Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 12:44:47 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 7970 + Previous Generation Card  (Read 1523 times)
portron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 04:44:54 PM
 #1

So I picked up a 7970 the other day, dropped it in an open PCI-e slot I had on one of my rigs and expected to be able to install the display adapter and get it up and running...

Well fast forward 3 days and I've pretty much given up.


Initially I had a 5870 installed in the computer, with 11.12, in the 1st pcie slot. I put the 7970 in the 2nd, installed the latest 7xxx series drivers and rebooted. Couldn't get past the initial windows boot screen.

Then I decided that perhaps it’s because I'm not using it as the main display adapter, switched the cards around, no dice.

OK, so then I thought maybe the 11.12 drivers for the 5870 were screwing it up, uninstalled those, and only installed the 7xxx drivers... Nothing.

Finally, figuring there were some left over registry files or something, so I wiped the drive, fresh install of W7.  Installed ONLY the 7xxx drivers from ATI's site.  Still no go.

Read on the AMD forums that some people were having issues with those drivers on the site, so tried the drivers that came with the CD.

Finally, frustrated, I pulled the 5870 out and the 7970 worked smoothly.  Before you jump in and say Power Supply, it's a new PC Power and Cooling 950w, and I've run three 5870's on it without issue, so I highly doubt it's a power issue.

From my understanding, both cards should be able to be installed simultaneously without crossfire as independent display adapters... but hell if I could get it to work.

Any ideas?

Thanks
1480898687
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480898687

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480898687
Reply with quote  #2

1480898687
Report to moderator
1480898687
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480898687

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480898687
Reply with quote  #2

1480898687
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480898687
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480898687

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480898687
Reply with quote  #2

1480898687
Report to moderator
MelMan2002
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434



View Profile
January 19, 2012, 04:55:05 PM
 #2

Did you use driver sweeper to wipe out the old driver installation?
portron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 04:55:43 PM
 #3

Yeah, and formatted the drive with a fresh install, and used ONLY the 7970 drivers.
MelMan2002
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434



View Profile
January 19, 2012, 05:03:48 PM
 #4

Yeah, and formatted the drive with a fresh install, and used ONLY the 7970 drivers.

Oh, I see.  So does the 5870 work by itself with the 7970 drivers?
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 05:04:54 PM
 #5

Need more details.

When you say "nothing".  What is nothing?  What exactly happened after the clean install of windows & drivers w/ both cards installed.
ArtForz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 05:07:19 PM
 #6

Just tried it for shits and giggles... 7970 primary, 6870 secondary w/ the 7970 drivers from AMDs site for windows and 11.12 for linux. works.

bitcoin: 1Fb77Xq5ePFER8GtKRn2KDbDTVpJKfKmpz
i0coin: jNdvyvd6v6gV3kVJLD7HsB5ZwHyHwAkfdw
despoiler
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 94


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 05:09:33 PM
 #7

I have my 7970 installed in PCI-E slot 1 and my 5850 in slot 2.  I installed the 11.12 7970 drivers from the website right over the top of my previous drivers and had no issues.  Both cards worked.  I also tried some other beta drivers and ended up uninstalling everything AMD and re-installing the 11.12 7970 website drivers.  Again no issues with either card.  

No idea what is wrong with your rig, but I can definitely say it should work.  I'm using Win 7 64 Ultimate.  My monitor is connected to my 7970 using DP.
portron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 05:10:21 PM
 #8

Need more details.

When you say "nothing".  What is nothing?  What exactly happened after the clean install of windows & drivers w/ both cards installed.

Sorry, stuck on the windows boot screen.

Clean install w/ 7970 drivers installed (both cards in) - Stuck on windows boot screen.


Oh, I see.  So does the 5870 work by itself with the 7970 drivers?

I'll have to give that a try.
MelMan2002
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434



View Profile
January 19, 2012, 05:12:21 PM
 #9

I assume you have either a display connected to each card or a dummy plug in one of them?  Even without that I'd think that it should boot.
portron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
January 19, 2012, 05:15:35 PM
 #10

Just tried it for shits and giggles... 7970 primary, 6870 secondary w/ the 7970 drivers from AMDs site for windows and 11.12 for linux. works.

I have my 7970 installed in PCI-E slot 1 and my 5850 in slot 2.  I installed the 11.12 7970 drivers from the website right over the top of my previous drivers and had no issues.  Both cards worked.  I also tried some other beta drivers and ended up uninstalling everything AMD and re-installing the 11.12 7970 website drivers.  Again no issues with either card.  

No idea what is wrong with your rig, but I can definitely say it should work.  I'm using Win 7 64 Ultimate.

Well good to know it works, Thanks!  I was going nuts looking to see if anybody had gotten it to work.

The only thing I can think of is perhaps its my 5870 going bad, or some sort of wierd motherboard incompatability.  I'll do some swapping around with other cards tongiht when I get home.
portron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
January 20, 2012, 02:53:26 AM
 #11

Thanks for all of the responses.

I have a bad 5870 Sad

Swapped in a different 5870 and it booted right up, checked with a 6950 as well and worked perfectly.

Odd thing is, with just that 'bad' 5870 in, it will boot and mine... who knows.

malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile
January 20, 2012, 03:58:29 AM
 #12

Thanks for all of the responses.
I have a bad 5870 Sad
Swapped in a different 5870 and it booted right up, checked with a 6950 as well and worked perfectly.
Odd thing is, with just that 'bad' 5870 in, it will boot and mine... who knows.

These things happen with multiple cards, very few people actually use more than 1 or max. 2 GPUs for everyday gaming and work.
When I connect one of my HD 5850s in slot1 and another (same model, etc.) in slot2, I'll be getting BSODs after half an hour of mining. When I switch the cards all works fine. In slot3 there is a 6850.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!