Bitcoin Forum
April 27, 2017, 03:46:22 AM *
News: If the forum does not load normally for you, please send me a traceroute.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can you put a 7970 into an SDK2.5 mining box ?  (Read 1674 times)
PcChip
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308



View Profile
February 06, 2012, 12:59:16 AM
 #1

I was considering pulling my 7970 out of my main gaming rig and going back to SLI GTX570's, and putting the 7970 into the mining box which has 58xx's hashing away with the older SDK (the one that's faster)

Has anyone tested if the 7970 will play nice with the older Stream SDK ?

Legacy signature from 2011: 
All rates with Phoenix 1.50 / PhatK
5850 - 400 MH/s  |  5850 - 355 MH/s | 5830 - 310 MH/s  |  GTX570 - 115 MH/s | 5770 - 210 MH/s | 5770 - 200 MH/s
1493264782
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493264782

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493264782
Reply with quote  #2

1493264782
Report to moderator
1493264782
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493264782

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493264782
Reply with quote  #2

1493264782
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1493264782
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493264782

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493264782
Reply with quote  #2

1493264782
Report to moderator
1493264782
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493264782

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493264782
Reply with quote  #2

1493264782
Report to moderator
1493264782
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493264782

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493264782
Reply with quote  #2

1493264782
Report to moderator
waterboyserver
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 130


View Profile
February 27, 2012, 08:18:05 AM
 #2

Has anyone tried using SDK 2.5 on a 7970?
BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 533



View Profile
February 27, 2012, 08:20:33 AM
 #3

 AFAIK 7xxx is only supported by 2.6 and higher. But its possible to install older SDKs on top of it (not sure about 2.6, but 2.5 works nicely with 2.1, 2.2 etc), and it will work without probs (with 5 and 6 series).

diabinc141
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
February 27, 2012, 08:22:12 AM
 #4

What a shame. Can't throw them in previous rigs without losing serious hash rate.

124ExGY8igKZzpbti7vzvXqajVc8AC6vi8
BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 533



View Profile
February 27, 2012, 08:30:03 AM
 #5

 
 [0-0]barts is a 6870 (with 2.5 sdk) and [1-1]juniper is a 5770 with 2.1 sdk. Both sdks working great together. Shouldnt be a problem to throw in mix 2.6 and others together.

diabinc141
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
February 27, 2012, 08:33:59 AM
 #6

http://i.imgur.com/AF3Js.png
 [0-0]barts is a 6870 (with 2.5 sdk) and [1-1]juniper is a 5770 with 2.1 sdk. Both sdks working great together. Shouldnt be a problem to throw in mix 2.6 and others together.
Wow I didn't know you could do that. How do you install different SDK for different cards?

124ExGY8igKZzpbti7vzvXqajVc8AC6vi8
BCMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 533



View Profile
February 27, 2012, 08:50:25 AM
 #7


 [0-0]barts is a 6870 (with 2.5 sdk) and [1-1]juniper is a 5770 with 2.1 sdk. Both sdks working great together. Shouldnt be a problem to throw in mix 2.6 and others together.
Wow I didn't know you could do that. How do you install different SDK for different cards?
Install  newer sdk first, then older on top of it. Should work that way... usually. lol

ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
February 27, 2012, 09:46:18 AM
 #8


 [0-0]barts is a 6870 (with 2.5 sdk) and [1-1]juniper is a 5770 with 2.1 sdk. Both sdks working great together. Shouldnt be a problem to throw in mix 2.6 and others together.

It only works like that because of your situation. You can install 2.1 plus ONE of the following: 2.4, 2.5, 2.6 (havent bothered with 2.2/2.3, people say its cpu bug) because 2.1 installs into an entirely different path than 2.4-2.6. 2.4, 2.5, and 2.6 all share the same install path and, afaik, you can't install 2 or more of them since the new one will overwrite the old one (also the installer refuses to downgrade, have to 2.4 -> 2.5 -> 2.6, can't go backwards without manually uninstalling)

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!