Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 12:45:09 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Random Shut Down? Need more power?  (Read 2717 times)
ragingazn628
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Coin Generator


View Profile WWW
February 06, 2012, 06:09:05 PM
 #1

I have a 1000W Rosewill Bronze Cert PSU running:

5870
5970
Phenom II X4 830
Asus Crosshair IV Extreme
SSD

Is that enough juice to power all these or is my PSU dying?

after a day of mining it just completely shut down and I have to hold down power button to restart it.
1481373909
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481373909

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481373909
Reply with quote  #2

1481373909
Report to moderator
1481373909
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481373909

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481373909
Reply with quote  #2

1481373909
Report to moderator
1481373909
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481373909

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481373909
Reply with quote  #2

1481373909
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
portron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
February 06, 2012, 06:54:16 PM
 #2

Thats more then enough power, unless there is some goofy rail setup.  I've got 4x 5870 on a Rosewill 1000w (Single Rail)... It pulls 860w from the wall with a mild overclock.
ragingazn628
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Coin Generator


View Profile WWW
February 06, 2012, 06:55:58 PM
 #3

what could be causing random shut downs then?
portron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
February 06, 2012, 06:57:09 PM
 #4

Could be that PSU dying?
bangra
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43



View Profile
February 06, 2012, 07:04:57 PM
 #5

Are the cards OC'd? speeds? any logs?

Have i helped? 1Gm9NMJ2qn2XU1qc4Mps9GSCGe5cdetmpv
ragingazn628
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Coin Generator


View Profile WWW
February 06, 2012, 07:14:33 PM
 #6

Are the cards OC'd? speeds? any logs?

both are OC'd

running CGMiner

5870 @ 900 / 300
5970 @ 850 / 300 on both cores.

CGMiner I have intensity at 8 - auto fan temp@ 69


doing around 1100 mh/sec
Kluge
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Michael, send me some coins before I hitman you


View Profile
February 06, 2012, 07:27:56 PM
 #7

Could be just about anything since PSU specs seem adequate. Bad RAM causes random shutdowns (this is at least very easy to check even without using software), so do hard drive (often accompanied by extremely slow load/boot times) failures. PSU could be failing, could be a tiny piece of metal on the MoBo which blows around when caught by wind. Could be the OS -- maybe, if you're running a Windows box, you just have auto-restart on after update.

Don't mix your coins someone said isn't legal
ragingazn628
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Coin Generator


View Profile WWW
February 06, 2012, 07:43:27 PM
 #8

Could be just about anything since PSU specs seem adequate. Bad RAM causes random shutdowns (this is at least very easy to check even without using software), so does hard drive (often accompanied by extremely slow load/boot times) failures. PSU could be failing, could be a tiny piece of metal on the MoBo which blows around when caught by wind. Could be the OS -- maybe, if you're running a Windows box, you just have auto-restart on after update.

nope I think the SSD is flawless
bangra
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43



View Profile
February 06, 2012, 07:47:16 PM
 #9

Can you get a replacement PSU? its might just be a case of swapping each component out untill the point of failure is id'd

Have i helped? 1Gm9NMJ2qn2XU1qc4Mps9GSCGe5cdetmpv
Inspector 2211
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383



View Profile
February 06, 2012, 08:03:24 PM
 #10

I have a 1000W Rosewill Bronze Cert PSU running:

5870
5970
Phenom II X4 830
Asus Crosshair IV Extreme
SSD

Is that enough juice to power all these or is my PSU dying?

after a day of mining it just completely shut down and I have to hold down power button to restart it.

Rosewill is junk. A so-called 1000W Rosewill power supply *cannot* provide 1000W, not even close.
Do yourself a favor and get yourself a 750W or an 850W Corsair power supply, these are typically $99 and $119, respectively, if you shop around a little bit. Make sure you get a power supply with a SINGLE +12V rail. There are 4-rail or even 6-rail power supplies out there, where each rail is so weak that you will run into problems (hello, Antec!). I've been burned by multi-rail power supplies before and will never again buy a multi-rail power supply.
aistto
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1005


View Profile
February 06, 2012, 08:35:26 PM
 #11

I have 4x5870 and get random reboot. After replacing and of the 5870 it stops.
portron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
February 06, 2012, 08:49:43 PM
 #12

I have a 1000W Rosewill Bronze Cert PSU running:

5870
5970
Phenom II X4 830
Asus Crosshair IV Extreme
SSD

Is that enough juice to power all these or is my PSU dying?

after a day of mining it just completely shut down and I have to hold down power button to restart it.

Rosewill is junk. A so-called 1000W Rosewill power supply *cannot* provide 1000W, not even close.
Do yourself a favor and get yourself a 750W or an 850W Corsair power supply, these are typically $99 and $119, respectively, if you shop around a little bit. Make sure you get a power supply with a SINGLE +12V rail. There are 4-rail or even 6-rail power supplies out there, where each rail is so weak that you will run into problems (hello, Antec!). I've been burned by multi-rail power supplies before and will never again buy a multi-rail power supply.

I'd disagree that ALL Rosewill's are junk...

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story5&reid=258
Kluge
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Michael, send me some coins before I hitman you


View Profile
February 06, 2012, 08:54:48 PM
 #13

I have a 1000W Rosewill Bronze Cert PSU running:

5870
5970
Phenom II X4 830
Asus Crosshair IV Extreme
SSD

Is that enough juice to power all these or is my PSU dying?

after a day of mining it just completely shut down and I have to hold down power button to restart it.

Rosewill is junk. A so-called 1000W Rosewill power supply *cannot* provide 1000W, not even close.
Do yourself a favor and get yourself a 750W or an 850W Corsair power supply, these are typically $99 and $119, respectively, if you shop around a little bit. Make sure you get a power supply with a SINGLE +12V rail. There are 4-rail or even 6-rail power supplies out there, where each rail is so weak that you will run into problems (hello, Antec!). I've been burned by multi-rail power supplies before and will never again buy a multi-rail power supply.

I'd disagree that ALL Rosewill's are junk...

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story5&reid=258

I'll just toss in that when I was looking for looking for a proper power inverter, I contacted 3 or 4 companies with technical questions. Rosewill was the only company to reply back with a knowledgeable answer which actually addressed my concerns. I've had some bad experiences with them, many good.

Don't mix your coins someone said isn't legal
MiningBuddy
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1058


฿itcoin ฿itcoin ฿itcoin


View Profile
February 06, 2012, 09:13:46 PM
 #14

850 core clock on your 5970 is rather high, are you sure its 100% stable at those clocks?

Have you tried running the system with no overclocking and see if it still does the same?

Check your error logs, dmesg in linux or event viewer in windows for reasons as to why the system hard shutdown.

trouserless
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile
February 07, 2012, 03:37:56 AM
 #15

850 core clock on your 5970 is rather high, are you sure its 100% stable at those clocks?

Have you tried running the system with no overclocking and see if it still does the same?

Check your error logs, dmesg in linux or event viewer in windows for reasons as to why the system hard shutdown. 

+1   I cannot sustain over 835/300 and keep the temps below 70C or the rig stable.  Try backing the clocks down a bit.  Do you have a kill-o-watt to tell you what your PS is pulling?  Feel the PS with your hand, is it rather hot to the touch?  I agree with the other posts about 1000W being more than enough...I have that exact card pairing (835/300 for the 5970 and 950/300 for the 5870) on a 750W PS and it's running fine.
The-Real-Link
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 530



View Profile
February 08, 2012, 09:25:08 PM
 #16

I think you're fine on the power but that's a pretty high core clock without any voltage increase on the 5970.  I'm only getting 825 (or for ease of config, 815) on mine.  Perhaps I have a few odd ones but I can't push them above 825 at all without a boost or the system BSODs pretty quickly (or more than likely the drivers just crash). 

Oh Loaded, who art up in Mt. Gox, hallowed be thy name!  Thy dollars rain, thy will be done, on BTCUSD.  Give us this day our daily 10% 30%, and forgive the bears, as we have bought their bitcoins.  And lead us into quadruple digits
ragingazn628
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Coin Generator


View Profile WWW
February 08, 2012, 10:47:30 PM
 #17

I think you're fine on the power but that's a pretty high core clock without any voltage increase on the 5970.  I'm only getting 825 (or for ease of config, 815) on mine.  Perhaps I have a few odd ones but I can't push them above 825 at all without a boost or the system BSODs pretty quickly (or more than likely the drivers just crash). 

GPU 0 is 5870

others are 5970

temps are good I think
ragingazn628
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Coin Generator


View Profile WWW
February 08, 2012, 10:52:40 PM
 #18

Are these good hashes for the core speed?



Uploaded with ImageShack.us
kpriess
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 415


Money is the root of all evil.


View Profile
February 11, 2012, 02:25:16 AM
 #19


Rosewill is junk. A so-called 1000W Rosewill power supply *cannot* provide 1000W, not even close.
Do yourself a favor and get yourself a 750W or an 850W Corsair power supply, these are typically $99 and $119, respectively, if you shop around a little bit. Make sure you get a power supply with a SINGLE +12V rail. There are 4-rail or even 6-rail power supplies out there, where each rail is so weak that you will run into problems (hello, Antec!). I've been burned by multi-rail power supplies before and will never again buy a multi-rail power supply.


Rosewill is definitely not junk..

And Antec distributing the power more or less equally depending on its category thru all rails is done for the good, you just got to read how is the power being distributed and arrange your setup following that info.. Putting all your cards in one rail is risky, doesn't matter how much extra wattage the PSU got left..

I agree with the Corsair [or Seasonic for that matter, they manufacture it for Corsair], great PSUs..
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
February 11, 2012, 02:42:40 AM
 #20

Are you using pci-e ribbon cable extenders? You might have bad cables. I had random restarts for a few months, always thought it was a power problem, but it wasnt. I got rid of them and plugged them directly into the board and wala, no more restarts. I'm going to have to find higher quality cables.

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!