Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 11:29:50 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Best motherboard suggestion  (Read 4037 times)
bonker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile
January 21, 2012, 11:35:28 AM
 #1

So I need a good mobo anyone got any suggestions? Basically as many pci-e slots as reasonable but be cost effective.

Who got the knowledge up in here?

BTC: 1FU1EX4xCEt26rezoNaEZ1rhbqA4VVP8pq
LTC: Li8UYJprncRwmNzvRs53UG714Lcps2Yy8R
1481326190
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481326190

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481326190
Reply with quote  #2

1481326190
Report to moderator
1481326190
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481326190

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481326190
Reply with quote  #2

1481326190
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481326190
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481326190

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481326190
Reply with quote  #2

1481326190
Report to moderator
BinaryMage
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


Ad astra.


View Profile
January 21, 2012, 06:56:49 PM
 #2

"As many PCIe slots as reasonable"

That's a little unclear. What do you mean by "reasonable", and are you willing to use PCI to PCIe extenders?

-- BinaryMage -- | OTC | PGP
bonker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile
January 21, 2012, 07:15:36 PM
 #3

No extenders, just something that can fit into a standard tower. Must be some decent 3-4 pci-e slot mobos out there. Whats best?

BTC: 1FU1EX4xCEt26rezoNaEZ1rhbqA4VVP8pq
LTC: Li8UYJprncRwmNzvRs53UG714Lcps2Yy8R
BinaryMage
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


Ad astra.


View Profile
January 21, 2012, 07:19:13 PM
 #4

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130274 will do four cards for $170, but I'd really recommend you build a custom case, cramming cards in and running at 100% will give you endless thermal issues.

-- BinaryMage -- | OTC | PGP
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
January 21, 2012, 07:19:26 PM
 #5

then I would suggest the msi gd70. it has 5 slots, but you can put 3 cards on the board with a little space inbetween them.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130274

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
January 21, 2012, 07:21:23 PM
 #6

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130274 will do four cards for $170, but I'd really recommend you build a custom case, cramming cards in and running at 100% will give you endless thermal issues.

this one will do 5 cards. or even 6:




1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
BinaryMage
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


Ad astra.


View Profile
January 21, 2012, 07:23:58 PM
 #7

this one will do 5 cards. or even 6:





OP stated it would be put in a "standard tower", but yes, we agree on the motherboard.

-- BinaryMage -- | OTC | PGP
rastapool
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 456



View Profile
January 21, 2012, 07:27:59 PM
 #8

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=45247.0

The parasite hates three things: free markets, free will, and free men.
Napster is down - this is the END of illegal file sharing!
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
January 21, 2012, 07:29:17 PM
 #9


OP stated it would be put in a "standard tower", but yes, we agree on the motherboard.

Yes.  I was replying to the fact that you said that board would do 4.   I guess you mean 4 without extenders.  it will do 3 with space between each card..  it is a good board.

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
BinaryMage
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


Ad astra.


View Profile
January 21, 2012, 07:30:58 PM
 #10

Yes.  I was replying to the fact that you said that board would do 4.   I guess you mean 4 without extenders.  it will do 3 with space between each card..  it is a good board.

Yes, I was referencing that it would do 4 in a std. case. (w/o extenders) I agree, extenders are a better idea, OP just stated std. case.

-- BinaryMage -- | OTC | PGP
bonker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile
January 21, 2012, 07:34:49 PM
 #11

Thanks for the tips fellas. I'm sticking to a standard case, but If I can find a mobo that will take 5 cards with extenders, then I like that option. I just don't feel like building a case right now, too lazy.


BTC: 1FU1EX4xCEt26rezoNaEZ1rhbqA4VVP8pq
LTC: Li8UYJprncRwmNzvRs53UG714Lcps2Yy8R
ArtForz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
January 21, 2012, 07:46:16 PM
 #12

+1 for MSI 890FXA-GD70
3 cards in standard cases with airspace, can do 6 cards with risers, 6-pin connector onboard so no need for powered risers.
And +1 on "don't put cards right next to each other, unless you like overheating cards and dead fans".

bitcoin: 1Fb77Xq5ePFER8GtKRn2KDbDTVpJKfKmpz
i0coin: jNdvyvd6v6gV3kVJLD7HsB5ZwHyHwAkfdw
singular
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
January 21, 2012, 11:28:03 PM
 #13

http://www.asus.com/Motherboards/AMD_AM3Plus/SABERTOOTH_990FX/

This any good?
The LT
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 188



View Profile WWW
January 23, 2012, 02:18:54 AM
 #14

GA-EP43-UD3L is cheap and does 5 cards.
cuz0882
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
January 24, 2012, 01:41:51 AM
 #15

What is the cheapest cpu that goes in the 890FXA? I've never been really into amd.
BinaryMage
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


Ad astra.


View Profile
January 24, 2012, 01:45:59 AM
 #16

What is the cheapest cpu that goes in the 890FXA? I've never been really into amd.

Sempron 140 or 145, probably.

-- BinaryMage -- | OTC | PGP
max in montreal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
January 24, 2012, 01:58:52 AM
 #17

What is the cheapest cpu that goes in the 890FXA? I've never been really into amd.

Sempron 140 or 145, probably.

they ost less than 50 bucks...
BinaryMage
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


Ad astra.


View Profile
January 24, 2012, 02:06:05 AM
 #18

they ost less than 50 bucks...

They'll do the job. Whether you like AMD or not, their CPUs are the best for mining, when CPU compute power is of no concern.

-- BinaryMage -- | OTC | PGP
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!