Bitcoin Forum
September 29, 2016, 11:52:56 AM *
News: Due to DDoS attacks, there may be periodic downtime.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: safdh  (Read 1166 times)
Anonymous
Guest

July 29, 2010, 02:04:17 PM
 #1

adg
1475149976
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1475149976

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1475149976
Reply with quote  #2

1475149976
Report to moderator
"This isn't the kind of software where we can leave so many unresolved bugs that we need a tracker for them." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1475149976
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1475149976

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1475149976
Reply with quote  #2

1475149976
Report to moderator
1475149976
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1475149976

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1475149976
Reply with quote  #2

1475149976
Report to moderator
1475149976
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1475149976

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1475149976
Reply with quote  #2

1475149976
Report to moderator
knightmb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Timekoin - Save Electricity, Don't Waste It!


View Profile WWW
July 29, 2010, 03:17:55 PM
 #2

Wondering if anyone else gets this? I have a P4 machine... sometimes I generate blocks with it. Other times it's shut off.

When I it on, load bitcoin, there may be 500-1000 blocks that it needs to download. This issue has happened since version 2.0 and still happens with 3.3

I start getting connections. Maxes out at 8, and I don't start downloading blocks anywhere from one minute to 30 minutes. Once it starts downloading, it usually gets them all. But sometimes it sticks at some point in the middle. Stops for 2 to 10 minutes before downloading the rest of them.

I noticed this on another computer when it shut down accidentally. Turned it back on, and it took a solid 15 minutes after getting 8 connections to start downloading blocks. No windows defender or anything going on.

Has anyone else seen this?
The longest I've seen on a windows client was under a 1 minute to start updating blocks. The latest client downloads about 500 at a time before verifying and moving on to the next 500 batch.

I have to agree, 15 minutes of waiting does seem a bit excessive, especially since 8 connections is just the max, not usually the requirement for it to work. It's possible the clients it was connected to were slow or were having issues and you had to wait until your computer moved to other clients that weren't so slow.

xcikni
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
July 31, 2010, 07:45:39 AM
 #3

I've seen this when connectin a notebook to the network after a day offline. According to the log it's adding addresses via AddAddress(). It takes like 5-10 minutes to stabilize and start downloading blocks.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!