Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 10:20:49 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 6950 vs 5870 - Power Efficiency and Raw Output  (Read 5607 times)
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
April 21, 2011, 05:08:06 PM
 #1

Well, NewEgg just ran out of the 5870 cards I had been buying for $219.  I was wondering if anybody had some performance data/comparisons between a 6950 and 5870 card, both in terms of raw mHash/sec, and also mHash/watt.  I've found that XFX 6950 cards could be bought for $3 more than I was paying for the 5870s, due to the lack of sales tax from the different vendor.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
1481019649
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481019649

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481019649
Reply with quote  #2

1481019649
Report to moderator
1481019649
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481019649

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481019649
Reply with quote  #2

1481019649
Report to moderator
1481019649
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481019649

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481019649
Reply with quote  #2

1481019649
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481019649
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481019649

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481019649
Reply with quote  #2

1481019649
Report to moderator
1481019649
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481019649

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481019649
Reply with quote  #2

1481019649
Report to moderator
1481019649
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481019649

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481019649
Reply with quote  #2

1481019649
Report to moderator
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
April 21, 2011, 08:59:02 PM
 #2

I have a 6950 2GB model and when OC'd can run comparable to a 5870.

At 940 Core it can push 360 Mh/s.  I have found 935 to be the sweet spot and it hits ~355 Mh/s.  Estimated power is ~200 watts and it is likely lower.  Need to plug in the kill-a-watt again.  I have memory down to 700 Mhz and Voltage bumped by 15 mV

This is with 11.4 pre drivers using poclbm with -v -w128 -f2

EDIT : Yes, I have a shader unlocked 6950.  Who doesn't???

GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
zoro
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 226


View Profile
April 21, 2011, 09:11:45 PM
 #3

6970 with 940/350 gives 362Mh.
perhaps you have 6970 bios to the card  Cheesy

"killer app" of BTC = MasterCoin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=265488.0Mastercoin(A new protocol layer on top of Bitcoin)
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
April 22, 2011, 04:54:33 AM
 #4

OP, have you considered hunting for used 5870s. I think these cards represent the best deal out there for miners. There are tons of gamers who are now upgrading to the radeon 6000 series and thus dropping the 5000 series cards like hot potatoes.

zoro
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 226


View Profile
April 22, 2011, 05:41:51 AM
 #5

i totally agree with allinvain!
58xx series have more stream processors than 69xx and i think they are more efficient for opencl purposes
moreover they are less expensive now days and this makes them the perfect mates Smiley

Jwu42, not everyone can unlock their 6950 unless it is a reference design and have 2GB of DDR5 Wink

"killer app" of BTC = MasterCoin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=265488.0Mastercoin(A new protocol layer on top of Bitcoin)
JWU42
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484


View Profile
April 22, 2011, 02:35:42 PM
 #6

Zoro - Understood - the incentive is to get the ref design 2GB model so you can shader unlock.  Not sure why you would get the 1GB or non-ref version if BTC and gameplay are your interests.  I game on a 2560x1440 display and the 2GB makes a diff...

GPG PubKey | THREEMA | OTC | HeatWare | 1JWU42QLGFESoQCC4iPzUDTRiC9nx5bi95
OUTSIDE
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
April 22, 2011, 03:57:39 PM
 #7

6970 with 940/350 gives 362Mh.
perhaps you have 6970 bios to the card  Cheesy

How you do 362? I have the same at 1000/150(300) and does 330MH/s

Thx!

ByE!
luffy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 606



View Profile
April 22, 2011, 06:57:39 PM
 #8

are you talking about 6950 or 6970 (unlocked 6950)?
if you are using poclbm try the keys -f1 -v -w128 (or -w64)
also, remember to keep memory clocks between 340 and 400, i found those values to give more MH/s Wink
chungenhung
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
April 23, 2011, 06:20:51 AM
 #9

are you talking about 6950 or 6970 (unlocked 6950)?
if you are using poclbm try the keys -f1 -v -w128 (or -w64)
also, remember to keep memory clocks between 340 and 400, i found those values to give more MH/s Wink
How do you get memory clock to 400? The lowest setting on AMD CCC only goes down to 625MHz.

Trading MtGox USD for Dwolla/ACH deposit/Chase cash deposit
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=90115.0
Buy/Sell Call/Put Bitcoin options https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=99853.0
OUTSIDE
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
April 23, 2011, 07:37:27 AM
 #10

are you talking about 6950 or 6970 (unlocked 6950)?
if you are using poclbm try the keys -f1 -v -w128 (or -w64)
also, remember to keep memory clocks between 340 and 400, i found those values to give more MH/s Wink

I put "-v" and push to 383MH/s! I don't remember to put in the 6970 (I put only in the 5850 lol)

Thx!
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
April 23, 2011, 03:12:14 PM
 #11

are you talking about 6950 or 6970 (unlocked 6950)?
if you are using poclbm try the keys -f1 -v -w128 (or -w64)
also, remember to keep memory clocks between 340 and 400, i found those values to give more MH/s Wink
How do you get memory clock to 400? The lowest setting on AMD CCC only goes down to 625MHz.

You gotta use MSI Afterburner

See this thread:

http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4292.0

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!