Bitcoin Forum
January 22, 2017, 04:38:43 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: BAMT jumping between pools when 1st pool fails  (Read 2312 times)
chungenhung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
January 30, 2012, 10:56:12 PM
 #1

Per the BAMT wiki page
https://github.com/aaronwolfe/Big-A-Miner-Thing/wiki/Using-bamt

Quote
So basically, if you want to mostly mine at the first pool in your file, but fail over to another pool if #1 is down, then try to go back to #1 every so often... put this in your pools file:

http://u:p@mymainpool.com http://u:p@mybackuppool.com,10,60

I have it set up as:
Code:
http://u:p@pool1.com:8332/
http://u:p@pool2.com:8332/,10,60
http://u:p@pool3.com:8332/,10,60
http://u:p@pool4.com:8332/,10,60

It was suppose to go to pool2, work 10 shares, check pool1. If pool1 still down, keep working on pool2. It should only drop down to pool3 if pool1 and pool2 are down.

However, my observation shows that when pool1 fails, it will go to pool2, work for 10 shares, switch to pool3, work for 10 shares, switch to pool4, work for 10 shares, switch to pool2, and the cycle goes on and on. Why is it dropping to pool3 even when pool2 is available?


Any ideas?

Trading MtGox USD for Dwolla/ACH deposit/Chase cash deposit
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=90115.0
Buy/Sell Call/Put Bitcoin options https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=99853.0
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1485103123
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1485103123

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1485103123
Reply with quote  #2

1485103123
Report to moderator
1485103123
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1485103123

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1485103123
Reply with quote  #2

1485103123
Report to moderator
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
January 31, 2012, 12:30:38 AM
 #2

What's your hashrate? Your also telling it to switch if it doesn't find a share in 60 seconds.  I think your syntax is wrong also try
Code:
http://u:p@pool2.com:8332,10,60

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
chungenhung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
January 31, 2012, 12:41:39 AM
 #3

hashrate is normal, around 300MH/s for me.
The syntax on the example file is
Code:
http://yourmom:thiswontwork@pool.bitclockers.com:8332/
http://yourmom:sogetyourown@pool2.bitclockers.com:8332/
http://yourmom:please@deepbit.net:8332/

Trading MtGox USD for Dwolla/ACH deposit/Chase cash deposit
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=90115.0
Buy/Sell Call/Put Bitcoin options https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=99853.0
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
January 31, 2012, 12:52:44 AM
 #4

Get rid of the last / before comma and change to 120 or 90 instead of 60. Luck and pool connection can jump you over 60 seconds. What's the timeout set at in bamt.conf?

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
chungenhung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
January 31, 2012, 01:53:10 AM
 #5

Get rid of the last / before comma and change to 120 or 90 instead of 60. Luck and pool connection can jump you over 60 seconds. What's the timeout set at in bamt.conf?
timeout is set to 180 (default) in bamt.conf

Trading MtGox USD for Dwolla/ACH deposit/Chase cash deposit
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=90115.0
Buy/Sell Call/Put Bitcoin options https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=99853.0
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
January 31, 2012, 02:38:19 AM
 #6

Code:
http://u:p@pool1.com:8332/
http://u:p@pool2.com:8332/,10,60
http://u:p@pool3.com:8332/,10,60
http://u:p@pool4.com:8332/,10,60

So with this your backup pools time out 3 times faster than your primary. 60 is a bit aggressive for 300 Mhash. It sounds like its timing out and failing forward instead of checking back to primary. Try just ,10 so you don't override the bamt.conf timeout.

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!