Bitcoin Forum
July 20, 2018, 02:56:50 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Water-cooling your KnCMiner Jupiter modules... it works!  (Read 2641 times)
trance2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0

You can't win if you don't play...


View Profile WWW
May 19, 2014, 04:03:45 PM
 #1

I would like to share my success story with using a water-cooling solution with my newly acquired "Jupiter" modules. I originally purchased a "Saturn" miner (November edition) and when the modules became available, I purchased two more to complete the setup and have it become a "Jupiter" miner. I did purchase the Arctic cooling i30 heatsink/fans as suggested, but I also purchased a pair of Corsair H80i (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835181031).

Well I mounted the coolers up and bingo! The coolers are working quite well. I also purchased some memory cooling style, Corsair CMXAF1 (http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835704001) fans to sit over the top of the DC/DC modules. As far as performance goes... I am attaching screen shots of my status pages as well. As you can see from the screen-shot I posted, the temps of the water-cooled modules are about 10 degrees less than the conventionally cooled modules (please take note, the ASIC 3 has never reported the temperature correctly since day 1, I have always used ASIC 1 as the correct temperature benchmark).

The Arctic i30 heatsink's fans have been removed and are now re-utilized to extract air from the sides of the modules (a very temporary solution)... I am considering to get two more Corsair H80i for the original 2 modules.

I have also "over-clocked" or "tuned" the system with the following settings:
SPI Voltage: 1.95 V
SPI Freq: 614400 Hz
ASIC 1: 0.0366 V / 1000 MHz
ASIC 3: 0.0366 V / 1000 MHz
ASIC 4: 0.0366 V / 1000 MHz
ASIC 5: 0.0366 V / 1000 MHz

Overall "Power Consumption": 815.016 Watts!!! :-/ (~200 Watts per module)

To view my real-time performance you can look at my MineCtrl.com dashboard: https://minectrl.com/p/8fc6885ab83843718615c3019c95a64a (note: .worker2 = kncminer and .worker1 = butterfly labs miners)

If you like this idea and would like help me out, you can send tips/donations to my BTC address: 1K3uQ1MjtMwuNiqmQ8Aze77x8D8fhD3oDe

KnCMiner all setup with a Corsair H80i liquid cooling solution and memory fans for the DC/DC modules.
http://forum.kncminer.com/filedata/fetch?photoid=44117

ASIC 1 and ASIC 3 are the front modules and the ASIC 4 and ASIC 5 are the new rear modules. The temp. reporting on ASIC 3 has been incorrect since day 1.
http://forum.kncminer.com/filedata/fetch?photoid=44118

Living in beautiful Ecuador... Mining at 9400ft
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1532098610
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532098610

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532098610
Reply with quote  #2

1532098610
Report to moderator
daddyfatsax
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 853
Merit: 1000


Anger is a gift.


View Profile
May 19, 2014, 04:30:41 PM
 #2

I have seriously considered doing this, but I have a 6 module Jupiter. My temps stay anywhere from 50-60 across 5 modules, strangely I have a module in the 45 C range just like yours. Just cannot bring myself to pay $540 extra for it since my temps are good now.
UNV
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
May 19, 2014, 04:44:11 PM
 #3

Well done !

Did you thing to share that with KNCminer ?? Wink
trance2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0

You can't win if you don't play...


View Profile WWW
May 19, 2014, 07:29:52 PM
 #4

I have seriously considered doing this, but I have a 6 module Jupiter. My temps stay anywhere from 50-60 across 5 modules, strangely I have a module in the 45 C range just like yours. Just cannot bring myself to pay $540 extra for it since my temps are good now.

I am running my miners here in Quito, Ecuador and with this altitude heat dissipation is a bit different, so I am happy I was able to get out of the 60-70 C range and down to the 50s. I am very curious if I was running this at sea-level. It is mind-boggling as to how much power is being consumed, one benefit with mining here in Ecuador is that my power rates are really low (there are some government subsides).

Here are some references regarding heat dissipation at high altitude:
http://www.digikey.com/classic/documentredirector.aspx?doc=http://www.digikey.com/Web%20Export/Supplier%20Content/ComairRotron_25/PDF/Comair_Tutorial_SolvingHighAltitudeCooling.pdf
dspace.mit.edu/bitstream/handle/1721.1/39011/20404614.pdf
http://archive.ericsson.net/service/internet/picov/get?DocNo=28701-EN/LZT146231&

Living in beautiful Ecuador... Mining at 9400ft
daddyfatsax
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 853
Merit: 1000


Anger is a gift.


View Profile
May 19, 2014, 07:40:07 PM
 #5

I have seriously considered doing this, but I have a 6 module Jupiter. My temps stay anywhere from 50-60 across 5 modules, strangely I have a module in the 45 C range just like yours. Just cannot bring myself to pay $540 extra for it since my temps are good now.

I am running my miners here in Quito, Ecuador and with this altitude heat dissipation is a bit different, so I am happy I was able to get out of the 60-70 C range and down to the 50s. I am very curious if I was running this at sea-level. It is mind-boggling as to how much power is being consumed, one benefit with mining here in Ecuador is that my power rates are really low (there are some government subsides).

Here are some references regarding heat dissipation at high altitude:
http://www.digikey.com/classic/documentredirector.aspx?doc=http://www.digikey.com/Web%20Export/Supplier%20Content/ComairRotron_25/PDF/Comair_Tutorial_SolvingHighAltitudeCooling.pdf
dspace.mit.edu/bitstream/handle/1721.1/39011/20404614.pdf
http://archive.ericsson.net/service/internet/picov/get?DocNo=28701-EN/LZT146231&


Cool. I have watercooled many PC's and I might end up doing it. I live in the southern US and we are going to have a crazy hot summer, as usual, so this may be in the books for later. Good work and glad to know it will actually work.
xstr8guy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1000


Glow Stick Dance!


View Profile
May 19, 2014, 07:49:28 PM
 #6

I have seriously considered doing this, but I have a 6 module Jupiter. My temps stay anywhere from 50-60 across 5 modules, strangely I have a module in the 45 C range just like yours. Just cannot bring myself to pay $540 extra for it since my temps are good now.

I am running my miners here in Quito, Ecuador and with this altitude heat dissipation is a bit different, so I am happy I was able to get out of the 60-70 C range and down to the 50s. I am very curious if I was running this at sea-level. It is mind-boggling as to how much power is being consumed, one benefit with mining here in Ecuador is that my power rates are really low (there are some government subsides).

Here are some references regarding heat dissipation at high altitude:
http://www.digikey.com/classic/documentredirector.aspx?doc=http://www.digikey.com/Web%20Export/Supplier%20Content/ComairRotron_25/PDF/Comair_Tutorial_SolvingHighAltitudeCooling.pdf
dspace.mit.edu/bitstream/handle/1721.1/39011/20404614.pdf
http://archive.ericsson.net/service/internet/picov/get?DocNo=28701-EN/LZT146231&


Cool. I have watercooled many PC's and I might end up doing it. I live in the southern US and we are going to have a crazy hot summer, as usual, so this may be in the books for later. Good work and glad to know it will actually work.

Correct me if I'm wrong. But the same amount of waste heat is going to be generated. Liquid cooling just does a better job of removing the heat from the chips. But anyways, I'm intrigued by this as well since I reside in the desert and we've just had our first string of 100f days.
tzortz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 19, 2014, 07:52:17 PM
 #7

You are running too cool.

Why dont you increase the rate.

Tried padrino? Many have exceeded 1Ths.

All is Mine!

1H7LUdfx9AFTMSXPsCBror3RDk57zgnc2R
trance2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0

You can't win if you don't play...


View Profile WWW
May 19, 2014, 09:40:12 PM
 #8

You are running too cool.

Why dont you increase the rate.

Tried padrino? Many have exceeded 1Ths.

I am not familiar with "padrino"... I must poke around and find out what that is about or perhaps could you point me in a direction in which I can read up?

As for increasing the rate... I did push the settings a bit and found that I pushed my 1000W power supply beyond its limits. It is a Corsair RM1000 PSU... It shutdown and I had to wait a minute or two before I was able to get it running again. I do have a Corsair RM850 PSU that I will be splitting the work between the two... once that has been accomplished I will be pushing the miner's limits again.

Living in beautiful Ecuador... Mining at 9400ft
Tehfiend
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 489
Merit: 514



View Profile
May 19, 2014, 09:47:04 PM
 #9

I'm getting the same results with factory air cooling in a 74F air conditioned server room. Should be able to push it further IMO...
trance2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0

You can't win if you don't play...


View Profile WWW
May 19, 2014, 09:54:38 PM
 #10

I'm getting the same results with factory air cooling in a 74F air conditioned server room. Should be able to push it further IMO...

however, i am mining at 9400+ ft above sea-level, cooling and heat dissipation isn't as effective as it is at lower altitudes. the water cooling solution is probably the most effective way to wick away the heat in my environment. blowing air across a heat-sink just doesn't do the trick. 

Living in beautiful Ecuador... Mining at 9400ft
tzortz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 19, 2014, 10:25:49 PM
 #11

You are running too cool.

Why dont you increase the rate.

Tried padrino? Many have exceeded 1Ths.

I am not familiar with "padrino"... I must poke around and find out what that is about or perhaps could you point me in a direction in which I can read up?

As for increasing the rate... I did push the settings a bit and found that I pushed my 1000W power supply beyond its limits. It is a Corsair RM1000 PSU... It shutdown and I had to wait a minute or two before I was able to get it running again. I do have a Corsair RM850 PSU that I will be splitting the work between the two... once that has been accomplished I will be pushing the miner's limits again.


Check here:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=313978.msg6746213#msg6746213

All is Mine!

1H7LUdfx9AFTMSXPsCBror3RDk57zgnc2R
arronlee
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 26, 2016, 05:26:11 AM
 #12

Well done !

Did you thing to share that with KNCminer ?? Wink
Hi, UNV.
Thanks for your nice sharing. But when it comes to pdf processing problem, I have a question to ask you. I wonder whether I need some 3rd party
pdf text extraction toolkits to help me extract text from pdf files. If so, it will be better if itt offers free trial package for users to check. I will try it later and send you feedback.      


Best regrads,
Lee

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!