Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 01:39:02 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Sapphire 5830 Extreme - Stock Voltage Overclock  (Read 2432 times)
bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
January 26, 2012, 03:08:19 AM
 #1

I was wondering, for those of you running Sapphire 5830 Extreme, how high are you able to get the GPU overclocked using STOCK Voltage ?

I have 6 of these cards and am up to running 965Mhz on the GPU (using 300Mhz Mem) and am wondering if there is anymore to be had from these cards ?

I am running Win7 x64, using CGMiner.

Thanks in advance,
bitlane.

1480772342
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772342

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772342
Reply with quote  #2

1480772342
Report to moderator
1480772342
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772342

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772342
Reply with quote  #2

1480772342
Report to moderator
1480772342
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772342

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772342
Reply with quote  #2

1480772342
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480772342
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480772342

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480772342
Reply with quote  #2

1480772342
Report to moderator
jixapori
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46


View Profile
January 26, 2012, 03:51:22 AM
 #2

What's your megahash rate? I can also going up to 1000 MHz under 300M ram and get around 300-310 Mhps. Using phoenix+guiminer
juggalodarkclow
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980



View Profile
January 26, 2012, 03:54:59 AM
 #3

Try cgminer, auto-overclock sets mine to 970/366 for about 310 Mh/s

bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
January 26, 2012, 04:12:03 AM
 #4

I set one of my cards to 995Mhz to try and it's running at about 318.2 MH/s but it's share/min count is low.... just over 3 shares/min, where it should be 4.

buttons252
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 146


View Profile
January 26, 2012, 04:32:25 AM
 #5

I have two of these, but have kept them conservative at 942mhz/300 stock voltage.  i only get 290m/hash sec since i dont have SDK 2.1 i guess?
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
January 26, 2012, 11:56:23 AM
 #6

I set one of my cards to 995Mhz to try and it's running at about 318.2 MH/s but it's share/min count is low.... just over 3 shares/min, where it should be 4.
The share/min counter is heavily influenced by current difficulty. Don't give it more attention than it deserves.
It will fluctuate to some degree based on your recent luck.


I cant get 1030 on mine but I don't mine on that. My highest setting for mining 24/7 is 1000.
Why? It's not the clock speed itself that kills cards, it's heat and strain.
Strain will be constant while heat is based on core voltage to a large degree(1). If you can undervolt that card a bit feel free to push it as high as it will go.
One of my cards is mining at 1005 MHz with the voltage dropped from stock 1.1V to 1.010V. Not too shabby.

Notes:
(1) Energy consumption of a GPU (hence the amount of heat) changes proportionally to the core voltage squared.
NetworkerZ
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 114


View Profile
January 26, 2012, 12:43:58 PM
 #7

I think, other things like driver and settings are important too:

My 5830s run (only) at 910/300 @ 1.080V @ 295 MHash @ 66°C
I use Catalyst 11.8 and Phoenix with following settings: -k phatk2 VECTORS BFI_INT WORKSIZE=256 AGGRESSION=12 FASTLOOPS=false

Compared to over 1000 Mhz of other GPUs, I think a difference of only 10-15 MHash is good!

Greetz
NetworkerZ
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
January 26, 2012, 01:55:37 PM
 #8

The share/min counter is heavily influenced by current difficulty. It will fluctuate to some degree based on your recent luck. Don't give it more attention than it deserves.

100% untrue. Normally if you solo mine, your miner will try to find a hash that is lower than the current target (you commonly relate this to difficulty). When mining in a pool though, your "shares" are actually hashes that would solve a block as if the difficulty was 1. If you're mining on a pool, you will get the exact same amount of shares/minute if difficulty was 200,000 or 20,000,000. This is why the amount of shares required to find a block average out to the current network difficulty.

bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
January 26, 2012, 04:08:59 PM
 #9

The share/min counter is heavily influenced by current difficulty. It will fluctuate to some degree based on your recent luck. Don't give it more attention than it deserves.

100% untrue. Normally if you solo mine, your miner will try to find a hash that is lower than the current target (you commonly relate this to difficulty). When mining in a pool though, your "shares" are actually hashes that would solve a block as if the difficulty was 1. If you're mining on a pool, you will get the exact same amount of shares/minute if difficulty was 200,000 or 20,000,000. This is why the amount of shares required to find a block average out to the current network difficulty.
Exactly.
When Pool mining, I use shares/minute as a measure of my miner's performance.....to make sure everything is running as it should.

I usually don't bother paying close attention to the value till things settle down and average out...usually 10+ minutes or so.

jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
January 26, 2012, 07:51:52 PM
 #10

Brain-fart fixed. Thanks. Dunno what I was thinking  Roll Eyes
bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
January 26, 2012, 09:33:07 PM
 #11

Brain-fart fixed. Thanks. Dunno what I was thinking  Roll Eyes
Not exactly, you were partially correct if using a different scenario.
The one that comes to mind is if using P2Pool, in which case, your statement was entirely correct.

I just should have been more clear.

I appreciate the response none the less Wink
Every bit of info helps.

Cheers,
bitlane.

jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
January 26, 2012, 10:11:31 PM
 #12

As a matter of fact, a percentage of my rigs do run at p2pool.
This situation (using one's own bitcoind for mining purposes) is, however, a special case most miners won't notice.
In this light, I considered my own earlier post potentially confusing, a "brain fart" if you will.
Constructive criticism and pointing out flaws in my posts are always welcome.
hdfxst
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
January 26, 2012, 10:28:29 PM
 #13

I never tried stock volts but i'm running mine at 1025/300 1.175 volts and the fan at 60%.I just bumped up the voltage to make sure and it's been running since around june or july
chungenhung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
January 27, 2012, 12:52:21 AM
 #14

i always overclock to the highest possible if it can hash 3 days straight in 90F ambient temperature.
Then, lower it by 30MHz. That way I don't need to come back home with stopped/rebooted machines. Saves lots of headaches.

Trading MtGox USD for Dwolla/ACH deposit/Chase cash deposit
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=90115.0
Buy/Sell Call/Put Bitcoin options https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=99853.0
calonew
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
March 30, 2013, 03:06:38 PM
 #15

975MHz GPU/ 300MHz Memory / stock voltage (1.163V) --> 310 MH/S (75C temperature)
actudoran
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 161


View Profile
April 03, 2013, 06:48:39 PM
 #16

what cg version you got ?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!