Bitcoin Forum
September 30, 2023, 11:00:43 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 25.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Is possible a 3 HD6990 crossfirex?  (Read 1277 times)
javfue (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 05:58:54 PM
 #1

Can I install 3 video cards in crossfireX HD6990?

There are some special crossfire bridge to do this with the HD6990 as they only have one crossfire connection where you can put a single bridge?

It is true that catalyst has a limit of 4 with three HD6990 GPUs can not handle the 6 GPUs?

It is true that Windows 7 has a limiting physical handle 4 GPUs?

If so, because there are boards for workstation with 7-16x pcie slots?, (Asus Supercomputer P6T7 WS Although it works if you use all 8x)


Thanks for you help
1696071643
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1696071643

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1696071643
Reply with quote  #2

1696071643
Report to moderator
1696071643
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1696071643

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1696071643
Reply with quote  #2

1696071643
Report to moderator
1696071643
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1696071643

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1696071643
Reply with quote  #2

1696071643
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1696071643
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1696071643

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1696071643
Reply with quote  #2

1696071643
Report to moderator
1696071643
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1696071643

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1696071643
Reply with quote  #2

1696071643
Report to moderator
bangra
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43
Merit: 0



View Profile
January 22, 2012, 06:53:20 PM
 #2

2 6990's = 4 GPU's so no you cant run them in crossfire
gurg2.o
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0



View Profile
January 22, 2012, 07:26:40 PM
 #3

Too much
ashinms
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 08:56:08 PM
 #4

Windows will recognize a maximum of 8 GPUs installed on your computer, so you can have a maximum of 4 6990s, but you can only crossfire four of those GPUs. When you dont crossfire cards, they only work on rendering what is on the screen conncected to them, and you can specifically use them for GPGPU. Google search FASTRA. FASTRA II actually uses 13 GPUs, but requires a kernel and BIOS patch.

For your purposes, I'm assuming bitcoin mining, you don't actually need crossfire.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!