Bitcoin Forum
November 21, 2017, 11:34:00 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can I Mine Scrypt coins?  (Read 474 times)
Gary1973
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
May 21, 2014, 10:19:36 AM
 #1

Hello everyone,

I have just started setting up cgminer to see what kind of results I could generate for SCRYPT based coins but I'm not entirely sure I can even mine then without purchasing additional computer components..

I am hoping by posting these pictures (below) someone may be able to help solve my first question - Can I even mine scrypt coins?

http://i.snag.gy/94kDY.jpg
http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/14/05/21/7va.png


Thank you!
1511307240
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511307240

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511307240
Reply with quote  #2

1511307240
Report to moderator
1511307240
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511307240

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511307240
Reply with quote  #2

1511307240
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511307240
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511307240

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511307240
Reply with quote  #2

1511307240
Report to moderator
1511307240
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511307240

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511307240
Reply with quote  #2

1511307240
Report to moderator
Amph
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694



View Profile
May 21, 2014, 10:55:20 AM
 #2

plz no, just buy some 750ti and mine x11 instead, they are very good at doing this
sgk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176


!! HODL !!


View Profile
May 21, 2014, 11:06:19 AM
 #3

Hello everyone,

I have just started setting up cgminer to see what kind of results I could generate for SCRYPT based coins but I'm not entirely sure I can even mine then without purchasing additional computer components..

Thank you!

You don't have a dedicated graphics card; you're trying to mine on integrated motherboard graphics, which is a bad idea.

If you have a high-end CPU, and if you're not looking to spend anything, try mining CPU-only coins like Bytecoin [BCN] with your CPU.
Gary1973
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
May 21, 2014, 11:24:12 AM
 #4

Hello everyone,

I have just started setting up cgminer to see what kind of results I could generate for SCRYPT based coins but I'm not entirely sure I can even mine then without purchasing additional computer components..

Thank you!

You don't have a dedicated graphics card; you're trying to mine on integrated motherboard graphics, which is a bad idea.

If you have a high-end CPU, and if you're not looking to spend anything, try mining CPU-only coins like Bytecoin [BCN] with your CPU.

I see, thank you for clearing it up for me, I doubt my CPU is anything 'high-end' but may invest in a GFX card at somepoint
sgk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1176


!! HODL !!


View Profile
May 21, 2014, 11:31:37 AM
 #5

Hello everyone,

I have just started setting up cgminer to see what kind of results I could generate for SCRYPT based coins but I'm not entirely sure I can even mine then without purchasing additional computer components..

Thank you!

You don't have a dedicated graphics card; you're trying to mine on integrated motherboard graphics, which is a bad idea.

If you have a high-end CPU, and if you're not looking to spend anything, try mining CPU-only coins like Bytecoin [BCN] with your CPU.

I see, thank you for clearing it up for me, I doubt my CPU is anything 'high-end' but may invest in a GFX card at somepoint

GPU mining for Scrypt is going to be outdated soon, ASIC hardware are already released.
I would advise buying a NVIDIA 750Ti and mining X11 coins like DarkCoin [DRK]
amacar
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile
May 21, 2014, 01:12:30 PM
 #6

Hello everyone,

I have just started setting up cgminer to see what kind of results I could generate for SCRYPT based coins but I'm not entirely sure I can even mine then without purchasing additional computer components..

Thank you!

You don't have a dedicated graphics card; you're trying to mine on integrated motherboard graphics, which is a bad idea.

If you have a high-end CPU, and if you're not looking to spend anything, try mining CPU-only coins like Bytecoin [BCN] with your CPU.

He has G41, so this is 775 socket and he couldn't have high-end cpu, just old "quad" cores.

As other says, buy 750ti, scrypt is not profitable anymore  Angry
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!