Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 07:06:10 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 5970 second GPU  (Read 1824 times)
BinoX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


Firstbits: 14tyj3


View Profile
January 27, 2012, 12:08:04 AM
 #1

I've got a 5970 here and it's in a machine running Windows XP...

The 1st GPU on the card runs perfectly, hashes at about 300MHash... The 2nd GPU on the card either doesn't start (crashes the driver) or the mining program reports hardware errors (tried poclbm, diablo and cgminer)

I've searched the forum and found that I'm not the only person experiencing this... However all the solutions seem to be for Linux, which I can't set up on this machine (for reasons I can't go in to!)

Can someone give me a soluton that will work for windows? (Or a driver version that will make it magically work)

Admitedly, the 2nd GPU could be dead, but with other people reporting similar things, I'd like to try a few things first if there's any suggestions...

Please give generously Wink
BTC: 14tyJ34vPEZ22LtkeJsMGPY2oBKq9VgGkE
NMC: N8tkdgUFYWRcLKtZnPv3or1gnPtgPG29Mv
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480748770
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480748770

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480748770
Reply with quote  #2

1480748770
Report to moderator
1480748770
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480748770

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480748770
Reply with quote  #2

1480748770
Report to moderator
1480748770
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480748770

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480748770
Reply with quote  #2

1480748770
Report to moderator
dizzy1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 134


View Profile
January 27, 2012, 01:25:51 AM
 #2

You could use a live cd for linux. But I have never heard of the problem you are describing. Just by guessing it could be a vrm issue.
BinoX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


Firstbits: 14tyj3


View Profile
January 27, 2012, 01:39:24 AM
 #3

Funnily enough since posting that I have tried a linux live cd and set up a usb pen with linux on it and had cgminer running....

Same results though, so I'm sending it back for them to test and probably give me a refund... It's weird though, it works totally fine for games and all the gpu stressing apps

But that's the way it goes, there's probably a small fault somewhere that only shows up under certain circumstances

Please give generously Wink
BTC: 14tyJ34vPEZ22LtkeJsMGPY2oBKq9VgGkE
NMC: N8tkdgUFYWRcLKtZnPv3or1gnPtgPG29Mv
legolouman
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Decent Programmer to boot!


View Profile
January 27, 2012, 03:08:49 AM
 #4

I've heard of that happening a lot lately, with 5970's. One of the GPU's goes, but the other one can keep kicking for quite a while. By any chance was it one of the Bogo ones from Newegg over black friday? They were manufactured (at least that's what I've heard) and have faulty vrms/gpus. Or is it an older card that may just be reaching the end of its life?

The 2nd gpu itself is quite possibly dead.

If you love me, you'd give me a Satoshi!
BTC - 1MSzGKh5znbrcEF2qTrtrWBm4ydH5eT49f
LTC - LYeJrmYQQvt6gRQxrDz66XTwtkdodx9udz
BinoX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


Firstbits: 14tyj3


View Profile
January 27, 2012, 09:14:59 AM
 #5

It's a second hand card from ebay. Thankfully from a business rather than a private seller.

It's been agreed that I can return the card for a refund, so it'll be sent back later today... I'll just have to keep my eyes out for another one

Please give generously Wink
BTC: 14tyJ34vPEZ22LtkeJsMGPY2oBKq9VgGkE
NMC: N8tkdgUFYWRcLKtZnPv3or1gnPtgPG29Mv
BinoX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


Firstbits: 14tyj3


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 02:52:59 PM
 #6

An update on this...

Returned the card, it was tested and no fault was found... so I had the card sent back...

I tried it again in windows, same problem...

I downloaded and set up BAMT... it works fine... With no overclocking and a basic setup I am getting 640MHash total...

I will be donating to that project once I have some bitcoins again.

Please give generously Wink
BTC: 14tyJ34vPEZ22LtkeJsMGPY2oBKq9VgGkE
NMC: N8tkdgUFYWRcLKtZnPv3or1gnPtgPG29Mv
The-Real-Link
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 530



View Profile
February 18, 2012, 08:02:42 AM
 #7

Thanks for the heads up as one of my cards is doing the same.  Might give BAMT a shot but we'll see what the RMA says first.

Oh Loaded, who art up in Mt. Gox, hallowed be thy name!  Thy dollars rain, thy will be done, on BTCUSD.  Give us this day our daily 10% 30%, and forgive the bears, as we have bought their bitcoins.  And lead us into quadruple digits
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!