Bitcoin Forum
February 22, 2018, 05:57:34 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Possible to force Windows to use integrated graphics for display?  (Read 6768 times)
Kluge
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1000


Michael, send me some coins before I hitman you


View Profile
February 04, 2012, 03:45:12 PM
 #1

(apologies if wrong forum -- descriptions are pretty vague)

No point using potential hash power of a mining card when there're integrated graphics. Is it possible to force Windows (or through BIOS?) to display on a monitor using only the integrated graphics so the dedicated graphics cards can... you know.... dedicate themselves to mining?

Would this be theoretically possible if an easy-to-implement solution doesn't already exist?


Cheers.

Don't mix your coins someone said isn't legal
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1519279054
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519279054

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519279054
Reply with quote  #2

1519279054
Report to moderator
1519279054
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519279054

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519279054
Reply with quote  #2

1519279054
Report to moderator
1519279054
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1519279054

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1519279054
Reply with quote  #2

1519279054
Report to moderator
BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 513
Merit: 500



View Profile
February 04, 2012, 04:37:59 PM
 #2

 Of course! I use integrated HD4250 (primary display) + 5770. Working without any problems. Even playing skyrim without losing any hashes on 5770.
SaintFlow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250


The first is by definition not flawed.


View Profile
February 04, 2012, 04:44:01 PM
 #3

similar thing here.

finding the right bios setup was key.


don't let me make you question your assumptions
Kluge
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1000


Michael, send me some coins before I hitman you


View Profile
February 04, 2012, 05:47:50 PM
 #4

Would setting my BIOS to use the integrated GPU as the primary adapter do what I want?

Don't mix your coins someone said isn't legal
BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 513
Merit: 500



View Profile
February 04, 2012, 06:16:13 PM
 #5

Would setting my BIOS to use the integrated GPU as the primary adapter do what I want?
Yep.
Kluge
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1000


Michael, send me some coins before I hitman you


View Profile
February 04, 2012, 06:17:29 PM
 #6

Would setting my BIOS to use the integrated GPU as the primary adapter do what I want?
Yep.
Fancy. Thanks.  Smiley

ETA: Oh -- I'm guessing I'll have to plug my KVM video adapter into the integrated's video output?

Don't mix your coins someone said isn't legal
BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 513
Merit: 500



View Profile
February 04, 2012, 06:31:30 PM
 #7

Would setting my BIOS to use the integrated GPU as the primary adapter do what I want?
Yep.
Fancy. Thanks.  Smiley

ETA: Oh -- I'm guessing I'll have to plug my KVM video adapter into the integrated's video output?
Well, you need to see what's on intergrated gpu display, right?  Smiley First setup in bios the integrated GPU as the primary adapter, then plug in its output to monitor.
Kluge
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1000


Michael, send me some coins before I hitman you


View Profile
February 04, 2012, 06:32:04 PM
 #8

Would setting my BIOS to use the integrated GPU as the primary adapter do what I want?
Yep.
Fancy. Thanks.  Smiley

ETA: Oh -- I'm guessing I'll have to plug my KVM video adapter into the integrated's video output?
Well, you need to see what's on intergrated gpu display, right?  Smiley
I guess.  Tongue

Thanks again.  Smiley

Don't mix your coins someone said isn't legal
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!