Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2017, 02:03:08 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Gridseed 5chip USB miner, Does it need Powered USB?  (Read 745 times)
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
May 20, 2014, 07:07:57 PM
 #1

So i've ordered a few GridSeed 5chip usb scrypt miners, and i'm fearful of not having enough USB slots.
I assumed that the USB port would be for communication only, but i've recently read something about 5v power and 12v power
Can I use a usb hub? or does it have to have powered USB ports? if so, whats the required amperage?

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
1511186588
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511186588

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511186588
Reply with quote  #2

1511186588
Report to moderator
1511186588
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511186588

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511186588
Reply with quote  #2

1511186588
Report to moderator
1511186588
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511186588

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511186588
Reply with quote  #2

1511186588
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
May 20, 2014, 08:23:05 PM
 #2

Uhh... Could someone please tell me? I assume somebody knows considering how many have been bought

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
byt411
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


View Profile
May 20, 2014, 08:26:52 PM
 #3

As far as I know, you need to use another cable for the power supply. Also, where did you buy them from? They're out of stock everywhere.
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
May 20, 2014, 08:33:42 PM
 #4

As far as I know, you need to use another cable for the power supply. Also, where did you buy them from? They're out of stock everywhere.
I have PSU's for them, I need to know if the USB ports they use draw a significant amount of power, enough to prevent a USB hub from working with them.
GAWminers has them in stock

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
byt411
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


View Profile
May 20, 2014, 08:36:15 PM
 #5

As far as I know, you need to use another cable for the power supply. Also, where did you buy them from? They're out of stock everywhere.
I have PSU's for them, I need to know if the USB ports they use draw a significant amount of power, enough to prevent a USB hub from working with them.
GAWminers has them in stock

Nope, GAWMiners sold all its stock yesterday. As far as I know, a lot of people plug them into USB hubs and don't have a problem, since it doesn't draw power from the USB.
alexrossi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


View Profile
May 20, 2014, 08:38:51 PM
 #6

My thought is that they consume extra power from the USB if you want to mine also SHA-256 (basically the SHA 256 take extra power from the communication port, like traditional USB miners)

      ▀
   ▄▄▄   ▄▀
   ███ ▄▄▄▄  ██
       ████
    ▄  ▀▀▀▀
▄▄
     ██    ▀▀
██▄█▄▄▄████████
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀▀███▀▀▀
██████████████████
████▄▀▄▀▄▀███▀▀▀▀▀
████▄▀▄▀▄▀███ ▀
████▄▀▄▀▄▀████████
▀█████████████████
]
,CoinPayments,
█████
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████
█████
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████
█████
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
May 20, 2014, 09:04:44 PM
 #7

My thought is that they consume extra power from the USB if you want to mine also SHA-256 (basically the SHA 256 take extra power from the communication port, like traditional USB miners)
Perfect answer! I agree!, since the gridseed miners only pull <10watts when in scrypt only

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
byt411
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


View Profile
May 20, 2014, 09:08:10 PM
 #8

My thought is that they consume extra power from the USB if you want to mine also SHA-256 (basically the SHA 256 take extra power from the communication port, like traditional USB miners)
Perfect answer! I agree!, since the gridseed miners only pull <10watts when in scrypt only

That's probably correct. But you shouldn't use it for SHA-256 anyway.
BTW, JackRabiit, you should sign up for a signature campaign, you can earn loads with it, since you're a Hero Member.
alexrossi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


View Profile
May 20, 2014, 09:14:36 PM
 #9

My thought is that they consume extra power from the USB if you want to mine also SHA-256 (basically the SHA 256 take extra power from the communication port, like traditional USB miners)
Perfect answer! I agree!, since the gridseed miners only pull <10watts when in scrypt only

That's probably correct. But you shouldn't use it for SHA-256 anyway

Totally agree: SHA 256 slow down scrypt mining performance, definetely not worth

      ▀
   ▄▄▄   ▄▀
   ███ ▄▄▄▄  ██
       ████
    ▄  ▀▀▀▀
▄▄
     ██    ▀▀
██▄█▄▄▄████████
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀▀███▀▀▀
██████████████████
████▄▀▄▀▄▀███▀▀▀▀▀
████▄▀▄▀▄▀███ ▀
████▄▀▄▀▄▀████████
▀█████████████████
]
,CoinPayments,
█████
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████
█████
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████
█████
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
May 21, 2014, 02:00:15 AM
 #10

Yeah, the SHA-256 factor of these devices is rather... counter productive
An Ad sig? You mean sell my signature space instead of Bashing BFL 24/7 for free? I don't know if I can do that

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
alexrossi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


View Profile
May 21, 2014, 06:10:19 AM
 #11

Yeah, the SHA-256 factor of these devices is rather... counter productive
An Ad sig? You mean sell my signature space instead of Bashing BFL 24/7 for free? I don't know if I can do that

Many ad campaign allow you to keep some non commercial links beside the ad in your signature

      ▀
   ▄▄▄   ▄▀
   ███ ▄▄▄▄  ██
       ████
    ▄  ▀▀▀▀
▄▄
     ██    ▀▀
██▄█▄▄▄████████
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀▀███▀▀▀
██████████████████
████▄▀▄▀▄▀███▀▀▀▀▀
████▄▀▄▀▄▀███ ▀
████▄▀▄▀▄▀████████
▀█████████████████
]
,CoinPayments,
█████
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████
█████
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████
█████
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████
CartmanSPC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1258



View Profile WWW
May 21, 2014, 05:20:53 PM
 #12

I've had good success with this hub:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00ELPSEVW?psc=1

Also, where does one find more info on these signature ad campaigns?

byt411
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


View Profile
May 21, 2014, 05:25:41 PM
 #13

I've had good success with this hub:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00ELPSEVW?psc=1

Also, where does one find more info on these signature ad campaigns?

Here you go:
RitzGrandCasino
PrimeDice
UpDown.BT
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
May 22, 2014, 12:32:51 AM
 #14

Locking thread, as i've found that a cheap $2 usb hub works

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!