Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 11:11:33 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Mhash/Watt for Complete Systems  (Read 6363 times)
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 08:46:32 PM
 #21

I can't even get one rig stable with three 5970's and 2 seasonic gold 750watt joined with a lian li connector

Worse case scenario ... ebay the 2x 750 (or try these forums) and buy a single 1200W.  1000W is all you need but 1200W gives you the option to expand to 4x5970s.

a silverstone 1200 will NOT run 4 5970's overclocked to 820.  a seasonic 1250 will

Dat:
  in reference to the 10 gpus  it has 2 mobos and 2 operating systems..  . I read somewhere that solaris will load Xnumber of gpus?
Quote

my new rig(or is it 2 rigs joined by a common psu)  I will be easily able to do this..

it is 10x7970  3psu's  6790 Mh.  I will calculate the watts tonight.


1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
1481325093
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481325093

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481325093
Reply with quote  #2

1481325093
Report to moderator
1481325093
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481325093

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481325093
Reply with quote  #2

1481325093
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481325093
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481325093

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481325093
Reply with quote  #2

1481325093
Report to moderator
1481325093
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481325093

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481325093
Reply with quote  #2

1481325093
Report to moderator
1481325093
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481325093

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481325093
Reply with quote  #2

1481325093
Report to moderator
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 08:51:22 PM
 #22

edit:
 my new rig(or is it 2 rigs joined by a common psu)  I will be easily able to do this..

it is 10x7970  3psu's  6790 Mh.  I will calculate the watts tonight.


Sounds like 1 PSU per mobo and a third for some of the cards. Good idea actually.

IT IS:


power  220V
Psu's   3 seasonic  2x1250 1x650
mobos  2
7970    10 (5 each mobo)

the 1250's are powering 4x7970 + mobo + hd
the 650 is powering 1 7970 on each mobo

#1 clocks  1143 volts   1162/685  core/mem
#2 clocks  1125 volts   1125/685  core/mem

Mhash #1  3453
Mhash #2  3340  

total 6790+  

uptime, 170k accepted shares..


The rig(s) are still up and stable, albiet running a little warm for my tastes (high 70's)

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
February 02, 2012, 08:51:36 PM
 #23

I can't even get one rig stable with three 5970's and 2 seasonic gold 750watt joined with a lian li connector

Worse case scenario ... ebay the 2x 750 (or try these forums) and buy a single 1200W.  1000W is all you need but 1200W gives you the option to expand to 4x5970s.

a silverstone 1200 will NOT run 4 5970's overclocked to 820.  a seasonic 1250 will

Dat:
  in reference to the 10 gpus  it has 2 mobos and 2 operating systems..  . I read somewhere that solaris will load Xnumber of gpus?
Quote

my new rig(or is it 2 rigs joined by a common psu)  I will be easily able to do this..

it is 10x7970  3psu's  6790 Mh.  I will calculate the watts tonight.


Care to share with us that magic solaris or whatever it is called server that does 10 GPUs in one mobo ? Pics would be nice  Grin

Thanks !
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 08:53:02 PM
 #24


Care to share with us that magic solaris or whatever it is called server that does 10 GPUs in one mobo ? Pics would be nice  Grin

Thanks !
There are 2 mobos, not 1....

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
singular
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 09:08:04 PM
 #25

jjiimm can you post core voltages at which you got these frequencies of your cards?
And what do you mean by high 70's? 78? Smiley
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 09:44:49 PM
 #26

jjiimm can you post core voltages at which you got these frequencies of your cards?
And what do you mean by high 70's? 78? Smiley

The volts are listed with the clocks..  1.143 and 1.125  Please do not take my volts as the 'optimum'  I do not follow a very scientific approach to arrive at these numbers..

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
singular
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 10:18:05 PM
 #27

jjiimm can you post core voltages at which you got these frequencies of your cards?
And what do you mean by high 70's? 78? Smiley

The volts are listed with the clocks..  1.143 and 1.125  Please do not take my volts as the 'optimum'  I do not follow a very scientific approach to arrive at these numbers..

Ah lol somehow i didnt see the voltages Smiley
Well if its stable then its good enough will try em out, what brand 7970 u got?

edit: Do you use pci-e extenders? With or without molexes?
Im asking cuz im waiting for extenders to setup 4x 7970 rigs, but i bought ones without molexes so i wonder if im gonna have to put them there myself..
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 10:43:56 PM
 #28

jjiimm can you post core voltages at which you got these frequencies of your cards?
And what do you mean by high 70's? 78? Smiley

The volts are listed with the clocks..  1.143 and 1.125  Please do not take my volts as the 'optimum'  I do not follow a very scientific approach to arrive at these numbers..

Ah lol somehow i didnt see the voltages Smiley
Well if its stable then its good enough will try em out, what brand 7970 u got?

edit: Do you use pci-e extenders? With or without molexes?
Im asking cuz im waiting for extenders to setup 4x 7970 rigs, but i bought ones without molexes so i wonder if im gonna have to put them there myself..
I have never used powered ext. i do not think we need them anymore...  maybe with the older mobos?,  I always use extenders for cooling.

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
singular
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 11:06:10 PM
 #29

Ok then its all fine if you can run 5x7970 on extenders without molexes then i can do 4 with np Tongue I have asus sabertooth 990fx mobos with four pcie 16 slots, i guess it will work, if not i report here something got fried Cheesy

I tried your volt/freq but for me it crashes, what manufacturer is your 7970, Sapphire (i got sapphires..) or something else ?
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
February 03, 2012, 12:53:40 AM
 #30

Ok then its all fine if you can run 5x7970 on extenders without molexes then i can do 4 with np Tongue I have asus sabertooth 990fx mobos with four pcie 16 slots, i guess it will work, if not i report here something got fried Cheesy

I tried your volt/freq but for me it crashes, what manufacturer is your 7970, Sapphire (i got sapphires..) or something else ?

xfx will do pics
we should move this to the 7970 thread, this is for Mh/J
http://imageshack.us/g/832/img0536sx.jpg/




PSU?

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
pazor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966



View Profile
February 03, 2012, 01:01:49 AM
 #31

5x 5850

2,06 MH/s / Watt -> 371MH/s @ 180Watt

treuhand-Dienst gewünscht? - frag per PM an
BTC 174X17nR7vEQBQo4GXKRGMGaTmB49Gf1yT
singular
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104


View Profile
February 03, 2012, 09:38:48 AM
 #32

I will be using enermax platimax 1500W, i think 1 could take 5 cards, but for now it will be 4 per rig  because i didnt order pcie 1x to 16x extenders..
buttons252
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 146


View Profile
February 03, 2012, 01:06:14 PM
 #33

My setup draws 430watts at the wall with the following:

AMD A8-3870 overclocked 3.4ghz GPU@720mhz
Asrock extreme 6 FM1
2x4gb ddr3 1866 overvolted to 1.7 (just so i could run advertised speeds/timings
MSI 7970 978mhz @ 1.03V  been stable for a couple days might have a little more left in it
Reference 5870 @ 885mhz/300mem 1.1v
HEC 1080w psu

Total system hash rate from iGPU, 7970, 5870: 1010mh/sec   430 watts  = 2.3488

Maybe one hour a day, i stop the 7970 from mining for gaming while i leave the iGPU and 5870 mining.
bob
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
February 04, 2012, 09:10:35 PM
 #34



TADA ....

http://www.toolorbit.com/image/Klein-Tools/Klein-Tools-CL2000-G0.jpg

Well I measured amps & volts.  Remember the two legs of 240V circuit in US wiring are out of phase so to read current you need to clamp just one conductor. 

They make adapters like this:
http://www.service.kleintools.com/Marketing/Catalog_Imagery/69400_ICON.JPG

but I have the rigs connected to a PDU using C14 to C13 cables and I doubt anyone makes an adapter so I modified one power cable which I use for testing only.

Did you take power factor into account when you measured volts and amps separately?  I'm running at PF about .9 so maybe that caused the difference if you measured different ways for 120 vs 240.
bob
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
February 04, 2012, 09:15:32 PM
 #35

830 MH/s / 520 W = 1.6 MH/J

3x5830, 80+ PSU, 120V

measured with kill-a-watt
h4gb4s3
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37



View Profile
February 05, 2012, 03:45:31 PM
 #36

720 MH/s @ 335W ~ 2,15 MH/J

measured with Voltcraft Energy Check 3000

Setup:

MSI GD70
AMD X2 250
2 GB Corsair XMS 1333 MHz
250 GB  Western Digital 2,5" HDD
HD 5850 rev 2 @ 850/150/1.088V
HD 5850 rev 1 @ 850/150/1.088V
PSU: Cougar S700  (230V EU/Germany)

Cooling/Case:
modified Cooler Master CM690 rev 1
1x Scythe Big Shuriken (passive)
2x Arctic Accelero S1 Plus
2x Noctua NF-S12B FLX
1x Noctua NF-P14 FLX
1x Noctua NF-P12-1300
2x Cooler Master 120 mm

temperature GPU: 55 / 42 C°
temperature System/CPU: ~ 32 C°

CPU undervolting/clocking: no
disabled onboard devices: Audio / Serial Port
GPU overclocking: 765->850 / 725-> 850
GPU over/undervolting: no
CPU Load: ~ 0-9%
GPU Load: 99%
Miner Software: cgminer 2.2.1
Driver / APP SDK: 11.12 / 2.5
OS: Windows 7 x86_64 Ultimate

Power Draw start up : ~ 380W
Power Draw boot : ~ 180W
Power Draw idle: ~ 130W
Power Draw mining: 335W


 Grin







Game/Folding Box|24/7 Folding/HTPC Box|24/7 Bitcoin Box
1LHiB337QwJTvCy42MeN7x6u2XmhmwLS64
coretechs
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 362



View Profile
February 05, 2012, 08:40:01 PM
 #37

I just spent some time optimizing one of my rigs -

890FXA-GD70
Sempron @ 1600mhz
Cooler Master 1000w 80+Gold
All mobo options disabled, USB drive/linuxcoin

3x 5970 + 1x 5870, undervolting & underclocking all the cards
2317Mh/s @ 880w - 2.63Mh/J (measured with kill-a-watt)

Smiley

http://bitcoindoc.com - The Rise and Rise of Bitcoin | http://nxtportal.org - Nxt blockchain explorer
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
February 07, 2012, 10:56:18 PM
 #38

Could optimize it a bit but for now it is...

"Kong"
Running BAMT

2x750 Seasonic Gold w/ Add2PSU
Asrock 970 Extreme4
Sempron 145
1 x 2GB DIMM
4GB USB Key
2 x 5970 (800/300)
2 x 5870 (970/300)
1 x 5770 (945/300)
2 x 120x38mm Delta Screaming Fans

2,580 MH/s - 1060W = 2.43Mh/W

If I remove the fans I get almost to my target of 2.5Mh/W.  I am sure I could look at under volting and cranking back to further improve efficiency Mh/J as well.  A project for the weekend.


GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
SlaveInDebt
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 701


Your Minion


View Profile
February 09, 2012, 02:33:05 PM
 #39

PC Power Cooler 950w 87% efficiency
Asus P7P55 WS
i5 670 @ 1.6ghz 0.9v
2gb @ 1.5v
WD Blue HDD
Win7 x64 CGMiner/Phatk
11.12 divers w/2.5sdk swap
3x5970's @ 815/300 1.05v
1x5850 @ 725/300 0.95v



2515mh/s 970w
2.59mh/w

Still tweaking just got on board with CGminer, next Linux USB drive, more cpu/gpu tweaking, and 240v.

Anyone know where to buy 250 VOLT NEMA 6-20R POWER STRIP?

http://www.internationalconfig.com/icc6.asp?item=61820
That doesn't cost $300? Looking at you DAT.

"A banker is a fellow who lends you his umbrella when the sun is shining, but wants it back the minute it begins to rain." - Mark Twain
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
February 09, 2012, 03:36:51 PM
 #40



Anyone know where to buy 250 VOLT NEMA 6-20R POWER STRIP?

http://www.internationalconfig.com/icc6.asp?item=61820
That doesn't cost $300? Looking at you DAT.

What I did was just wire a regular 20amp plug with 2 hots and a ground.

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!