Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 04:56:26 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Setting up GUIMiner w/ a backup pool?  (Read 4809 times)
thatonegirlt
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80



View Profile
February 04, 2012, 01:31:08 AM
 #1

So I've searched the forums and I cannot figure this out. I want to set a flag/parameter that lets me set up a backup pool using GUIminer, and the official forum has this:

Quote
"How to use a backup pool aka fallback support:

Fallback support is in the OpenCL miner only. In the flags, specify the info of the backup pool or pools. For example if I want to fallback to my account on slush's pool, I would write:

Kiv.GPU:mypass@api.bitcoin.cz:8332"

Somewhere else someone said they put this, but was unable to test it yet:

" --backup http://user:pass@f1.deepbit.net:8332"

So I'm trying to figure out what this set up actually is. Like "Kiv.GPU" is supposed to be what? Like a username? It's just confusing.

Heard of TripleMining? Join my minipool at thatonegirlt.triplemining.com/register

If you feel in a donating mood, fyi:
BTC: 1Aojiin3eXgDoEmSKkCaec1kh678Q96BmH
NMC: N16kRfVy43shrE1jnrFP7hzwfFcvb9UHrM
LTC: LMk3hTQVNZdKsKYEf1VViVYepgm8F5GVnj
1480740986
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480740986

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480740986
Reply with quote  #2

1480740986
Report to moderator
1480740986
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480740986

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480740986
Reply with quote  #2

1480740986
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480740986
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480740986

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480740986
Reply with quote  #2

1480740986
Report to moderator
1480740986
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480740986

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480740986
Reply with quote  #2

1480740986
Report to moderator
1480740986
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480740986

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480740986
Reply with quote  #2

1480740986
Report to moderator
thatonegirlt
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80



View Profile
February 05, 2012, 10:54:47 PM
 #2

So does no one know or no one want to help?

Heard of TripleMining? Join my minipool at thatonegirlt.triplemining.com/register

If you feel in a donating mood, fyi:
BTC: 1Aojiin3eXgDoEmSKkCaec1kh678Q96BmH
NMC: N16kRfVy43shrE1jnrFP7hzwfFcvb9UHrM
LTC: LMk3hTQVNZdKsKYEf1VViVYepgm8F5GVnj
heinz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
February 05, 2012, 11:58:34 PM
 #3

username:password

usually something like username.1:password or username_1:password
thatonegirlt
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80



View Profile
February 06, 2012, 01:28:57 AM
 #4

Do you know if theres a dash in front or anything?

Heard of TripleMining? Join my minipool at thatonegirlt.triplemining.com/register

If you feel in a donating mood, fyi:
BTC: 1Aojiin3eXgDoEmSKkCaec1kh678Q96BmH
NMC: N16kRfVy43shrE1jnrFP7hzwfFcvb9UHrM
LTC: LMk3hTQVNZdKsKYEf1VViVYepgm8F5GVnj
heinz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
February 06, 2012, 01:45:59 AM
 #5

dashes set the flags.

Give cgminer a try. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.0

Fallback support is in the OpenCL miner only in guiminer. The thread of it states that.
thatonegirlt
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 80



View Profile
February 06, 2012, 11:06:55 AM
 #6

dashes set the flags.

Give cgminer a try. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.0

Fallback support is in the OpenCL miner only in guiminer. The thread of it states that.

Yes I'm currently using cgminer while guiminer has this weird OpenCL issue but I would like to have Guiminer as my main and the only thing it lacks for me is the failover pool thing, which it has, I just don't know how to set it up. I do use OpenCL so thats not the problem.

Heard of TripleMining? Join my minipool at thatonegirlt.triplemining.com/register

If you feel in a donating mood, fyi:
BTC: 1Aojiin3eXgDoEmSKkCaec1kh678Q96BmH
NMC: N16kRfVy43shrE1jnrFP7hzwfFcvb9UHrM
LTC: LMk3hTQVNZdKsKYEf1VViVYepgm8F5GVnj
go4gonzo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63



View Profile
April 28, 2013, 03:04:28 PM
 #7

So has anyone figured this out yet?  Huh my current flags in guiminer are: -v -w128 -f1

not even sure what the -f1 does... I but I don't even know what does. I've seen -f60 and I think default is -f30


Can someone Confirm the backup flag in GUIminer? is it: -backup... or kiv.gpu
or something completely different. thanks

BTC-1Jkso6spDBD8z1Wn8ipwBzc8D237irJCSm
Gator-hex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


View Profile
April 28, 2013, 03:14:50 PM
 #8

-f number is the number of frames you want to reserve for the operating system and other tasks I believe.

I'm not sure how to use the backup pool setting, but I just open two GUIMiners on the same card one of them will sit there at 0MH/s until the other one fails.

Kruncha
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


Winter is coming...


View Profile
April 28, 2013, 10:50:57 PM
 #9

Quote
Q: Can I connect to more than one pool with the same GPU? For example have a main pool, and a backup pool in case the main one goes down?

A: Yes, you can use the -f flag for this. A value of -f60 or higher in the backup pool's miner will cause it to yield most of the GPU power to miners with a lower f value (default is 30).

Hope that helps Smiley

K.
go4gonzo
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63



View Profile
May 05, 2013, 10:05:33 PM
 #10

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=189843.msg1979477#msg1979477


not sure if anyone still needed this info.


in the Extra Flags: -v -w128 -f 1 -t2 username_workername:password@mint.bitminter.com:8332
So for me, bitminter is my backup pool. the "-t2" means that after 2 attemps to contact my primary pool fails, then it will fallback to Bitminter.

So after the -t2, you add your backup pool whatever that may be.  Now, you can change the -t2 to -t3 or 4,5 however many attempts you are willing to allow before GUIminer falls back to your backup pool. 

Hope this clarifies the backup pool in GUIminer

BTC-1Jkso6spDBD8z1Wn8ipwBzc8D237irJCSm
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!