Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 10:35:52 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Building my first miner  (Read 1329 times)
fanquake
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


View Profile
January 21, 2012, 05:14:15 AM
 #1

Hi Guys,

I've been wanting to build a miner for a quite a while now, and over the last few weeks, I've convinced myself to start building. I'm currently in Perth, Australia, and I'm hoping that some locals might be able to help me get started.

I've looked over probably 15 Aussie websites, and the recurring theme seems to be over priced parts, or none of the parts that I need. I should point out that I'm looking to build a rig similar to this one https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_rig#One_ATI_5830.2C_Approximately_245_Mhash.2Fs, although if someone could recommend different parts ect, then i'm open to suggestions.

Hopefully someone can point me in the right direction,

Cheers

Fordy




1481409352
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409352

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409352
Reply with quote  #2

1481409352
Report to moderator
1481409352
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409352

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409352
Reply with quote  #2

1481409352
Report to moderator
1481409352
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409352

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409352
Reply with quote  #2

1481409352
Report to moderator
If you see garbage posts (off-topic, trolling, spam, no point, etc.), use the "report to moderator" links. All reports are investigated, though you will rarely be contacted about your reports.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481409352
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409352

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409352
Reply with quote  #2

1481409352
Report to moderator
savycoop
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
January 21, 2012, 05:46:42 AM
 #2

Hi Guys,

I've been wanting to build a miner for a quite a while now, and over the last few weeks, I've convinced myself to start building. I'm currently in Perth, Australia, and I'm hoping that some locals might be able to help me get started.

I've looked over probably 15 Aussie websites, and the recurring theme seems to be over priced parts, or none of the parts that I need. (I should point out that I'm looking to build a rig similar to this one https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_rig#One_ATI_5830.2C_Approximately_245_Mhash.2Fs, although if someone could recommend different parts ect, then i'm open to suggestions. )

Hopefully someone local can point me in the right direction,

Cheers

Fordy






Hi. I have a similar setup, but only with the following parts:

Mobo - MSI 790FX-GD70 - $120 cdn
RAM - 2GB - $20 cdn
CPU - AMD Athlon II X2 250 - $67 cdn
PSU - OCZ 1000W power supply (refurbished) - $60
Video Card - ATI 5830 (I actually got 2 of these) - $80 cdn / card (I got it used)

Except for the video cards, I got the other parts for 75% of the price listed. So my total setup is about $200 + $160 (2 x 5830) = $360

I don't have a case for it as I have it just sitting bare on top of my desk/shelf. I just plug it into my existing LCD monitor and keyboard to boot it up and to get it going, then I unplug them and plug them back into my other system that I use regularly. I just SSH into the box to check on it regularly.

I am booting my miner using Linuxcoin 2.1b in persistent mode with Phoenix Miner on a 1GB USB stick. I have the ATI GPU @ 900, Mem Clock @ 275, Voltage @ 1.125 and getting ~272 Mhash/s. So with the 2 cards in the miner, I get ~540 Mhash/s. Temperature wise, it's about 70 celsius on one card and 67 celsius on the other. So not overly heated.

This is also my 1st miner. I'm happy with the setup Smiley
Costia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28



View Profile
January 22, 2012, 07:10:28 AM
 #3

what is your current pc?
why not just buy a good gpu for it? the rest doesnt really matter for hashrate
I am mining with a pc i bought for gaming about a year ago with an ATI 5770
QuantumFoam
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 07:17:09 AM
 #4

you are in Australia so the prices won't be the same obviously, but I recently completed my first dedicated mining rig with the following

MB: MSI 890FXA GD70
PSU: Corsair AX 1200
RAM: 2GB
CPU: AMD Sempron 140
GPUs: Radeon 5870 x 4 (refurbished)
HD: 8GB USB stick
OS: Xubuntu 11.04 boot off usb stick, runs cgminer automatically on startup.

Rig is headless and I ssh in to manage it. It runs very nicely so far. I was able to put it together for about 1k, due to low prices on the refurb 5870s. I'm debating whether to add a 5th 5870 (if I can find one for a good price) or if that would overload the ATX power connector on the motherboard and/or tax the power supply too much. Also want to build a simple wooden frame for the cards once my pci-e extenders arrive.
Epoch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917



View Profile
January 22, 2012, 07:27:06 AM
 #5

Savycoop and QuantumFoam have nice setups. The 2 most important elements of any mining rig are the GPUs and the power supply. Get the cheapest mobo and cpu and ram you can find; they have no impact on mining. That usually means an AMD mobo and cpu (Athlon x2 or Sempron are a common choice).

You want a mobo with at least 2 PCIe slots because it won't be cost effective to run a single card (unless you have free electricity). Being able to run a 2nd (or 3rd) card will increase your net $/Mhash ratio. If the mobo has only 2 slots, try to make sure they are separated by at least 3 slots to help with cooling. A gpu running 24/7 needs good cooling. You can also run PCIe extenders as an option, so this may not be a big issue.

The best GPUs are the 58xx series, if you can find them cheap. A 5870 for $150 is good (400Mhash). So is a 5830/50 for $75/$100. If you don't mind the noise and heat, a 5970 for $300 is another good choice (750Mhash). A 6870 is also a decent card that will get you 300Mhash when overclocked to 980MHz or so. Forget the 69xx series unless you can find them cheap; a 6950 will get you 350Mhash ... so if a 5870 is $150, the 6950 isn't worth buying unless it is cheaper than that. I wouldn't recommend the 57xx series ... their hashrates are too low to be very useful miners; along with the rest of the PC, the power used will likely cost more than a 5770 can mine.

You want an efficient and high-quality PSU since it will be running 24/7. Don't skimp here, or you are just asking for problems. Look for 80PLUS Bronze at least; Silver and Gold are even better.

BTC: 1DJVUnLuPA2bERTkyeir8bKn1eSoRCrYvx
NMC: NFcfHSBBnq622pAr1Xoh9KtnBPA5CUn6id
bangra
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43



View Profile
January 22, 2012, 02:41:59 PM
 #6

As has already been said, cheap CPU, low amount of ram and if possible either a laptop or SSD for hard disk, maybe even usb pen if you are running linux rigs, i would say spend sensible money of a Mobo with 4/5 PCIe slots as 2 is just never enough and spend out on a decent PSU. Running 3 rigs here and 5850/5870's IMHO are they way to go if you cant find any 5970's cheap

Have i helped? 1Gm9NMJ2qn2XU1qc4Mps9GSCGe5cdetmpv
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 03:19:27 PM
 #7

Make sure you buy a GOOD PSU.
fb39ca4
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
January 23, 2012, 03:10:22 AM
 #8

How many video cards will you be putting in there at most if you do decide to expand in the future?
imsaguy
General failure and former
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 574

Don't send me a pm unless you gpg encrypt it.


View Profile WWW
January 23, 2012, 03:13:50 AM
 #9

Thought I might list the parts I've chosen so far, and you can point out any glaring holes if you feel so inclined. I should point out that I'm not trying to build a high Mhash miner to start of with, just learning how to put one together.

MOBO: AsRock 970-Extreme3 AMD 970 DDR3 Motherboard - $99 (not sure on this)
PSU: A-Power M80 Plus 750W 80+ Certified PSU - $70 (not sure on this either, but I've been told I should spend up here)
CPU: AMD Sempron 145 - $41
RAM: 2GB - $10
GPU: AMD Radeon HD 6850  - $168
HD: 8GB USB - $0
OS: Linux

So all up ~ $388 which is a bit more than I'd like, so I'd like to cut down on the MOBO or PSU if possible.

Parts are coming from here http://www.msy.com.au/product.jsp?

Cheers


Rule #1:  NEVER EVER EVER go cheap on the PSU.  You'll get screwed in no time and then you'll be out more money than if you had paid to get a nice one.

Coming Soon!™ © imsaguy 2011-2013, All rights reserved.

EIEIO:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=60117.0

Shades Minoco Collection Thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=65989
Payment Address: http://btc.to/5r6
imsaguy
General failure and former
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 574

Don't send me a pm unless you gpg encrypt it.


View Profile WWW
January 23, 2012, 03:41:43 AM
 #10


Rule #1:  NEVER EVER EVER go cheap on the PSU.  You'll get screwed in no time and then you'll be out more money than if you had paid to get a nice one.

Is the one I've got listed already to cheap?

If you're only going to be using 1 gpu, it should be ok.  If you plan on expanding later on, it'd be better to just buy a bigger one now.

Coming Soon!™ © imsaguy 2011-2013, All rights reserved.

EIEIO:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=60117.0

Shades Minoco Collection Thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=65989
Payment Address: http://btc.to/5r6
fb39ca4
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
January 23, 2012, 04:10:58 AM
 #11


Rule #1:  NEVER EVER EVER go cheap on the PSU.  You'll get screwed in no time and then you'll be out more money than if you had paid to get a nice one.

Is the one I've got listed already to cheap?
Kinda. Plus, it seems like no one else has heard of the brand, as I have seen zero professional reviews. The safest bet is to go with a trusted brand like Corsair, Antec, or Seasonic. 750w is enough for 3 6850s though.

As for the motherboard, if you are going to be housing this in a proper computer case, then you will need to find one with 3 x16 or open-ended x1 slots with no components blocking the way that have the proper spacing. (and a 9-slot computer case) If you are going the DIY open frame route you have more options as you can just buy a board with as many PCIe slots as you need, of any type, of any spacing and just use riser cables to keep the cards above the motherboard and spaced apart for cooling purposes.
fb39ca4
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
January 23, 2012, 05:06:06 AM
 #12

If you can find an Asrock 870 extreme3, it will be cheaper, but still have enough slots.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!