Bitcoin Forum
January 17, 2018, 11:29:33 AM *
News: Electrum users must upgrade to 3.0.5 if they haven't already. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Phoenix/ATI High CPU Utilization  (Read 1738 times)
BitcoinPappi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 840


View Profile
January 23, 2012, 07:31:36 AM
 #1

I recently did a fresh install. However I noticed that my CPU goes up to 100 % when i start one instance of phoenix( 1 GPU).

--Ubuntu/Natty
--8GB(had some ram laying around)
-- AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 250 Processor
--AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx64
--ati-driver-installer-11-12-x86.x86_64
--Phoenix 1.7.4
--Parameters used with phoenix  -k phatk DEVICE=0 VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=14 WORKSIZE=256
--4 * 5870


Has any one else had/ seen this issue before. I thought the high cpu utilization was for windows only and it had been resolved ?

Please make any suggestions. Right now the CPU is a bottleneck and is limiting the hashrate of the cards , since its practically pegged when 1 instance of phoenix is started.


Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1516188573
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516188573

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516188573
Reply with quote  #2

1516188573
Report to moderator
1516188573
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1516188573

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1516188573
Reply with quote  #2

1516188573
Report to moderator
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2058



View Profile
January 24, 2012, 10:38:50 PM
 #2

use the latest graphics card drivers with 2.1 sdk. works fine for me

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
fred0
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
January 25, 2012, 01:08:35 AM
 #3

I recently did a fresh install. However I noticed that my CPU goes up to 100 % when i start one instance of phoenix( 1 GPU).

--Ubuntu/Natty
--8GB(had some ram laying around)
-- AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 250 Processor
--AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx64
--ati-driver-installer-11-12-x86.x86_64
--Phoenix 1.7.4
--Parameters used with phoenix  -k phatk DEVICE=0 VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=14 WORKSIZE=256
--4 * 5870


Has any one else had/ seen this issue before. I thought the high cpu utilization was for windows only and it had been resolved ?

Please make any suggestions. Right now the CPU is a bottleneck and is limiting the hashrate of the cards , since its practically pegged when 1 instance of phoenix is started.
Try at default setting first, check CPU use, then up the aggression. I don't have any at this high a level.

[Edit: just tried upping my aggression to 14, no difference]

Also make sure you check the PLATFORM=0 or PLATFORM=1 to make sure proper SDK is being used.

BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 512



View Profile
January 25, 2012, 03:10:40 AM
 #4

 Are you sure that you have AMD APP SDK v2.4 installed? You need to remove APP SDK dlls, if you've installed v2.5 before, because they still in os, crappy uninstaller doesn't work correctly. And if you installing 2.4 later, 2.5 dlls are not replaced, so you still have 2.5 after. This explains your cpu bug.
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512



View Profile WWW
January 25, 2012, 03:52:33 AM
 #5

Are you sure that you have AMD APP SDK v2.4 installed? You need to remove APP SDK dlls, if you've installed v2.5 before, because they still in os, crappy uninstaller doesn't work correctly. And if you installing 2.4 later, 2.5 dlls are not replaced, so you still have 2.5 after. This explains your cpu bug.
I am interested in hearing more about uninstalling DLLs from Linux...


11.6/2.4 is the safest bet for beating the CPU bug.
BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 512



View Profile
January 25, 2012, 08:11:32 AM
 #6

Are you sure that you have AMD APP SDK v2.4 installed? You need to remove APP SDK dlls, if you've installed v2.5 before, because they still in os, crappy uninstaller doesn't work correctly. And if you installing 2.4 later, 2.5 dlls are not replaced, so you still have 2.5 after. This explains your cpu bug.
I am interested in hearing more about uninstalling DLLs from Linux...
No idea, I had it on Windows. Maybe Linux has similiar issue.
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


House Nogleg


View Profile WWW
January 25, 2012, 10:31:17 AM
 #7

2.1 is the best to use, purely from a bitcoin mining perspective.  The CPU bug is also fixed in 2.6

Dacentec Dedicated Servers (Lenoir, NC, USA) from $25/mo & Time4VPS Storage VPS' (Vilnius, Lithuania) from €18/qtr & Hetzner's serverbidding, from ~€20/mo -- had bitcoin nodes & p2pool (dacentec, hetzner) for several years on these.  Only two are affiliate links too, kek! -------  Feel free to join my G2A Goldmine Pyramid Scheme Team, or possibly even buy a Steam game from there.  Maybe.
BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 512



View Profile
January 25, 2012, 11:10:17 AM
 #8

2.1 is the best to use, purely from a bitcoin mining perspective.  The CPU bug is also fixed in 2.6
Why 2.1? phatk and phatk2 are optimized for 2.4 and I'm getting best performance with them. Haven't tried 2.1 tho.
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666


View Profile
January 25, 2012, 07:28:02 PM
 #9

I had great performance on my 58xx and 5970 cards with 10.10 and 2.1.  Now using cgminer which needs 2.4 with 11.6 and lost 4-8 Mh/s (2-3%).

BitcoinPappi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 840


View Profile
January 29, 2012, 07:40:19 PM
 #10

Yup,

I am sure I have AMD APP SDK 2.4 only. Was about to upgrade to 2.6 to see if that fixed the problem.  Will let you know  the outcome.
BitcoinPappi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 840


View Profile
January 29, 2012, 08:10:07 PM
 #11

Issue Resolved.

It appears that there is some incompatibility with driver ati-driver-installer-11-12-x86.x86_64 and AMD-APP-SDK-v2.4-lnx64.  I downgraded my drivers to   ati-driver-installer-11-6-x86.x86_64.run and its running smoothly , no more high cpu utilization.

So the golden rule, stick with driver 11.6 and AMP APP 2.4

Thanks for the suggestion guys
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!