Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 01:52:15 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: can't adjust fan speeds, 1 bitcoin reward  (Read 1596 times)
cuz0882
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
January 28, 2012, 01:30:46 AM
 #1

I have several systems with 5970's and I have not had a problem until now. two of the cards I just got off ebay from seperate sellers (5970 black editions) will not allow me to change their fan speeds. I have tested them in other systems and I get the same thing. I normally use msi afterburner, but I have tried sapphire trixx, cgminer, and ccc. The fans speeds don't even seem to show up correctly. If it ever displays a fan speed for them it will just say 20% which is not right. Mining is out of the question until I get this fixed, the auto fan speeds are terrible. I'm almost to the point where I'm going to have to splice the fan cables and run them off a manual fan controller. I normally just run them with the catalyst drivers 11.11 , on windows.
1480816335
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480816335

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480816335
Reply with quote  #2

1480816335
Report to moderator
1480816335
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480816335

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480816335
Reply with quote  #2

1480816335
Report to moderator
1480816335
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480816335

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480816335
Reply with quote  #2

1480816335
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480816335
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480816335

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480816335
Reply with quote  #2

1480816335
Report to moderator
paraipan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Firstbits: 1pirata


View Profile WWW
January 28, 2012, 01:36:26 AM
 #2

prob refurbished cards ? so the fans don't work quite right

BTCitcoin: An Idea Worth Saving - Q&A with bitcoins on rugatu.com - Check my rep
cuz0882
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
January 28, 2012, 02:26:44 AM
 #3

prob refurbished cards ? so the fans don't work quite right
Doubt its a problem with the actually fans, they could have been flashed or something. I've never done that so I'm not familiar with it.
cuz0882
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
January 28, 2012, 04:55:25 AM
 #4

Have you considered checking which BIOS version they have, and/or considered flashing with a stock BIOS?
I would if I knew how. Seems like last time I looked into flashing it required windows xp to be installed. Not a lot of easily found information on the subject.
shakaru
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364


View Profile WWW
February 18, 2012, 11:51:51 PM
 #5

You could always water block the cards

bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
February 18, 2012, 11:57:08 PM
 #6

Some people had luck by cutting the blue cable or flashing a different BIOS version but don't blame me if it blows up Tongue
the joint
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792



View Profile
February 19, 2012, 12:00:10 AM
 #7

Kick it.

cuz0882
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
February 19, 2012, 02:20:59 AM
 #8

I had to hook it up to a fan controller and cut the blue wire. Not exactly worthy of the name black edition...
sergio
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 298


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2012, 10:00:42 AM
 #9

do not overclock an 5970 if it is air cooled, unless you have a room airconditioned, the have a tendency to overheat, and never put 2 5970 next to each other unless you watercool them, putting 2 5970 next to each other will overheat them really bad, leading to very poor performance.

On the other hand the 5970 is a wonderful card for overclocking when water cooling, it will overclock very nicely.

In regards the fan speed you probably have a bad bios, flashing it will fix it, but be extremely careful it is a risky process.

It it were the fan it would make a huge noise and spin very slowly, the noise on a bad fan is variable, and wobble a lot, a good fan will only rotate and the noise level will be constant.


ummas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 274


View Profile
March 20, 2012, 05:23:47 AM
 #10

cuz0882
do you have any 5970 where fan works ?
if you do, try to grab bios from there and flash all those cards you have bad.

i did it with atiflash utility booted with msdos from my pendrive.
it takes just few minutes. noo need to use RBE. just grab bios from working card. change card in pc and flash that bios to another witch was bad.
that should work. i did it and works nice.
 i had it in 2 cards and both are ok now.

all you need is:
bootable USB with MS-DOS
atiflash - download it from web page.

you can grab it by CPU-z and flash with RBE of course
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!