its a pretty powerful liittle arm processor.
All you really need is just something to distribute work to the BFL units, server as a "hub" and connect to your pool.  All the hasing is done on the BFL (FPGA) in much the same context as a GPU does the work in a "normal" rig.


Oh ok I see. The idea is to use one of these to be the controller for all the BFL boxes. Neat, would make things more stream line.

torusJKL
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 594


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 09:44:32 AM
 #15

I would rather go with a RaspberryPi than a beagleboard.

http://www.raspberrypi.org/

Unfortunately they are not for sale yet.
But as soon as they are I will get myself one of these anyways.

I think you missed it completely there n0ne. LMAO!

Hes wanting to use a Raspberry Pi to control a farm of FPGA's.  The BFL's are supposed to get around 854 mHash.

Exactly.
This should manage several independant FPGA boards.
BFL..., well let's see when they are out.

If you find my post useful send some BTC: 167XM1Za8aG9CdbYuHFMpL2kvPsw6uC8da
Bitrated || bitcoin-otc || Moon Bitcoin Faucet
rupy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 724



View Profile
January 22, 2012, 07:25:58 PM
 #16

I use a mini-itx atom D510MO as desktop and run my fpga from that, economical, silent and better for the environment and with proper linux!

BANKBOOK GWT Wallet & no-FIAT Billing API
BTC 14xr5Q1j61A1eA6Mrs5MRhUmYZKboY8iq2 | Vanillacoin FPGA Miner
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 09:21:32 PM
 #17

I use a mini-itx atom D510MO as desktop and run my fpga from that, economical, silent and better for the environment and with proper linux!
<3 Pico-ITX formfactor with a Via processor.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
CubedRoot
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 09:39:39 PM
 #18

The RaspberryPi is supposed to be around 5 watts.  
Most Mini-ITX boards will be in the 50 to 75 watt range.

Oh, the RaspberryPi also runs a proper linux distro....Debian Smiley
ArtForz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 09:47:44 PM
 #19

The RaspberryPi is supposed to be around 5 watts.  
Most Mini-ITX boards will be in the 50 to 75 watt range.

Oh, the RaspberryPi also runs a proper linux distro....Debian Smiley
50-70W? For a atom or via board? In what universe?

bitcoin: 1Fb77Xq5ePFER8GtKRn2KDbDTVpJKfKmpz
i0coin: jNdvyvd6v6gV3kVJLD7HsB5ZwHyHwAkfdw
CubedRoot
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 09:50:32 PM
 #20

Im talking total power draw measured using a kill-a-watt.  You figure in the ineffeciency of the PSU, HDD, and the mobo, you will see around 50 watts.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!