Bitcoin Forum
November 21, 2017, 03:33:13 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [Project Sweet-Jesus-Completed]Gotta protect your mining equipment.  (Read 1212 times)
jekv2
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
May 21, 2014, 10:32:40 PM
 #1

This is going to power my modded seeds.

EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G2
http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story&reid=380
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817438017

With protecting everything, summa is comin.

Tripp Lite ISOBAR6
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812120541

--

This is going to control my seeds.

Raspberry Pi Model B
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813142001

With minera and sandor111 cpuminer.

I cannot wait to dig into root file systems to convert from SDHC card to an SSD for my rasberry. Been reading up for days. "linux terminal, I miss it"

Gonna be rocking it.

Reason why for the high wattage PSU is I need the amperage & clean power. Also, my old 7 y/o psu, I don't trust powering my gridseeds. Plus planning on getting moar!!! seeds in the future.

1511235193
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511235193

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511235193
Reply with quote  #2

1511235193
Report to moderator
1511235193
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511235193

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511235193
Reply with quote  #2

1511235193
Report to moderator
1511235193
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511235193

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511235193
Reply with quote  #2

1511235193
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511235193
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511235193

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511235193
Reply with quote  #2

1511235193
Report to moderator
1511235193
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511235193

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511235193
Reply with quote  #2

1511235193
Report to moderator
Dimrain13
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
May 22, 2014, 01:10:40 AM
 #2

Nice man! Ive got 2 1000 watt gold Corsairs running my 12 Blades. I settled for my class 10 SD cards lol.
sandpaper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 374


View Profile
May 24, 2014, 12:47:35 AM
 #3

Is that really all you have to do with thermal paste? Put a little dab on and it'll help out? Hmmmmmmm
FullBoat
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
May 24, 2014, 01:38:33 AM
 #4

Is that really all you have to do with thermal paste? Put a little dab on and it'll help out? Hmmmmmmm

Just make sure it's non-conductive. Arctic Silver 5 is a no-no.


Now on to my issue:
I'm using an ATX power supply to power my 12 seeds. I have 10 on one cable, and 2 on another. Then they both plug into a spiltter. Then that plugs into the PCIe cable to the PSU. Well, I just fried where they connect to the PCIe cable, and in the power supply. I've got most of them running about 1200Mhz. I'm assuming I was pulling too much power for 1 cable. How many do you think I can safely run on 1 PCIe port off the PSU?

If you're wondering what cables I'm using to split the power cable, here's a link... http://lutro0-customs.com/products/gridseed-pci-e-modded-power-cables

Here's a quick and dirty diagram:

         /----10 Gridseeds
PSU---
         \----2 Gridseeds
FullBoat
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
May 24, 2014, 07:00:55 AM
 #5

I heard no more than 4-5 per string coming off the PSU. Me, I am going to be using 3 per power pcie plug. I am curious now, which PSU were you using? brand make/model wattage.

It's a Thermaltake Toughpower 875W. So, it has 4 PCIe ports. So, I'm down to 3 now. Even if I could use the one that fried I wouldn't trust it. Sad
I just ordered another spliter, so I'll have 5 on 2 PCIe ports, and 2 on the last one. Right now I have 6 with fans that have been modded to run at half speed. So I'll have one at the top of the stack, and one at the bottom. And, 3 120mm fans running over them.

Time to re-organize my wires. I have everything on 2 shelves in my server rack. Still trying to make it all nice and neat, and good air flow.
FullBoat
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
May 25, 2014, 02:57:08 AM
 #6

Yeah, I'm waiting for 2 more strings to come in. Until I can get another PSU I'll just have to have 4 per, and not OC them as much.
FullBoat
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 02, 2014, 04:57:04 AM
 #7

Nice setup.... now clean up them wires. Smiley
FullBoat
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
June 06, 2014, 05:42:51 AM
 #8

Yeah, I need to hook everything up to a UPS myself.

I've got my 12 on a server shelf, and the PSU/USB on a shelf under it. I think I need to change out 1 of my power strings. My new one is nice and cool with 4 hooked up to it, but my other ones are running pretty warm with just 4 on it. They're all running at 1200MHz+. I modded them myself.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!