Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 04:58:22 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: where from here?  (Read 770 times)
colin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 08:21:44 PM
 #1

http://i1117.photobucket.com/albums/k584/Colin_Flynn1/help.png


still getting the no open cl device message on start up:( solutions?
1480741102
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480741102

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480741102
Reply with quote  #2

1480741102
Report to moderator
1480741102
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480741102

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480741102
Reply with quote  #2

1480741102
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
nmat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 08:22:38 PM
 #2

What is your graphic card?
colin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 08:28:57 PM
 #3

What is your graphic card?


i have an hp pavillion laptop that i just bought this month

the chip it says i have is the intel family graphics
nmat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 08:31:59 PM
 #4

What is your graphic card?


i have an hp pavillion laptop that i just bought this month

the chip it says i have is the intel family graphics

You probably can't mine with that hardware. You need to have an AMD or NVIDIA OpenCL compatible graphics card. Check this list: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison
colin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 08:35:43 PM
 #5

What is your graphic card?


i have an hp pavillion laptop that i just bought this month

the chip it says i have is the intel family graphics

You probably can't mine with that hardware. You need to have an AMD or NVIDIA OpenCL compatible graphics card. Check this list: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

so theres no chance of mining?Sad

and if i have an integrated graphics card can i even upgrade?
nmat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 08:38:11 PM
 #6

so theres no chance of mining?Sad

and if i have an integrated graphics card can i even upgrade?

Not on a laptop. If you want to mine you need to buy a desktop computer with one or more compatible GPUs.
colin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 08:40:05 PM
 #7

so theres no chance of mining?Sad

and if i have an integrated graphics card can i even upgrade?

Not on a laptop. If you want to mine you need to buy a desktop computer with one or more compatible GPUs.


i do have a dell desktop downstairs, maybe that will have a chance at mining?
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
January 22, 2012, 08:41:35 PM
 #8

You can use the CPU the mine litecoins, mining litecoins doesnt need opencl. You can trade litecoins for bitcoins, but litecoins arent worth very much currently, I dont think its worth frying your laptop for.

nmat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 08:42:26 PM
 #9

i do have a dell desktop downstairs, maybe that will have a chance at mining?

You need to know the exact model of the graphics card and then check if it is on the list I posted. If it isn't, then you are out of luck.
Sherkel
aka Tombstoner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 08:45:45 PM
 #10

If you want to use your laptop, go for mining Liquidcoin, Litecoin, Tenebrix, or Fairbrix (in order of my recommendation.)

What do you get when you cross dominoes and The Matrix?
<A dominatrix!>
the joint
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile
January 22, 2012, 08:46:23 PM
 #11

Mining is basically akin to buying Bitcoins slowly using your hardware as a hedge on your investment.

Let's say you spend $1000 to build a 1 GH/s machine.  You'll end up earning a few bucks a day.  Obviously you're hoping the price of BTC goes up in this case so that the Bitcoins you mine become more valuable.

The idea is that even if Bitcoin were to somehow drop to zero value tomorrow, you'd still have the value of your hardware as an asset and you would minimize your losses.

colin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 08:48:27 PM
 #12

desktop might be a no go. my last chance is my friend who wants to mine. he has a macbook pro with nivedia geforce 9400m. any mining potential there? even for just a few bitcoins over time
the joint
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile
January 22, 2012, 08:50:18 PM
 #13

desktop might be a no go. my last chance is my friend who wants to mine. he has a macbook pro with nivedia geforce 9400m. any mining potential there? even for just a few bitcoins over time

With 9400m your'e looking at 1-2 m/hash.  You might earn .01 BTC every few days to be honest.  NVIDIA is terrible for mining.

nmat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


View Profile
January 22, 2012, 08:51:18 PM
 #14

desktop might be a no go. my last chance is my friend who wants to mine. he has a macbook pro with nivedia geforce 9400m. any mining potential there? even for just a few bitcoins over time

If you want bitcoins, buy them.

I advise you against mining in a macbook pro because it has a terrible airflow. Anyway, with that 9400m you would earn around 0.3 bitcoins per month if you mine 24h per day.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!