Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 01:10:55 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: run cpuminer in background?  (Read 5064 times)
juggalodarkclow
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980



View Profile
February 02, 2012, 08:36:21 PM
 #1

I have a few family members that are willing to let me run cpuminer on their computer as long as they don't have to look at it and i'm afraid if i let it run as is they might accidentally close it, is there any way to run it in the background?

1481375455
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481375455

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481375455
Reply with quote  #2

1481375455
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481375455
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481375455

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481375455
Reply with quote  #2

1481375455
Report to moderator
1481375455
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481375455

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481375455
Reply with quote  #2

1481375455
Report to moderator
1481375455
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481375455

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481375455
Reply with quote  #2

1481375455
Report to moderator
Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 09:04:15 PM
 #2

There is an application called Z-Hider which with Ctrl+Alt+Z hides an application's window completely, for windows.

However if they accidentally press that combo on anything else, it will also get hidden.

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
Revalin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728


165YUuQUWhBz3d27iXKxRiazQnjEtJNG9g


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 10:46:46 PM
 #3

guiminer can run in the systray and you can set the icon hidden in the tray.

      War is God's way of teaching Americans geography.  --Ambrose Bierce
Bitcoin is the Devil's way of teaching geeks economics.  --Revalin 165YUuQUWhBz3d27iXKxRiazQnjEtJNG9g
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
February 02, 2012, 11:38:40 PM
 #4

I have a few family members that are willing to let me run cpuminer on their computer as long as they don't have to look at it and i'm afraid if i let it run as is they might accidentally close it, is there any way to run it in the background?

you need stealth runner

it not only runs hidden in the back ground but it also disables the mining when the computer is being used, as soon as the person stops using the computer it starts mining again

GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 11:44:01 PM
 #5

Check out my service installer for true stealth ability =-)
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=50464.0

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
localhost
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 389


View Profile
February 03, 2012, 01:40:05 PM
 #6

I have a few family members that are willing to let me run cpuminer on their computer as long as they don't have to look at it and i'm afraid if i let it run as is they might accidentally close it, is there any way to run it in the background?
It can be done with some very simple VBS... I don't remember where I found it, I'll search for it when I'm back to my home PC tomorrow.

-
localhost
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 389


View Profile
February 06, 2012, 10:02:31 AM
 #7

I have a few family members that are willing to let me run cpuminer on their computer as long as they don't have to look at it and i'm afraid if i let it run as is they might accidentally close it, is there any way to run it in the background?
It can be done with some very simple VBS... I don't remember where I found it, I'll search for it when I'm back to my home PC tomorrow.
Hurray I finally found it! Linky: http://bit.ly/xlbYcS

-
joulesbeef
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


moOo


View Profile
February 06, 2012, 08:14:09 PM
 #8

oo good question, i have a similar one.

I have these .. er lets call them family members who are willing to let me run cpuminer on their computer as long as they don't have to look at it and they really dont want me disturbing them by coming by and installing cpuminer and such either. What would be the best way to get cpuminer onto their computers without disturbing them or getting caught.
thanks


 Wink

mooo for rent
localhost
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 389


View Profile
February 06, 2012, 08:34:14 PM
 #9

You know, I do run it hidden like this on my own PC. I've got my task bar on the side (with those 16/10 modern monitors, that's pretty much the best place to put it IMO), so whenever I've got too many buttons it becomes a total pain to browse. Anything I can gain is good, putting the miner out of view is awesome in that matter.

-
juggalodarkclow
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980



View Profile
February 06, 2012, 10:33:27 PM
 #10

oo good question, i have a similar one.

I have these .. er lets call them family members who are willing to let me run cpuminer on their computer as long as they don't have to look at it and they really dont want me disturbing them by coming by and installing cpuminer and such either. What would be the best way to get cpuminer onto their computers without disturbing them or getting caught.
thanks


 Wink

sarcasm much? Tongue
but seriously I have 2 cousins who think the internet is only facebook and youtube and they have to take their computer to a repair guy when they get a virus, i tried explaining ltc and btc to them but it's way over their head, their response was "i don't care as long as I can still watch videos and check my facebook"
simple people is simple

joulesbeef
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


moOo


View Profile
February 06, 2012, 10:49:11 PM
 #11

I'm just teasing but it did come across as someone who, operates on the shadier side of the street.

mooo for rent
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


View Profile
February 07, 2012, 01:51:03 AM
 #12

um... I already linked the ultimate solution once =P

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=50464.0

there it is again hehe!
Just put in pool / mining credentials and hit enter. It runs as an auto service forever till u use the uninstaller.

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!