Bitcoin Forum
September 24, 2017, 12:19:10 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: RISERS for 2 coins  (Read 4134 times)
BTC guy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
February 04, 2012, 04:18:49 PM
 #1

I have around 40 of these. I have 16x and 1x > 16x. They are all factory sealed. 2 coins each. Free ship within the US.

1506255550
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506255550

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506255550
Reply with quote  #2

1506255550
Report to moderator
1506255550
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506255550

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506255550
Reply with quote  #2

1506255550
Report to moderator
1506255550
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506255550

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506255550
Reply with quote  #2

1506255550
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1506255550
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1506255550

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1506255550
Reply with quote  #2

1506255550
Report to moderator
Starlightbreaker
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile
February 04, 2012, 05:30:07 PM
 #2

3 coins for all? Cheesy

BTC guy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
February 04, 2012, 06:50:01 PM
 #3

no
imsaguy
General failure and former
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 574

Don't send me a pm unless you gpg encrypt it.


View Profile WWW
February 04, 2012, 07:07:19 PM
 #4

None of them powered?

Coming Soon!™ © imsaguy 2011-2013, All rights reserved.

EIEIO:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=60117.0

Shades Minoco Collection Thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=65989
Payment Address: http://btc.to/5r6
BTC guy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
February 04, 2012, 07:11:43 PM
 #5

Powered? Not sure i understand.
imsaguy
General failure and former
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 574

Don't send me a pm unless you gpg encrypt it.


View Profile WWW
February 04, 2012, 07:12:16 PM
 #6

Powered? Not sure i understand.

The molex connecter.

Coming Soon!™ © imsaguy 2011-2013, All rights reserved.

EIEIO:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=60117.0

Shades Minoco Collection Thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=65989
Payment Address: http://btc.to/5r6
BTC guy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
February 04, 2012, 07:13:11 PM
 #7

No molex.
BTC guy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
February 04, 2012, 07:17:42 PM
 #8

Ive never seen a riser with a molex before. Why would you need one?
QuantumFoam
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 203


|Quantum|World's First Cloud Management Platform


View Profile WWW
February 04, 2012, 07:27:38 PM
 #9

This happens to some people when not using powered extenders, depending on the # of cards being run:

...

...

|Quantum|World's First Cloud Management Platform on the Blockchain
ForceField
aka Vitaliy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 388



View Profile
February 04, 2012, 07:32:03 PM
 #10

This happens to some people when not using powered extenders, depending on the # of cards being run:



What causes that to happen?

PC Hardware & Electronics For BTC     Traded w/: Kansattica | jduck1987 | shakaru | newdude | nitetrader | midievil | blo8i | mb300sd | juggalodarkclow | Garr255 | Tril | Ringmasta | SysRun | CrazyBlane | sokay | BCB | str4wm4n | PinkBatman | Bitobsessed | matauc12 | antimattercrusader | BryanK
BTC guy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
February 04, 2012, 07:32:59 PM
 #11

Wow. Ive been using these since I started mining. Ive never had any problems.
Cablesaurus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 302



View Profile WWW
February 04, 2012, 07:36:22 PM
 #12

That looks like improper grounding or way too many GPUs were being run through the board. You need to make sure as a rule of thumb you're not running more than 4 cards per motherboard without Molex extenders.
EDIT: Also, any and all dual GPU cards need run through a Molex powered cable if using an extender. This includes 5970's, 6990's etc.

Here's the Molex powered extender one needs to avoid such over-draw: http://cablesaurus.com/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=12

PCIe Extender Cables; Dummy Plugs, Fans; PSU Cables; Cases & More
Visit www.Cablesaurus.com and our forum thread at http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6128.0
BTC guy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
February 04, 2012, 07:40:08 PM
 #13

Thats not true. Ive run 30 5850 with 5 cards per board as well as 2 rigs with 4 5970 each. Ive used more than 50 of these. Never had any problems. They work great.
ForceField
aka Vitaliy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 388



View Profile
February 04, 2012, 07:51:34 PM
 #14

That looks like improper grounding or way too many GPUs were being run through the board. You need to make sure as a rule of thumb you're not running more than 4 cards per motherboard without Molex extenders.
EDIT: Also, any and all dual GPU cards need run through a Molex powered cable if using an extender. This includes 5970's, 6990's etc.

Does the length of the extender matter in this case?
i.e. If you're using 1 GPU per mobo with either: a) 4in extender b) 8in c) 2 foot extender (hypothetically, not sure if this exists)

PC Hardware & Electronics For BTC     Traded w/: Kansattica | jduck1987 | shakaru | newdude | nitetrader | midievil | blo8i | mb300sd | juggalodarkclow | Garr255 | Tril | Ringmasta | SysRun | CrazyBlane | sokay | BCB | str4wm4n | PinkBatman | Bitobsessed | matauc12 | antimattercrusader | BryanK
BTC guy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
February 04, 2012, 07:58:31 PM
 #15

The risers in that pic could have been defective. Im sure you will get defective risers with the molex too.
imsaguy
General failure and former
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 574

Don't send me a pm unless you gpg encrypt it.


View Profile WWW
February 04, 2012, 10:03:01 PM
 #16

It really all depends on the draw of the cards.  With 5830s you can get away with having 5 in a board, but seriously, you'll know when you're trying to pull too much through the motherboard. The cards will run like crap, the board will be super hot, and at some point, the system will stop working all together.

Coming Soon!™ © imsaguy 2011-2013, All rights reserved.

EIEIO:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=60117.0

Shades Minoco Collection Thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=65989
Payment Address: http://btc.to/5r6
Cablesaurus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 302



View Profile WWW
February 04, 2012, 10:28:25 PM
 #17

Thats not true. Ive run 30 5850 with 5 cards per board as well as 2 rigs with 4 5970 each. Ive used more than 50 of these. Never had any problems. They work great.

Running 5 cards may work. Running 5 cards may also stress your motherboard PCIe bus to the point of burning out.

You're not going to really know if you have a problem until something has died. You will not at all necessarily have mining or desktop performance symptoms leading up to such a hardware failure.

Edit: Not all motherboards are created equal as well.

PCIe Extender Cables; Dummy Plugs, Fans; PSU Cables; Cases & More
Visit www.Cablesaurus.com and our forum thread at http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6128.0
malevolent
can into space
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820



View Profile
February 05, 2012, 12:25:44 AM
 #18



Had the same thing happen to me but reason was slightly defective PSU (Corsair VX 550W) which was stressed too much ~100% for two weeks 24/7. No problems after switching to TX850V2 with same risers which were not the issue in my case, even though I have 3 GPUs like before and they draw more power (they're overvolted now).
BTC guy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378



View Profile
February 05, 2012, 09:17:04 AM
 #19

When I look at that pic I have doubts risers caused that. The first thing that comes to my mind is power supply. People are probably trying to pull to much power from their psu.
fulepp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144


View Profile
February 05, 2012, 06:00:56 PM
 #20

PCI-E boards get some power from the motherboard (not just via the 2 power sockets what is on the board). If you have 5 or 6 cards it is better to use an extender with MOLEX. This extra power will take off the load from the motherboard.



When I look at that pic I have doubts risers caused that. The first thing that comes to my mind is power supply. People are probably trying to pull to much power from their psu.

Pages: [1] 2 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!